We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel for a weekend break and found the accommodation very comfortable and the food was excellent. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the little bar was lovely. The staff were efficient, helpful, attentive (but not intrusive) and consistently friendly. We could not have asked for more. J, E & T Bennett

Room Tip: We took Rooms 21 and 22 as a family suite (in the cottage block, but only 20 metres from the main bu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbennett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception with the old rectory and I can't praise them enough! Becky and Ian were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were always there to answer any questions or queries. The venue itself was fabulous, the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The room itself is bright and spacious, it looks even better now after a recent refurb. The room was decorated for us so we didn't have the stress on the day and it looked perfect, just how I had visioned it. All the staff were excellent when it came to serving the food, it came out quick and everyone raved how fab the food was! We stayed the night in our complementary room which was lovely. We had the best day of our lives and a huge part of that is down to the old rectory. Thank you so much! Mr and Mrs Reeve

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Old Rectory in April and have to say that it was a fantastic venue. I cannot express how professional, friendly, attentive & helpful the staff were & how smoothly everything went. The wedding breakfast was delicious. Our guests & us filled most of the rooms, which were clean & comfortable (if a little retro - but to me it added to the charm!) and the cooked breakfast in the morning was also delicious. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alispinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I arrived late Wednesday evening. I was made very welcome & shown where everything was. I had a very nice, cosy room that was quiet, warm & clean. I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic. There is nothing I can fault with this hotel & I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISER27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel on Thursday late afternoon. The Welcome was very good and nothing too much trouble. The hotel rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable, a real home from home. Breakfast was lovely and service very good. We were part of a Wedding Party so there were a lot to cater for. The Wedding itself was wonderful from start to finish and the food excellent. The Hotel Gardens are lovely and relaxing, also the swimming pool looked wonderful although we did not get change to have a swim. All in all the Hotel was brilliant.

We would stay at this hotel again. If we were to comment about any negative it was that the Hotel Sign could have been larger to enable to be seen from the Road, but do not let this negative stop you from stopping at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Used this hotel as a dog-friendly venue for visiting Norwich. As stated, it's about 5miles from the city centre.

It has clearly developed a good business for weddings & hence we would be reluctant to stay if a large wedding was taking place at the same time. It has good spacious grounds and is a proper dog-friendly hotel.

The room was comfortable, clean, well fitted out & featured a good super-king sized bed. Food in the restaurant & bar was straightfood but entirely satisfactory & reasonably priced. Interestingly the free wi-fi signal tended to peter out the further you were from the reception area so if this is important the position of the room should be checked on booking.

The reception staff were delightful & could not have been more helpful. We were happy with this hotel & would use it again on any future visit to Norwich.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, book a room closer to reception.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKETTYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went for Sunday lunch having seen very good reviews but our experience left us wondering was it a bad day or were the reviews written through rose coloured glasses.
The setting is ideal and the staff excellent and attentive but the actual food does not live up to the occasion. I had garlic mushrooms for the starter and they appeared very quickly after ordering, perhaps on reflection too quickly, and looked very grey and uninviting probably due to the fact I suspect they were tinned not fresh and my wifes melon with a fruit coulis consisted of two small fanned pieces of melon with three blobs of coulis, small, smaller and minute.
We ordered lamb for the main course which in itself was very tender, no complaints, but the vegetables seemed very downmarket with tinned peas which tasted very sugary and carrots that were cut very roughly lengthways and thick, OK with a cheap £4.95 carvery but not for this pricey meal.
Desserts were lemon tart which my wife said was very nice and my crepes which consisted of two small COLD crepes with a warm fruit compote that again came out of a tin, the strawberries being just a quivering blob.
If attention was paid to the use of fresh ingredients rather than tinned then the meal and the venue would certainly be worth recommending

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidtravellerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Crostwick, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing