We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of disabled rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“In need of disabled rooms”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here with a disabled person in a wheelchair who could transfer. I was advised at booking that access was good for wheelchairs and it is ok. However I would like to see a room with some bathroom adaptions to assist a disabled person and maybe a wetroom adaption. The rooms are of a good size and clean. We had breakfast and this was fine but we did not eat in the evening as the menu did not suit us.
The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful.
The hotel seems to be best suited to the more elderly customers and in my opinion resembles an old peoples home, with dated decoration although in good order. The Hotel displays the international recognised symbol for disability outside but just having rooms on the ground floor does not qualify for this inference that it is disabled friendly. We were provided with a shower stool and a slip mat. This would be ok for an elderly person with a mobility problem but it is not really suitable for a disabled person, the showers are modern and not accessible from a wheelchair. Overall the Hotel is fine but for the disabled needs improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel with three other couples and we have been doing a city break together for the last nine years. We all agreed that this was the best hotel we have stayed in since we started. The rooms were spacious, the food delicious both at breakfast and dinner and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a lovely rural setting, with large grounds and is really peaceful and quiet although only a short drive to the centre of Norwich. There is also a good bus service to the city which will stop outside the hotel.
Should we return to that part of the country we would definitely stay at The Old Rectory again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington spa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A group of eight of us stayed for three nights and nothing was too much trouble for the ever smiling staff. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable and much roomier than is usually found in hotels/guest houses at this price.
Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a double room for one night in early June through my company.
All company bookings state that extra occupancy charges may apply and I am aware of this but although my wife has travelled with me on several occasions no other Hotel has deemed it necessary to charge me for two occupants for a double room.
I would have been more than happy to pay the £19 charged (to cover an extra breakfast) had I been told on check in (Wife present) or when I returned to reception to book a table for dinner in the Hotel restaurant. Unfortunately the receptionist decided that mid-way through the meal was the best time to tell me that an extra £19 would be charged to me to cover my Wife's stay.
I have to book a further 12 nights this year to stay in this area but will now book elsewhere and will recommend that my colleagues do like wise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Edison990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were here for a wake and then stayed overnight with other members of the family. It was all excellent. And the staff were magnificent. In the evening, the children used the outdoor pool, and we sat outside in the sunshine and relaxed after a difficult day supported by the most friendly, helpful staff. Likewise, in the morning, a full English breakfast with attentive, smiling waitresses. Reception staff...ditto re pleasant and welcoming.
The bedroom was well-appointed, the bed huge and very comfortable.
So, well done The Old Rectory! We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinlouis87440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. Hotel is lovely and sits in beautiful grounds. Room was good enough, nothing fancy but did the job. Fantastic buffet breakfast to start the day. Would highly recommend and will defernetly be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent location close to Norwich and the Broads. Booking in was quick and easy and we were shown to our room which was large clean and tidy. All rooms had the advantage of being on the ground floor overlooking the extensive gardens. The en-suite whilst being perfectly adequate was somewhat on the small side. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and quickly served.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,141 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Crostwick, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing