We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wedding ever...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best wedding ever...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently had my wedding here and it was a truly amazing day. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were amazing. The wedding Co-ordintor Debbie couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in the suite and it was lovely. It was handy having the extra space with all the wedding presents and also to relax in. All the staff from the reception to waiting stafff to the staff who helped us on our big day were extremely helpful and were always on hand if we had any questions. The swimming pool was a nice experience with the jacuzzi area attached to the pool being our favourite. We stayed for a couple of nights and the staff looked after us every step of the way. The Brasserie which has been recently done up felt modern, fresh and welcoming. The food was beautiful, breakfast and dinner. The hotel experince here was brilliant. We are looking forward to staying and eating here again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for such an amazing review after celebrating your special day with us here at Barnham Broom. We are very grateful you have taken the time to tell others of your special day. It is very important for us to always uphold the highest standard of service we set ourselves.

I have passed on your glowing praise to Debbie and the team at Barnham Broom who greatly appreciate your lovely feedback.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    295
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
115
361
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night whilst working locally the next day.
Check in was very good and all the staff I encountered were very friendly and polite.
My room was large enough and well cleaned with a large bed and very nice smart tv with plenty of channels. There was no iron or ironing board in the room which was the only thing missing.
I used the gym facilities which were excellent when compared to most hotels - modern equipment and not too busy, helpful staff too.
I ate in the sports bar and found service to be a little slow, 2 staff trying to provide table service to the whole bar and outside area as well as serve guests at the bar, and it was only 6pm! My food, however, was very good.
Breakfast was very much the highlight, an excellent, fresh and high quality continental offering as well as cooked to order breakfasts, and a great view over the golf course.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel when in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. We are very greatful that you have taken the time to tell others of your experience. It was lovely to read that you found all of our facilities to be very good.

All of our Iron & Boards are brought up to our guests on request so when you stay with us next please let us know and we would be more than happy to bring one up to your room for you.

I would also like to apologise for the slow service you experienced in the Sports Bar. Your comments have been passed over to our Sports bar Manager so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your comments are much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A little out of the way, surrounded by the Golf Course typically Golf style hotel.
We were just passing through so didn't use the spa or the Golf facilities.
Beautiful rooms a little dark in lighting but that is the style of the hotel, lovely large beds and very comfortable. Very clean, restaurant very good, selection of menu and wines very good, service exceptional nothing was too much trouble.
We booked through Booking.com so was able to get a reasonable deal which included an evening meal, in fact firstly included afternoon tea, but as we wouldn't get there til later they rearranged it so we could have an evening meal instead. A must stay if in that part of the country!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. It makes us very proud to read that you had a lovely stay and you experienced high quality food and exceptional service.

I am so pleased you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom and thank you for taking the time to tell others.

We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here the weekend after Easter and booked the Hill Suite for 3 nights. Check in was smooth and the directions to the room were fine. This is their premier room - it is essentially three rooms joined together. Large bathroom, seating area and bedroom with an enormous bed. The decor is a little lacking, it is rather plain. The bathroom is well fitted out with the usual miniature goodies, which are replenished regularly. A kettle is available too, but twice we decided to sit on the terrace and have a cup of tea there, just watching the many golfers go by. If you are a golfer by the way, this place is ideal, always busy. On the Sunday a lunch party joined us on the terrace and had coffee. We noticed that the waiter when delivering the cups and saucers, put his fingers into the empty cups to offer them to the guests, not really hygienic, so feel some of the younger staff may need some further training!
We ate each evening in the dining room. The staff there were mostly very good, especially the Maitre de. He is Polish and very professional but friendly too. At breakfast, some of the evening staff were serving but particularly on the Wednesday morning, were without direction and it was chaotic. Other mornings were fine. The food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent.
Unfortunately, the spa was fully booked for our entire stay, so would recommend booking ahead.
You definitely need a car for this hotel as it is fairly isolated. Norwich city centre is approximately 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. We always appreciate our guest’s comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are always working and maintaining high quality comfort and service we strive for.

I have made our Sports Bar Manager aware of your comments regarding the waiter that served you that day and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be assured that training has already taken place.

Your comments are highly appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights this week and it was our 4th time. The rooms are lovely - quite masculine but tasteful. The breakfast is filling and tasty. We had one evening meal in the brasserie which was excellent. I'm a veggie and the mushroom and spinach with muffin was beautiful as was the cheese soufflé starter. My partner's steak was lovely too.
A bit of a negative on the afternoon tea, Tuesday at 5. The waiter delivered the tea and food and then disappeared. There was one egg sandwich, the rest appeared to be meat but I was unsure about one (possibly chicken?) but didn't get the chance to ask. We might have also ordered a glass of fizz but no show! All of the 3 or 4 couples left with no reappearance. As I walked by a few minutes later another chap was clearing up. A choice of teas and a top up would have been a nice touch as would an alternative to strawberry jam. The egg sandwich was very cold as if defrosting; otherwise the food was tasty.
I also had a facial with Bryony - absolutely fab! For the first time ever, I nearly dropped off! It was an Espa Regenerist. Good value at £45. Book early though as on our last two visits I left it late and couldn't book a spot.
Overall we will be back! The landscaping is excellent and it's so very green and restful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom Hotel. It is always nice to read that again our staff have provided the friendly and helpful service that we always aim for. I have passed on your wonderful comments to Bryony who greatly appreciates you taking the time to tell others of your Spa experience.

I am however sorry to read your experience with afternoon tea. I have passed on your comments to our Brasserie Manager and Excecutive Chef of Barnham Broom so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect in every way, cleanliness, welcome, rooms,pool, everything was excellent. The rooms were so well equipped and spacious. The pool was ideal, I would have like to a round of golf if I had had the time, maybe next time !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us a glowing review after your recent stay here at Barnham Broom

It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customer satisfaction and really appreciate it when it pays off when we read reviews like yours.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Should b more than 4* really... The staff at Barnham Broom are some of the most friendly, caring, helpful, happy people you could hope to meet.. Everyone that we spoke to during our stay went above and beyond their services.. We simply couldn't thank them enough!!
The food was absolutely stunning, and my companion and myself have specific dietary needs.. Wheat free and dairy free vegetarian.... I asked for the chef to be creative, and he made me the most amazing dish, with asparagus, butternut squash, chillies and beautiful mushrooms...
The room was lovely, biggest bed I have ever slept in!! The pool and gym were great!!!!
Sadly we were silly, and did not book spa treatments in advance, so did not get to use it, but did have fluffy slippers and bath robes to relax in ..
I would highly recommend this place to anyone... Absolutely superb!!!!!
We were even half an hour late for our breakfast, but was still served the yummiest breakfast I have had for years!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind and wonderful review. I was smiling when reading your comments with all your lovely feedback. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and we pride ourselves on the great reputation that Barnham Broom has gained over the years for its high quality food and great customer service.

All the team at Barnham Broom are very grateful for your kind comments so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing