We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such friendly staff and SO much to do on site. ”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our 5th anniversary and we loved it, we were so sad to leave.
We upgraded to a superior room which was lovely and roomy.
We got free afternoon tea each day which was incredible and delicious.
There are so many activities, which is the reason why we wished we'd booked for longer than a weekend. I loved the pool even though it's quite small, it's very relaxing.
The staff were just amazing, so friendly and could not do enough for you. They made us feel so welcome and we will definitely return.
Make sure you have a car as it's in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bexbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for such a lovely and kind review. We are very grateful you have published your recent experience at Barnham Broom and I am delighted to see such high praise of all the facilities and staff. It really does make us smile when we read lovely comments like yours

We appreciate all of your kind words after your recent break and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked the Barnham Broom hotel to spend a night away with my girlfriend as we both love Norfolk. The website shows the golf and spa aspects of the hotel off beautifully and the whole package sold itself to me and i booked for March the 1st.

Upon arrival, i have to say that the hotel looks fantastic and the room that were were allocated was beautiful, the bed was huge, advertised as a kingsize but i think it was more like a super kingsize.

Loved the touches with the robes (came in very handy).

The afternoon tea was lovely with views out over the golf course.

We booked an evening meal in the restaurant upon arrival, were told they were very busy and could only fit us in at 8.30pm. Upon arrival at the restaurant, found that it was 3/4 empty and didn't appear to be very busy!
Unfortunately, the waiting staff appeared to forget about us and it took 15 minutes for them to finally take our orders and then another 40 minutes to finally deliver our food. We only ordered a main course each (steaks) and a bottle of Merlot.

I had to ask the duty manager to try and find out what was happening and she seemed to indicate that it was our fault for the delay as we had only ordered a main and not a starter. It was quite poor service. It appeared as though there were a few 'issues' that night as i heard several guests complain about the food - a shame!

The steak themselves were reasonable, well mine was, unfortunately my girlfriends looked more like a scrag end rather than the cut it was meant to, was very chewy and mine was woefully undercooked.

To the hotels credit, they cut the price of the wine from the bill but the service wasn't that i expect from a hotel of this quality.

The breakfast was beautiful, very good quality and a much, much better service than the previous nights dinner.

Would i stay here again? Yes, in a heartbeat but would think twice before eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We are delighted to see that you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom. We have read your comments about the Hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding your experience in our brasserie. Please be assured that I have addressed all your points you have raised with our Brasserie Manager as guests feedback is very important to us and is taken very seriously.

We really appreciate your feedback and we shall look forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booked this hotel for my husbands 60th birthday. Very helpful staff, lovely food and the guests who stayed for the weekend at the hotel were very impressed.
Would highly recommend it.
Carolyn Fair
Barford Norfolk

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely and kind review. It really does give us the confidence that we are achieving the level of service and quality we strive for everyday. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service skills so it is comforting to read that the staff you encountered were very helpful.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We could not fault this hotel but neither of us thought that dinner in the Brasserie was in the same league (on our visit at least).

The welcome at Reception was very professional yet warm (Charlee) and we were given lots of information about the hotel facilities and location of everything. We were booked in for afternoon tea as part of our reservation/deal which was again all very nice, of good quality and pleasantly served.

The rooms are of a good four star standard with large comfy beds, quality pillows and linen. They are modern, clean with great aircon and a nice decent sized flat screen TV. Bathrooms are little small but not so as to be a problem.

We did not use the spa or gym but had a look round and they seemed pretty decent and would use them next time if we visit again.

There is a large sports bar/pub on site but you have the choice of drinks in the lounge bar if this is all a bit too golf/blokey. Again the staff in both bars were great and managed to combine professional and friendly with ease.

The only downside to the hotel itself is that they tend to have some pretty horrible piped music playing in the Reception, Brasserie and Lounge. Now I can listen to most music but some of it was plain dreadful and to be honest it did not make us want to linger in the lounge over afternoon tea or hang around any where it was playing.

We ate dinner in the Brasserie and the food was not great on our visit with one main course being refunded. However, again the staff were excellent and dealt with this problem very graciously. I would try it again if we returned as hopefully this was just an off night.

Breakfast next day was a much better affair and one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had for a while.

All in all this is a very decent place to stay but it is the staff that sets it apart. Were it not for dinner we would have given Barnham Broom 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatandtidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. We always appreciate our guests positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service we strive for here at Barnham Broom. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your experience when dining with us, but would hope that you would come and experience the Brasserie ones again to show you how passionate we are about our standards.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Excellent resort. Clean functional apartments overlooking golf course. Good quality but pricy Brasserie restaurant. Sports Bar of typical design with ok beer and snack menu. Good location for exploring lovely Norfolk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

I was extremely pleased to read that you had a lovely stay in the Apartments at Barnham Broom. We appreciate that you took the time to share your review. Barnham Broom is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities to all of out guests.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights with our two children. We were given adjoining rooms; both of which were tastefully decorated and the beds super comfy! The overall decor and ambience is great whether you're there for a relaxing weekend or a few rounds of golf.The staff were all very friendly and the food was delicious - heard that there was a new Chef in the kitchen. What we also really liked was its rural setting without it being too far away from Norwich, Holt, etc. We'd definitely recommend it and hope to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Families should ask for adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell others of your experience. I am very pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your stay at Barnham Broom. Providing our guests with the best hospitality and comfort is what we strive for everyday.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrive on time and were greeted with a friendly smile from the staff in the sports bar. Ample tea & coffee were on tap with a nice sized bacon roll with ketchup to hand for each of us, very welcoming on a damp February morning.
Bit of a walk to the first Tee on the Hill course, I prefer the valley course but due to wet weather and several temporary tee's on it we swapped to the Hill course. Greens were in excellent condition and the course was nice to play although understandably a bit damp after all it is the middle of winter !
Afterwards we sat down to a tasty roast chicken meal with veg etc followed by a very sweet apple crumble.
We are a group of Norfolk & Suffolk businessmen who play at many clubs in the area throughout the year so I guess we are a fair judge of all the facilities we used.
Value 9/10, quality of the course 7.5/10, friendliness/helpfulness of staff 9/10, food & beer, 8/10 fresh & tasty. On the whole a good day was had by us all and we look forward to returning soon. Thank you.

Room Tip: We didnt stay over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience when having your Golf day at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. We take pride in our beautiful Golf Courses so it was so nice to read that you found the courses to be in excellent condition. I will pass on your kind words to our green keepers and also the sports bar team who looked after you at breakfast and lunch.

We thoroughly appreciate your feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,191 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
22 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing