We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wroxham(Wroxham)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Inn Norwich Airport Hotel(Norwich)(Great Value!)
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aylwyne House(Norwich)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
132
73
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
73
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated swimming poolround tablelarge conservatoryfamily run hotelnorfolk broadsfull englishfunction roomlovely hotelwedding venuegood sizepleasant stayrooms were very cleannothing too much troublewedding receptionample parkingevening meallovely setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Old Rectory in April and have to say that it was a fantastic venue. I cannot express how professional, friendly, attentive & helpful the staff were & how smoothly everything went. The wedding breakfast was delicious. Our guests & us filled most of the rooms, which were clean & comfortable (if a little retro - but to me it added to the charm!) and the cooked breakfast in the morning was also delicious. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alispinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I arrived late Wednesday evening. I was made very welcome & shown where everything was. I had a very nice, cosy room that was quiet, warm & clean. I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic. There is nothing I can fault with this hotel & I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISER27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel on Thursday late afternoon. The Welcome was very good and nothing too much trouble. The hotel rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable, a real home from home. Breakfast was lovely and service very good. We were part of a Wedding Party so there were a lot to cater for. The Wedding itself was wonderful from start to finish and the food excellent. The Hotel Gardens are lovely and relaxing, also the swimming pool looked wonderful although we did not get change to have a swim. All in all the Hotel was brilliant.

We would stay at this hotel again. If we were to comment about any negative it was that the Hotel Sign could have been larger to enable to be seen from the Road, but do not let this negative stop you from stopping at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Used this hotel as a dog-friendly venue for visiting Norwich. As stated, it's about 5miles from the city centre.

It has clearly developed a good business for weddings & hence we would be reluctant to stay if a large wedding was taking place at the same time. It has good spacious grounds and is a proper dog-friendly hotel.

The room was comfortable, clean, well fitted out & featured a good super-king sized bed. Food in the restaurant & bar was straightfood but entirely satisfactory & reasonably priced. Interestingly the free wi-fi signal tended to peter out the further you were from the reception area so if this is important the position of the room should be checked on booking.

The reception staff were delightful & could not have been more helpful. We were happy with this hotel & would use it again on any future visit to Norwich.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, book a room closer to reception.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKETTYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went for Sunday lunch having seen very good reviews but our experience left us wondering was it a bad day or were the reviews written through rose coloured glasses.
The setting is ideal and the staff excellent and attentive but the actual food does not live up to the occasion. I had garlic mushrooms for the starter and they appeared very quickly after ordering, perhaps on reflection too quickly, and looked very grey and uninviting probably due to the fact I suspect they were tinned not fresh and my wifes melon with a fruit coulis consisted of two small fanned pieces of melon with three blobs of coulis, small, smaller and minute.
We ordered lamb for the main course which in itself was very tender, no complaints, but the vegetables seemed very downmarket with tinned peas which tasted very sugary and carrots that were cut very roughly lengthways and thick, OK with a cheap £4.95 carvery but not for this pricey meal.
Desserts were lemon tart which my wife said was very nice and my crepes which consisted of two small COLD crepes with a warm fruit compote that again came out of a tin, the strawberries being just a quivering blob.
If attention was paid to the use of fresh ingredients rather than tinned then the meal and the venue would certainly be worth recommending

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidtravellerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews