We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
middle england
Level Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

It is rare to find staff in a hotel so genuinely welcoming and solicitous of one's needs. this place had a couple of drawbacks, such as paper thin walls and impaired sleep quality, but the staff almost made up for that. The whole ambience was one of quiet relaxation, set in rolling ( for Norfolk!) lush green countryside. The public areas were equally relaxing so you felt as though the cares of the day could melt away very rapidly.
Internet access was free and good quality and easy and quick to access.
The cooked breakfast was a delight.
I would certainly consider coming back for a little break!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us a such a glowing review after your recent stay here at Barnham Broom.

It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customers satisfaction and it really does pay off when we read reviews like yours.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    295
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
115
361
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a few nights. We had our first night meal included and after looking at the picture of the scallops on the menu, I ordered them. What a mistake. What arrived was two small rounds of shop bought black pudding with half a scallop on each. That was it, not even a bit of garnish. The rest of the meal was just as bad. BlackBerry and Apple crumble. No blackberries and just crumbled biscuits for the topping!!! I wanted to go in the kitchen and show them how to cook. How did they earn their rosettes?

Reception staff were very cool, not even a good morning. Restaurant staff were much friendlier. I didn't feel like a guest in the bar, rather an inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiehides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are very grateful you have taken the time to leave us your feedback after your recent stay. It is very important for us to uphold the high standard of quality food and service we set ourselves here at Barnham Broom. I am sorry that on this occasion this was not the case and please be assured i have passed on your comments to the relevant departments as we take all guests feedback very seriously.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Pros: The Barnham Broom featured very well appointed rooms with a super comfortable bed. The hotel itself was clean and stylish, with great gym facilities and a fantastic view across the golf course. Staff also were attentive and friendly.

Cons: expensive...a glass of house wine will set you back £8 or more and at 100pn the rooms are also pricey. The hotel also seemed to only be filled with older men on a golfing holiday! The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing. Not a huge amount of choice and the quality quite average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are very grateful you have published your recent experience at Barnham Broom and i am delighted to see such high praise of our wonderful views and attentive staff.

I am however sorry to read that you felt the breakfast buffet was disappointing. I have past on your comments to out Brasserie Manager and executive chef of Barnham Broom as your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A large group of family members were staying here for a wedding. This is a nice looking hotel and the rooms are well proportioned and stylish. The beds were excellent: comfy and large.

Most of the members of staff were attentive and friendly. One particular bar staff member was clearly unhappy in his job - he audibly tutted when we arrived and we did not really appreciate gin and tonics without the option of ice or lemon!

Similarly, the staff at breakfast were friendly but the service was a little slow and not terribly efficient. This was a shame as we had to rush the breakfast in order to get to our tee time. It was a very tasty breakfast and it seemed a pity to bolt it down!

I was surprised at the room rates given that this is a four star hotel - We had three rooms for two nights and paid just under £1000! At that price, I would not say that it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chebs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you found the Hotel bedrooms to be of a high standard and that you found the staff to be attentive and friendly.

I would however like to sincerely apologise for your experience when getting a drink at the bar. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and i am sorry you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback very seriously as has been dealt with immediately.

I am very grateful for your feedback so thank you and we would look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We attended a Wedding Breakfast and Reception on Saturday 31st May at Barnham Broom, the whole celebration was organised excellently and we had a wonderful day. The Wedding Breakfast was in a lovely room, with lovely views and the room was set out beautifully for the Wedding meal and indeed remained looking so, after it was very efficiently changed around after the meal, ready for the evening reception. The food was excellent, as was the service and staff, who were all very friendly and helpful. The whole event and Wedding Celebration ran very smoothly and was very well organised from arrival, to the Wedding Breakfast, through to the Evening Reception. Leon the Events Manager and his team did an excellent job and gave professional and attentive service throughout the celebration, a wonderful day had by all, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eno1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. It was so lovely to read that we met all of your expectations on your special day, it really does make us very proud. It is very important for us to always uphold the highest standard of service we set ourselves.

I have passed on all of your kind words to all of our team at Barnham Broom so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Barnham Broom for a relaxing weekend to celebrate my partners birthday.

We arrived slightly early but were checked in by a friendly, helpful lady on reception. The room wasn't huge but the bed was and everything we needed was there (including a very handy fridge).

Once we had unpacked we decided to explore the hotels facilities starting with the leisure complex. We were disappointed to find that the steam room was out of action on that day with no notice to this effect. In addition, a large proportion of the pool was roped off for one child having a private lesson (this was also the case on the Saturday afternoon). The water jet pool was also 'out of action' and populated by small children). This didn't make for a particularly relaxing start to our break.

After our (slightly disappointing) swim we headed back to the room via the sports bar. This is a very nice place to stop for a drink with an attractive outside patio area overlooking the golf course. There is a good choice of drinks and other facilities (pool table, Sky TV etc.)

We had dinner reservations elsewhere on the first night but returned to the hotel lounge for a few drinks after where the staff were very friendly, the service was good and the surroundings comfortable and relaxing. I will mention at this point that, if you are planning to enjoy a few drinks during your stay, be sure to check the drink prices first (they're not extortionate but it's hardly a Wetherspoons!)

The bed was large and very comfortable and, with the exception of some people passing along the corridor and my partners' snoring, a very peaceful place to be.

We were booked in for breakfast which is served up until 10am. Service at breakfast was polite if a little disjointed. Several people seemed to serve each table and items did arrive out of order (full English before coffee and toast etc.) The food itself was, however, very good and cooked to a good standard (no microwaved bacon here!).

We had planned to relax and enjoy the hotel facilities during the day and intentionally placed the room door hanger so that our room could be made up in out absence. We returned a couple of times to discover that it hadn't been completed and, on the third time of returning (approx 1pm), had to speak to a member of staff to enquire as to why ours had not been done (while those either side of us had at least an hour previous. They were polite and apologetic, assuring us it would be done there and then. This did however mean that we had to go back to the bar to kill more time which was slightly disappointing.

That evening we chose to eat at the sports bar as the main restaurant menu looked a little fussy and overpriced. The food in the bar was enjoyable and well priced and the service (as it was throughout our stay) was attentive but, on occasion, slow.

Overall, we would recommend Barnham Broom to anyone who is looking to 'escape' for a couple of days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are delighted to see that you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom. We have read your comments about the Hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. We always appreciate our guests positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service we strive for here at Barnham Broom.

I am sorry to read that your room was not ready at 1.00pm for you to relax and please be assured that i have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I received a gift of an overnight stay with bed,breakfast and afternoon tea from my son and daughter as a birthday surprise :-) What a treat it was, great location, great rooms, great food, and the service from every member of staff I had the pleasure of meeting was excellent. I would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithkaren26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for such a kind review. It was so nice to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Barnham Broom. It gives everybody involved with the operation great pride to read such kind words regarding the high level of service you received from all the staff at Barnham Broom.

I have passed on your kind words so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing