We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Judith Fardell”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Judith Fardell”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay! Decided to come back again after only two months! Polite, professional, helpful staff. Comfortable rooms,cosy beds. Great setting! Perfect. Thank you to all the staff we will be back! Ps I am hard to please so this is a real accolade to this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
On behalf of all the staff at Barnham Broom we would like to say thank you for your glowing review after recently staying with us. It was lovely to read that you came back to stay after just staying a couple of months ago. It really does give us confidence that we are achieving the level of service and quality that we strive for everyday. I have passed on your kind words to all the staff at Barnham Broom who really appreciate you taking the time to write of your experience.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    304
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
371
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just spent a couple of days R and R here before returning to work next week. Cannot fault this hotel in any way. Our standard room was excellent and every single member of staff we met were exceptionally polite and friendly. Breakfast was lovely - just far too big helpings for us! We ate both nights in the Sports Bar and the food was very good. The atmosphere is just so peaceful and we will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was lovely to read that you were so impressed with all of our facilties. We always try to ensure that all guests receive the highest level of comfort and hospitality while staying with us.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family and I stayed at Barnham Broom over Christmas and had a very nice time. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and on the whole the food was very good and the staff very friendly and willing to please. The hotel was decorated very nicely and the leisure facilities were all open and available throughout the Xmas period including the 2 golf courses. Compared to the rest of the hotel, the Swimming Pool and Spa area is now looking a little tired and in need of upgrading but it certainly didn't put us off using it.

My only minor critiscm was that the restaurant staff struggled a bit when it got very busy at peak meal times (particularly Xmas day). Whilst I wouldn't want to critiscise the staff in any way as they really were very pleasant and tried their best (especially the breakfast staff and Amy), they did seem to lack any visible supervisory support. If there was someone in charge of the restaurant it certainly wasn't obvious during service until they suddenly appeared at the end of the meal when we had to sign the wine bill!

However, all in all a really nice Christmas break and I have to say, great value for money - we would go back and thanks to everyone for looking after us

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. I am very pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your Christmas Break with us. We always appreciate our guest’s positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service we strive for here at Barham Broom.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was very good we stayed in the family suite for two nights which was lovely and clean and plenty of room. At the party the staff where excellent and the food was outstanding disco and pipers made an enjoyable night. All the staff where excellent and very friendly through out our stay. Food in the sports bar was very good. Enjoyed the swimming and steam and sauna and table tennis.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave so a lovely review. We have read your comments and we really appreciate that you took the time to write them. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your New Years stay and all all the staff represented the hotel well. It is great to see such wonderful feedback.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Returned from two night stay in between Xmas and New Years eve and while the room was fine the restaurant, sports bar and food in general including the service was totally unacceptable.
The first night we booked a table in the brasserie, waiting 45 minutes for the mixed sharing platter to arrive, which when it eventually arrived was missing 3 elements ! Im not sure how this is even possible. The couple that were seated next to us then got up and left saying it was a joke and we also heard another 3 couples complaining about waiting times and poor food. After another long wait the main courses arrived, luke warm.
The breakfast the next day same problem, cold.
Lunch we decided to try the sports bar, tables full of used cutlery everywhere, had to sit at a dirty table,waited 15 minutes to be served and when the burger and chips eventually arrived it was again cold. By this point I had totally lost faith in the competency of the chefs and staff, some of which stated that they had been "caught out this year " and went hungry.
That evening we decided we would eat else where.
Not the experience I was expecting and was deeply disappointing.
I have never had to go hungry at a hotel because of the standard of food and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Many thanks for the feedback regarding your recent break at the Barnham Broom.

I was disappointed to learn of your experience with all the points you have raised and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your guest. I would like to reassure you that this is not the experience we would want for any of our guests to have. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and it is only through comments such as yours that we are able to measure our successes and areas for improvement.

You have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with the relevant departments. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and I am very sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. We pride ourselves on the great reputation that Barnham Broom has gained over the years for its great customer service and high standards.

I would be most gratful if you could contact me personally so i can discuss your experience further on 01603 759393 or emailing sjones@barnham - broom. co.uk.

Your feedback is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellent service from all members of staff--Menu for new years eve was first class , but disappointed with very small dancing area far too cramped for evening celebrations-- Room was high quality however felt décor in corridors needed brightening up. But overall a very good new years eve package

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments regarding your New Years celebration at Barnham Broom. It was great to read that you had excellent service from all members of staff and that you found the menu to be first class. It really does make us proud that our guests are receiving exceptional service.

We really appreciate your kind words and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had a wonderful couple of the days at this super hotel. Lovely champagne reception followed by a wonderful 5 course dinner. Dianced away to the disco and saw the New Year in with 2 pipers. Staff were efficient and very friendly. One tiny criticism. Would have been lovely if the Spa had been open today (1st January) for treatments.
However would highly recommend

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room. Definitely worth the small difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for choosing to celebrate the New Year at Barnham Broom. It was so lovely to read that all aspects of the evening met your expectations. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is so important to us.

All staff and Management are extremely grateful that you have taken the time to tell others about your experience so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing