We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
SWANSEA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Short stay in Norwich”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Used this hotel as a dog-friendly venue for visiting Norwich. As stated, it's about 5miles from the city centre.

It has clearly developed a good business for weddings & hence we would be reluctant to stay if a large wedding was taking place at the same time. It has good spacious grounds and is a proper dog-friendly hotel.

The room was comfortable, clean, well fitted out & featured a good super-king sized bed. Food in the restaurant & bar was straightfood but entirely satisfactory & reasonably priced. Interestingly the free wi-fi signal tended to peter out the further you were from the reception area so if this is important the position of the room should be checked on booking.

The reception staff were delightful & could not have been more helpful. We were happy with this hotel & would use it again on any future visit to Norwich.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, book a room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKETTYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went for Sunday lunch having seen very good reviews but our experience left us wondering was it a bad day or were the reviews written through rose coloured glasses.
The setting is ideal and the staff excellent and attentive but the actual food does not live up to the occasion. I had garlic mushrooms for the starter and they appeared very quickly after ordering, perhaps on reflection too quickly, and looked very grey and uninviting probably due to the fact I suspect they were tinned not fresh and my wifes melon with a fruit coulis consisted of two small fanned pieces of melon with three blobs of coulis, small, smaller and minute.
We ordered lamb for the main course which in itself was very tender, no complaints, but the vegetables seemed very downmarket with tinned peas which tasted very sugary and carrots that were cut very roughly lengthways and thick, OK with a cheap £4.95 carvery but not for this pricey meal.
Desserts were lemon tart which my wife said was very nice and my crepes which consisted of two small COLD crepes with a warm fruit compote that again came out of a tin, the strawberries being just a quivering blob.
If attention was paid to the use of fresh ingredients rather than tinned then the meal and the venue would certainly be worth recommending

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidtravellerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Booked the Valentine meal for myself and my good lady wife thinking it would be ok but at least we were out for dinner. What a thoroughly pleasant surprise we had when we turned up. The room had been decorated out very nicely and we were met by very nice staff with a complimentary drink, shown to our table and placed our food order. The standard of the food was very good and value for money. To top off the evening a box of chocks was the complimentary gift to the ladies. Good food, lovely efficient staff and value for money made a lovely evening, thank you to all responsible, will definitely try this place out for a normal evening meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buster38284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I held our wedding reception here last weekend and we can safely say we couldn't of picked a better place. The food was second to none and service was amazing. Bedrooms are decorated tastefully and beds very comfortable. Bathroom was modern with a wonderful shower (I wanted to take it home!)

The staff are brilliant, especially Becky and Ian. From the day I contacted the hotel, I felt I could trust them with our big day, and how right I was. Everything ran smoothly and I am sad to know that I won't be popping over there for anymore meetings or having regular contact with these fabulous people. I can't recommend them enough.

Thank you for your amazing service, and keep up with the hard work, you deserve many more future customers:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December for a wedding.

From the moment of booking we were given excellent customer service, the manager was knowledgeable and helpful. In the end we booked two rooms with an adjoining door for ourselves and 3 children.

Upon our arrival we were checked in by more helpful staff and even though it was busy with all the wedding guests checking in and arriving together the staff could not do more for everyone.The meal was excellent, food was stunning and for a wedding with 100 guests, we were all served their courses together, all food was hot and the children were all very happy with the choices made.

The wedding reception had a quick easy changeover from the meal, mainly because the staff were all very well organised. The evening hog roast was lovely and everyone commented on how they had been back for seconds!

The rooms were a very good size and all very clean, the bathrooms were large, one with a large walk in shower and one with a large bath/shower. The beds were comfy and even the fold up bed my youngest daughter slept in was comfortable.

The breakfast the next morning was lovely, and the staff from the previous evening were just as helpful the following morning,especially with 3 children's very different requests to a 'traditional full english.'

The children were made very welcome throughout the stay as well, which is always a nice bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from this venue after having a Sunday lunch, never again, the meals were all pre-prepared, very dry and not at all nice, not even the coffee could be recommended, I have mine black and it was undrinkable. We had to pay for 3 courses and could not face the third. Could not even get a good Rose' wine, it was either blush or some sort of red. My husband had a guiness and even that was out of a can. The staff and venue were pleasant enough but that does not make up for the poor quality of food and drink. All in all £17.50 for a 3-course meal is acceptable if worth eating and recommending but this is not the case, a real shame.

Room Tip: Here for Sunday lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suetoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Strongly dispute this review. We keep the selection on our menus relatively small in order to freshly prepare almost all of our dishes.
With regards to the coffee I can only apologise if there was a problem and had it been mentioned at the time I am certain it would have been replaced. We serve 1000`s cups of coffee and aproximately 50 on this service of which no other comments were passed.
A third course was declined due to having sufficient to eat and subsequent phone conversaton confirms this, where as the review does not put it in this light.
The bar operator poured a glass of blush wine, it was stated without trying that it was not liked, a taster of the rose was tried by the customer and proceeded to order a glass. If this was not to the customers liking a further alternative would have been offered. We have a modest sized bar and in order to offer a larger selection to our customers some drinks are stocked in canned or bottle form.
The staff at various points through service including settlement of the bills engage with the customers, asking if everything is satisfactory. We pride ourselves on being reactive to customers needs, if indeed are made aware of them at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Have stayed here on business several times over the past couple of years. Always comfortable, quiet and clean. Good Value evening meals with real vegetables and a good cooked breakfast, can recommend the propper poached eggs! Staff always friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,600 reviews
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
878 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Crostwick, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing