We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas At Barnham Broom 2013”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Upwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas At Barnham Broom 2013”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the 7th year we have spent Christmas at the Barnham Broom Hotel and we have never been disappointed with our stay but this year was the best Christmas Package we have taken at the hotel.
The rooms and the lounge were all re-decorated last year but during the this year the Restuarant has been re-designed and is lovely and to go with the new look, a new name.
The meals, the staff, the organisation and attention to detail was lovely we could not fault anything at all.
As special thanks to Johnathan, Susan, Sam and Antonio and all their staff for a brilliant Christmas and we will see you next year.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to have a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for choosing Barnham Broom for your recent Christmas break, and for taking the time to share your experience with others. I was delighted to read that you received an exceptional level of service and excellent food that we strive for everyday. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

I will pass on your kind words to all the the Management and staff at Barnham Broom so thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    304
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
371
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst going to a local village for a party.
Decided to treat the wife and myself to a massage. Very good and relaxing.
Very nice room and comfy bed.

Great staff.
One tiny niggle Breakfast could have been hotter.
But will be going back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Barnham Broom for your recent Spa break. We have read your comments about the Hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. It is great to see such positive review from our guests.

Please allow me to apologise for your breakfast not being hot enough. Please be assured I have brought your comments forward to our Executive Chef so thank you.

It was lovely to read that you will be back again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The following review is strictly impartial and factually correct:
Venue, standard conference type, well laid out, plenty of room (for 80) and suitably festive.
Plenty of House staff who were very friendly, attentive and helpful.
There were some issues with the food:
1. Starter bread rolls all inedible (rock hard) causing a delay of approximately 30 minutes.
2. Vegetables, especially the sprouts inedible (rock Hard).
3. Another food issue concerning an individual starter which is being further investigated by the Hotel.
4, Individual trifles all containing inedible cubes of starter type bread.
I will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It was lovely to read that you found the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful at your pre Christmas lunch. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

I am however disappointed to read your comments regarding the food. This is not the experience we want for any of our guests to have and we are truly sorry for what you experienced with all the points you have raised. You have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef of Barnham Broom as we take all feedback very seriously.

Your feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had booked an overnight stay with afternoon tea through Secret Escapes. We arrived at the hotel about 1.30pm. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who told us our room was ready, which we were really pleased as could unpack before our afternoon tea that was booked for 2pm. We was served our afternoon tea in the lounge by a very polite and friendly waiter named Francis. Our food and the 2 pots of coffee was delicious. We had a lovely room with lots of extras in there. Lovely Luxury toiletries. After a good nights sleep we had a first class breakfast served again by Francis again excellent service. Unfortunately we were getting over colds so did not use the pool. Great value for money and would go back again

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lovely large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you very much for such a kind review and for taking the time to share your experience at Barnham Broom. I was delighted to read that you received an exceptional level of service and excellent food that we strive for everyday. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

I have passed on your kind words to Francis who really appreciates your lovely feedback.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having dropped the children at weekend event of their own, we were able to enjoy two nights at Barnham Broom which was nicely situated not far outside Norwich. We used the relatviely close Thickthorn Park and Ride for a leisurely Christmas shop in Norwich on the Saturday.

We're not into golf but the hotel had lots of sports amenities and plenty of space in lounges and bars for the evening and Sunday lunchtime. Evening meal was very good with plenty of choice - not a cheap restaurant for those looking for a bargain.

Agree with the comment about de-caf coffee from one of the other reviewers but it didn't put us off. I was disappointed to find the gym didn't open until 8am on Saturday morning - forced to go running outside on a damp and cold morning and couldn't use the golf course as lots of golfers already arriving so had to run on single track road - not ideal.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments after staying at Barnham Broom, Your feedback is really appreciated.

We truly value the opinions of our guests so thank you for your valuable feed back and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Drinking in the sports bar I found the de-caf coffee was only cheap instant but the same price as ground per cup. A small pot of tea was nearly £2 and the coffee was very expensive. Most places support fair trade but this place but not Barnham Broom.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is really appreciated. I am very sorry that you felt the prices in the Sports Bar seemed very high; I have shared your comments with our Sports Bar Manager. We truly value the opinions of our guests so thank you for your valuable feed back

We shall look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a coach party of 30. Do not jump to conclusions - this is no "standard" or "ordinary" coach party hotel. On arrival a number of members of staff appeared straight away to take our luggage to our rooms, check in was ridiculously simple - handed envelopes with room keys etc before we got off the coach (why do some hotels make such a performance of checking in.......??). It went on from there really. We could not fault the hotel, food was of a high standard, the room very comfortable. I dont think we have ever slept on a matress that was as comfortable. Service at dinner could perhaps have been a bit slicker but serving 30 plus people all at the same time is a challenge. Breakfast was excellent, highly recommend the toasted bagel with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. On the second morning the buffet was "running dry" but was being promptly replenished.

We did not use the golf facilities but having seen some negative comments about this being a hotel centred around golf, I would only say that the hotel full title is "Barnham Broom Golf and Spa Hotel"....

We did find some of the bar prices relatively high e.g. glasses of wine, but I suppose this reflects the 4 star rating. This is the only reason we give a rating of 4 rather than 5. We would highly recommend and would return if staying independently in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Barnham Broom. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the staff at Barnham Broom were friendly and made you feel welcome. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing