We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights recently and what a good choice it was. On arrival at reception we asked if we could check in (this was at 13.15pm) but we were told that check in was not until 14.00pm, however Nikki the receptionist checked with housekeeping who said that the room was Ok so we were able to check in straight away.

Nikki was extremely helpful during our stay and said to speak with her if there were any problems or if there was something that we required.

The room was through a small outdoor area and into a main block. The room was a basic double but had a huge bed and a good amount of furniture and space for clothing etc. Tea and coffee facilities were available and every day we had two new packets of biscuits (two biscuits in each packet). We had a view from our window over a small grassed area onto some tennis courts. There appeared to be a family of pied wagtails around and it was fun to watch them early morning.

The package included breakfast which consisted of all the normal items that you would expect and we also had afternoon tea on our day of arrival that was very nice. This little bit of pleasure was also available to us during our stay on the other days but we declined as we new we would be out and about.

The hotel is geared to golfing parties and has two 18 hole courses plus a pro-shop, there is also a small swimming pool and what looked like a very good gym.

Check out was as good as when we arrived so all in all quite pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. It was lovely to read that you have had such a good experience at Barnham Broom and that you thoroughly enjoyed all of our facilities. It really does give us confidence that we are achieving the level of service and quality that we strive for everyday.

Your comments are much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    305
    111
    52
    30
See reviews for
116
374
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We attended a wedding reception over weekend
On arrival reception staff not that friendly or greeted you with enthusiasm
First night service in sports bar poor (only 1 staff) not the young ladies fault clearly lack of management planning knowing how fully booked they were
Rooms adequate and beds comfy but we booked over nine months ago and as a family yet one room on one floor and the other room on another level yet we we mentioned this on arrival again reception staff displayed a couldn't care less attitude
Didn't play the golf courses but they looked excellent and be aware it is cheaper to book golf package than just bed and breakfast
We paid £600.00 for two nights not great value if just staying for bed breakfast and evening meal on Friday night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perranp0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to tell us of your experience.

Please be assured that i have passed all of your comments to the relevant departments and training has already taken place. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It is rare to find staff in a hotel so genuinely welcoming and solicitous of one's needs. this place had a couple of drawbacks, such as paper thin walls and impaired sleep quality, but the staff almost made up for that. The whole ambience was one of quiet relaxation, set in rolling ( for Norfolk!) lush green countryside. The public areas were equally relaxing so you felt as though the cares of the day could melt away very rapidly.
Internet access was free and good quality and easy and quick to access.
The cooked breakfast was a delight.
I would certainly consider coming back for a little break!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us a such a glowing review after your recent stay here at Barnham Broom.

It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customers satisfaction and it really does pay off when we read reviews like yours.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a few nights. We had our first night meal included and after looking at the picture of the scallops on the menu, I ordered them. What a mistake. What arrived was two small rounds of shop bought black pudding with half a scallop on each. That was it, not even a bit of garnish. The rest of the meal was just as bad. BlackBerry and Apple crumble. No blackberries and just crumbled biscuits for the topping!!! I wanted to go in the kitchen and show them how to cook. How did they earn their rosettes?

Reception staff were very cool, not even a good morning. Restaurant staff were much friendlier. I didn't feel like a guest in the bar, rather an inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiehides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are very grateful you have taken the time to leave us your feedback after your recent stay. It is very important for us to uphold the high standard of quality food and service we set ourselves here at Barnham Broom. I am sorry that on this occasion this was not the case and please be assured i have passed on your comments to the relevant departments as we take all guests feedback very seriously.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Pros: The Barnham Broom featured very well appointed rooms with a super comfortable bed. The hotel itself was clean and stylish, with great gym facilities and a fantastic view across the golf course. Staff also were attentive and friendly.

Cons: expensive...a glass of house wine will set you back £8 or more and at 100pn the rooms are also pricey. The hotel also seemed to only be filled with older men on a golfing holiday! The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing. Not a huge amount of choice and the quality quite average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are very grateful you have published your recent experience at Barnham Broom and i am delighted to see such high praise of our wonderful views and attentive staff.

I am however sorry to read that you felt the breakfast buffet was disappointing. I have past on your comments to out Brasserie Manager and executive chef of Barnham Broom as your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A large group of family members were staying here for a wedding. This is a nice looking hotel and the rooms are well proportioned and stylish. The beds were excellent: comfy and large.

Most of the members of staff were attentive and friendly. One particular bar staff member was clearly unhappy in his job - he audibly tutted when we arrived and we did not really appreciate gin and tonics without the option of ice or lemon!

Similarly, the staff at breakfast were friendly but the service was a little slow and not terribly efficient. This was a shame as we had to rush the breakfast in order to get to our tee time. It was a very tasty breakfast and it seemed a pity to bolt it down!

I was surprised at the room rates given that this is a four star hotel - We had three rooms for two nights and paid just under £1000! At that price, I would not say that it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chebs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you found the Hotel bedrooms to be of a high standard and that you found the staff to be attentive and friendly.

I would however like to sincerely apologise for your experience when getting a drink at the bar. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and i am sorry you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback very seriously as has been dealt with immediately.

I am very grateful for your feedback so thank you and we would look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We attended a Wedding Breakfast and Reception on Saturday 31st May at Barnham Broom, the whole celebration was organised excellently and we had a wonderful day. The Wedding Breakfast was in a lovely room, with lovely views and the room was set out beautifully for the Wedding meal and indeed remained looking so, after it was very efficiently changed around after the meal, ready for the evening reception. The food was excellent, as was the service and staff, who were all very friendly and helpful. The whole event and Wedding Celebration ran very smoothly and was very well organised from arrival, to the Wedding Breakfast, through to the Evening Reception. Leon the Events Manager and his team did an excellent job and gave professional and attentive service throughout the celebration, a wonderful day had by all, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eno1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. It was so lovely to read that we met all of your expectations on your special day, it really does make us very proud. It is very important for us to always uphold the highest standard of service we set ourselves.

I have passed on all of your kind words to all of our team at Barnham Broom so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,531 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,103 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,126 reviews
25.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing