We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with 5 star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel with 5 star staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were here for a wake and then stayed overnight with other members of the family. It was all excellent. And the staff were magnificent. In the evening, the children used the outdoor pool, and we sat outside in the sunshine and relaxed after a difficult day supported by the most friendly, helpful staff. Likewise, in the morning, a full English breakfast with attentive, smiling waitresses. Reception staff...ditto re pleasant and welcoming.
The bedroom was well-appointed, the bed huge and very comfortable.
So, well done The Old Rectory! We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinlouis87440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    65
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. Hotel is lovely and sits in beautiful grounds. Room was good enough, nothing fancy but did the job. Fantastic buffet breakfast to start the day. Would highly recommend and will defernetly be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent location close to Norwich and the Broads. Booking in was quick and easy and we were shown to our room which was large clean and tidy. All rooms had the advantage of being on the ground floor overlooking the extensive gardens. The en-suite whilst being perfectly adequate was somewhat on the small side. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and quickly served.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was not an ideal location for a business stay as it is so far out of the city, but the setting is beautiful, the rooms very warm, comfortable and clean - four star quality. The food was quite expensive but sublime. Vegetarians well catered for. I can see how this would make a lovely wedding venue and may well return for a weekend break. All rooms are ground floor so good accessibility for my needs.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise so rooms towards the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a Club outing lunch here today (Sunday 16th) we were very well looked after by all the staff and the meal was delightful, on the strength of this we will go for an evening meal in the not too distant future

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked the Old Rectory Hotel for our wedding on the 30th November 2013 and we could not have chosen a better venue for our special day. This was our first choice and from the moment we walked in and met the staff we knew this was where we wanted our wedding. Ian and his staff helped to make our day perfect from start to finish. All the staff were happy, pleasant, very helpful and smiling throughout the whole day. We had the wedding ceremony in the conservatory which was then transformed for the wedding breakfast and the evening reception. The hotel is perfect as a wedding venue with its wonderful conservatory, gardens and grounds. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and some of our guests also stayed overnight and all the rooms were extremely comfortable, clean and well equipped. All our guests said what a wonderful venue for a wedding. They all commented on how smooth the events of the day flowed and how they felt relaxed and that the food was exceptional.

Thank you again Ian for making our day so perfect and magical. You have a wonderful team of staff. We look forward to coming back to see you soon.

Sally and Paul Castle

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth U K
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Only stayed for one night but this was long enough to impress us with the quality of accomodation and catering that are on offer. The room was immaculate and comfortable, the food was excellent and reasonably priced and throughout the staff were welcoming and helpful, despite also coping with the pressure of a large event that had taken over the entire main restaurant. Handily situated if you are visiting Norwich and also a few minutes drive to Wroxham which gives access to the Broads. Highly recommended if you are looking for accomodation in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main area are more convenient than those outside in the annexe, which leave you with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Crostwick, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing