We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barnham Broom Hotel Golf and Spa”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A little out of the way, surrounded by the Golf Course typically Golf style hotel.
We were just passing through so didn't use the spa or the Golf facilities.
Beautiful rooms a little dark in lighting but that is the style of the hotel, lovely large beds and very comfortable. Very clean, restaurant very good, selection of menu and wines very good, service exceptional nothing was too much trouble.
We booked through Booking.com so was able to get a reasonable deal which included an evening meal, in fact firstly included afternoon tea, but as we wouldn't get there til later they rearranged it so we could have an evening meal instead. A must stay if in that part of the country!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. It makes us very proud to read that you had a lovely stay and you experienced high quality food and exceptional service.

I am so pleased you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom and thank you for taking the time to tell others.

We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here the weekend after Easter and booked the Hill Suite for 3 nights. Check in was smooth and the directions to the room were fine. This is their premier room - it is essentially three rooms joined together. Large bathroom, seating area and bedroom with an enormous bed. The decor is a little lacking, it is rather plain. The bathroom is well fitted out with the usual miniature goodies, which are replenished regularly. A kettle is available too, but twice we decided to sit on the terrace and have a cup of tea there, just watching the many golfers go by. If you are a golfer by the way, this place is ideal, always busy. On the Sunday a lunch party joined us on the terrace and had coffee. We noticed that the waiter when delivering the cups and saucers, put his fingers into the empty cups to offer them to the guests, not really hygienic, so feel some of the younger staff may need some further training!
We ate each evening in the dining room. The staff there were mostly very good, especially the Maitre de. He is Polish and very professional but friendly too. At breakfast, some of the evening staff were serving but particularly on the Wednesday morning, were without direction and it was chaotic. Other mornings were fine. The food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent.
Unfortunately, the spa was fully booked for our entire stay, so would recommend booking ahead.
You definitely need a car for this hotel as it is fairly isolated. Norwich city centre is approximately 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. We always appreciate our guest’s comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are always working and maintaining high quality comfort and service we strive for.

I have made our Sports Bar Manager aware of your comments regarding the waiter that served you that day and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be assured that training has already taken place.

Your comments are highly appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights this week and it was our 4th time. The rooms are lovely - quite masculine but tasteful. The breakfast is filling and tasty. We had one evening meal in the brasserie which was excellent. I'm a veggie and the mushroom and spinach with muffin was beautiful as was the cheese soufflé starter. My partner's steak was lovely too.
A bit of a negative on the afternoon tea, Tuesday at 5. The waiter delivered the tea and food and then disappeared. There was one egg sandwich, the rest appeared to be meat but I was unsure about one (possibly chicken?) but didn't get the chance to ask. We might have also ordered a glass of fizz but no show! All of the 3 or 4 couples left with no reappearance. As I walked by a few minutes later another chap was clearing up. A choice of teas and a top up would have been a nice touch as would an alternative to strawberry jam. The egg sandwich was very cold as if defrosting; otherwise the food was tasty.
I also had a facial with Bryony - absolutely fab! For the first time ever, I nearly dropped off! It was an Espa Regenerist. Good value at £45. Book early though as on our last two visits I left it late and couldn't book a spot.
Overall we will be back! The landscaping is excellent and it's so very green and restful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom Hotel. It is always nice to read that again our staff have provided the friendly and helpful service that we always aim for. I have passed on your wonderful comments to Bryony who greatly appreciates you taking the time to tell others of your Spa experience.

I am however sorry to read your experience with afternoon tea. I have passed on your comments to our Brasserie Manager and Excecutive Chef of Barnham Broom so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect in every way, cleanliness, welcome, rooms,pool, everything was excellent. The rooms were so well equipped and spacious. The pool was ideal, I would have like to a round of golf if I had had the time, maybe next time !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for leaving us a glowing review after your recent stay here at Barnham Broom

It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customer satisfaction and really appreciate it when it pays off when we read reviews like yours.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Should b more than 4* really... The staff at Barnham Broom are some of the most friendly, caring, helpful, happy people you could hope to meet.. Everyone that we spoke to during our stay went above and beyond their services.. We simply couldn't thank them enough!!
The food was absolutely stunning, and my companion and myself have specific dietary needs.. Wheat free and dairy free vegetarian.... I asked for the chef to be creative, and he made me the most amazing dish, with asparagus, butternut squash, chillies and beautiful mushrooms...
The room was lovely, biggest bed I have ever slept in!! The pool and gym were great!!!!
Sadly we were silly, and did not book spa treatments in advance, so did not get to use it, but did have fluffy slippers and bath robes to relax in ..
I would highly recommend this place to anyone... Absolutely superb!!!!!
We were even half an hour late for our breakfast, but was still served the yummiest breakfast I have had for years!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for such a kind and wonderful review. I was smiling when reading your comments with all your lovely feedback. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and we pride ourselves on the great reputation that Barnham Broom has gained over the years for its high quality food and great customer service.

All the team at Barnham Broom are very grateful for your kind comments so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Absolutely brilliant stay at Barnham Broom Hotel, couldn't fault it. Perfect setting, excellent staff, superb facilities. The food at dinner was 1st class, and champagne tea absolutely delicious. We enjoyed golf and 2 x excellent massages in the spa. We didn't have time to use the pool, the spa facilities, squash or gym but fellow guests sang their praises. The catering and staff in the Sports Bar were also 1st class. Our room was freshly decorated, very clean and comfortable and the bed was super comfy - and in the peace and quiet of rural Norfolk we slept and slept - and complimentary Molton Brown products everywhere. Now feeling thoroughly relaxed and pampered. Can't recommend this Hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandPNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Wow! what a lovely review. On behalf of all the Management and staff at Barnham broom we would like to say thank you for your glowing review after your recent stay with us. We always appreciate our guest’s positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service we strive for here at Barnham Broom.

We really appreciate your kind words so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

10/10 Perfect! This hotel is absolutely the best we have ever stayed in, from the minute we checked in until we left, having got a good value deal @ £80 for a nights stay including breakfast and full use of the leisure facilities, pool/jaccuzi/steam and sauna rooms. The beds are so very comfortable, a very large tv on wall approx 40" and this was just a superior room (Would like to try a suite) small fridge, safe included, lovely selection on hospitality tray and nice to have a teapot and coffee pot, very large towel and bath robes, toiletries, lovely shower/bath. There was no noise in corridors or other rooms, very quiet. The lounge areas are extremely comfortable, breakfast was very well cooked, the staff in every part of the hotel were very polite and attentive, just as a hotel should be, extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: This is an ideal trip away for couples, or for business, obviously set as a golf/spa, as a tip for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. It was lovely to read that you have had such a good experience at Barnham Broom and that you thoroughly enjoyed all of our facilities. It really does give us confidence that we are achieving the level of service and quality that we strive for everyday.

Your excellent feedback is much appreciated and we should look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,227 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,877 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
980 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing