We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable with good food.”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with good food.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The room was excellent and the food was also very good.

The only downside was that we booked inclusive of dinner - only to find that there were a lot of inevitable extra costs - for vegetables and potatoes, and... and... Which doesn't feel good. Much better to have made sure all the costs were clear up front.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    307
    113
    52
    30
See reviews for
117
379
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clean comfortable rooms with large beds and ample space. The corridors were infused with the smell of complimentary Molton Brown toiletries which obviously most people were using.
Relaxing to sit on the terrace over looking the golf course with a tea/coffee or beverage. We had afternoon tea on two occasions which was nice and beautifully presented by attentive staff. For me this hotel was more golf than spa. The pool area was nothing special and a bit cluttered with things lying about ( swimming aids, ropes and cleaning products).
Bar food was greasy and not good. Restaurant food was beautifully presented and ok but not what I expected from AA standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, a credit to the establishment.
Both my daughter's final bill for a junior suite and ours were incorrect at checkout. This was rectified immediately without fuss.

Room Tip: Inform staff if you have a disability as even some ground floor rooms have a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you of telling others about your experience at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you had a very relaxing stay and you enjoyed our wonderful views out on the terrace. Our Chef very much appreciates your Kind words regarding your afternoon Tea and evening meal in our Brasserie.

I am sorry to read that you felt the Sports Bar food was very greasy and please be assured that i have made the Chef aware of your comments so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My first experience was wow!!!!!!! Location excellent!! views brilliant!! staff very friendly and polite!!!! We loved it so much we would return tomorrow !!!!! We couldn't stop talking about it to our friends. Especially the the staff in the restaurant .

Room Tip: Room on south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It was lovely to read that you had such a wonderful experience when staying at Barnham Broom. It makes us very proud to read that you had a lovely stay and you experienced high quality food and exceptional service.

I am so pleased you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom and thank you for taking the time to tell others.

We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We had a warm welcome from staff. The room was perfect from decor & furnishings, to cleanliness. The customer service was excellent, the hotel setting beautiful and the food delicious.

We will definitely be staying again it was so relaxing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharmani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customer satisfaction and really appreciate it when it pays off when we read reviews like yours.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for one night. First time here for both me and my girlfriend. We were both very impressed with the hotel, the staff, the restaurant, everything!
The room we had was classed as a standard, but it felt like luxury, the bed was so comfortable, the bathroom very clean and spacious, and the lighting was just perfect.
I'd arranged for flowers and wine to be in the room as a surprise for the girlfriend, which was no trouble for the hotel, huge thanks to Josephine for arranging this.
Only one little criticism is the brasserie automatically puts a service charge on the bill. I dont agree with this as i have always believed it should be the discretion of the customer whether to give a tip, and how much to give. Having said that we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. We always appreciate our guest’s comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are always working and maintaining high quality comfort and service we strive for.

I have passed on your glowing praise to Josephine who would like to thank you for such kind words.

Your comments are highly appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and all the staff were very pleasant and polite. We had a lovely tea in the afternoon and the kitchen staff were happy to agree to change the platter to suit us. We had a splendid dinner. The food was delicious; my partner had the steak, which was cooked to perfection.

My only issue is the décor in the corridors, which are painted brown, with brown carpets and ceilings. It makes the place look pokey and claustrophobic. not sure why it's decorated that way, if it's to hide the dirt, it doesn't work and there is really no need, as all the other parts of the hotel are very clean and well maintained.

Another minus point is the lack of reading material anywhere! There is nothing to read in the lobby, the lounge or the bedroom. A few magazines or papers would be nice, perhaps also a local paper that shows interesting things to do, or places to visit in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell others of your experience. I am very pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your stay at Barnham Broom. Providing our guests with the best service,hospitality and comfort is what we strive for everyday.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

12 lads arrived for annual golfing trip ( having been several times before ) , two nights and three rounds of golf.The courses and hotel were as good as ever along with the pro shop but sadly the restaurant has taken a tumble in the food quality , quantity and the service.We had pre paid evening meals and breakfasts and the evening meal choices were poor . I chose the steak which had a £6 supplement and a cheese board with a £3 supplement. The steak was average but the cheese board was quote frankly embarrassing.photo attached . You can actually see through the slices of cheese and they were all thinner than the crackers , check out how large three grapes look on the plate.I questioned the manager who said " did I appreciate how expensive cheese is ? " I have never, ever had such a reply in all the years I have been visiting restaurants.I have pre paid for the meal and then paid a supplement and that is the reply and treatment I get - what a joke.The following morning one of the other guys asked for a fried breakfast as per the menu but did not want tomatoes or beans.The breakfast duly arrived with tomatoes and beans . He complained , it went back to the kitchen and returned 60 seconds later still with beans on it !!! in the end he took them off of the plate himself.Three times we asked for butter at breakfast yesterday and it never arrived. this is a good hotel , very nice rooms , good courses and very helpful pro shop but sadly I will only be remembering this break for the appalling treatment and poor food in the Brasserie restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read your high praise of the Hotel and Golf Courses.

I am however sorry to read your experience when dining in our Brasserie. You have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with our Brasserie Manager and Head Chef of Barnham Broom. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and i'm sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention. We pride ourselves on the great reputation that Barnham Broom has gained over the years for its great Customer service and quality food.

I very much appreciate your feedback so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,598 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing