We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Let down by poor service”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I will kick of this short review with a slight niggle. The photo used is quite misleading, as the accomodation is not in the picturesque building pictured, but in a large motel lodge like extension to the rear.

That said, check in was smooth enough and the room allocated was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is free wifi too which is nice. For me though, the downside was the service. As the hotel seemed to be hosting a Round Table(?) meeting, i ate in the bar. The service was very slow, as the bar area was frequently unmanned. Its not great when a thirsty man cant even get a drink without having to track down a member of staff each time.

Food was ok in the evening and breakfast not bad either. The location is lovely and quiet too and there is ample parking in site

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for one night, we were greeted with a friendly smile from the reception staff, the room was a good size, a very comfy bed with a lovely duvet, one double wardrobe and other units with plenty of draw space, two chairs, coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, and two mirrors one being full length.
Bathroom is on the small size, large walk in shower, lovely white towels, the disappointment in the bathroom was, there is not much light shining in the mirror over the sink, when one is having a shave.
Breakfast menu had a good variety to choose from, the full English was excellent.

The only downside in the room was the carpet, it hadn't been cleaned with the hoover as there were a lot of bits on the carpet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel for a weekend break and found the accommodation very comfortable and the food was excellent. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the little bar was lovely. The staff were efficient, helpful, attentive (but not intrusive) and consistently friendly. We could not have asked for more. J, E & T Bennett

Room Tip: We took Rooms 21 and 22 as a family suite (in the cottage block, but only 20 metres from the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbennett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception with the old rectory and I can't praise them enough! Becky and Ian were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were always there to answer any questions or queries. The venue itself was fabulous, the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The room itself is bright and spacious, it looks even better now after a recent refurb. The room was decorated for us so we didn't have the stress on the day and it looked perfect, just how I had visioned it. All the staff were excellent when it came to serving the food, it came out quick and everyone raved how fab the food was! We stayed the night in our complementary room which was lovely. We had the best day of our lives and a huge part of that is down to the old rectory. Thank you so much! Mr and Mrs Reeve

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Old Rectory in April and have to say that it was a fantastic venue. I cannot express how professional, friendly, attentive & helpful the staff were & how smoothly everything went. The wedding breakfast was delicious. Our guests & us filled most of the rooms, which were clean & comfortable (if a little retro - but to me it added to the charm!) and the cooked breakfast in the morning was also delicious. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alispinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I arrived late Wednesday evening. I was made very welcome & shown where everything was. I had a very nice, cosy room that was quiet, warm & clean. I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic. There is nothing I can fault with this hotel & I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISER27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel on Thursday late afternoon. The Welcome was very good and nothing too much trouble. The hotel rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable, a real home from home. Breakfast was lovely and service very good. We were part of a Wedding Party so there were a lot to cater for. The Wedding itself was wonderful from start to finish and the food excellent. The Hotel Gardens are lovely and relaxing, also the swimming pool looked wonderful although we did not get change to have a swim. All in all the Hotel was brilliant.

We would stay at this hotel again. If we were to comment about any negative it was that the Hotel Sign could have been larger to enable to be seen from the Road, but do not let this negative stop you from stopping at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,605 reviews
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
881 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Crostwick, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing