We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING”
other travellers have booked this property
Infinity pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity pool
Guest villa Guest villa- King size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Infinity pool
Guest villa
Guest villa- King size bed
Bathroom
Outdoor shower
View from guest villa terrace
Guest villa terrace
Terrace
Entry and guest villa
Lumbung
Interior of Lumbung- Queen size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lovina Beach, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kathy S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start...
Villa Patria is like no place that I could ever have imagined. It is truly beautiful.
It is about a 3 hour drive from Legian but so picturesque.
You drive through some of the most amazing mountains. Jungle all around you. Our lovely driver recommended stopping to take in the 3 lakes that sit at the bottom of the mountains. Well worth it.
On arrival at Villa Patria you are greeted by Oka ( Villa Manager) & his wonderful staff.
The Villa is perched up on the hill top with views of the jungle ( to your right) & the ocean from the balcony.
The staff are so accommodating & nothing is a hassle.
The kitchen staff are high class chefs. I have eaten some of the healthiest and most amazing dishes that I have had in my life. All produce is fresh daily from the Markets. Highly recommend the Pork Belly & Chocolte Fondant. Out of this world. I am packing all staff in my suitcase to take home. Sorry, Mike.
The rooms are gorgeous. Comfortable beds, soft linen, large spacious bathroom. The villa is private with your own varanda & day beds overlooking the view towards the ocean.
Villa Patria is very private & quite. It's a place to come & stay to re charge the batteries. Take the day at your own leisure. Beautiful gardens & an Infinity pool to die for.
I HIGHLY Recommend you stay here.
Thank you to all the beautiful Bali staff for making us feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words Kathy.
We hope for a repeat visit some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie Z
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat, Pray, Love. ”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

One night not enough after a busy business trip, felt so relaxed, rejuvenated, after a dew days I would be in heaven (up in the clouds in the wet season). I would go back at any time, including the wet season, so restful and relaxing and suited the stunning location. Enjoyed the drive to Lovina seeing the non populist parts of Bali. Not too far for even a one night stay.
Food was five star, especially the ginger gelato.
Loved the fact the staff were there, non intrusive but attentive.
Swimming in the pool on the hillside felt like floating in heaven and helped me with an eleven hour sleep the night I stayed, there must be something in the air at Villa Patria. Thanks to Mike, Dety and staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you Ronnie.
It was a delight to have you here. Pity you had such a short stay.
We look forward to a longer stay on your return.
Kind Regards,
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A holiday in Paradise!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment you arrive you will feel welcome, relaxed and happy. Spectacular views, gorgeous accommodation set in superb grounds, delightful staff, elegant meals, your own infinity pool, sunshine and a light breeze. This is the place to have the holiday you have been dreaming about. I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: They made me feel like a Princess.
Liked least: There is nothing here not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility and luxury in bucolic Bali”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Sitting in an upper tier of a natural amphitheatre in the mountains of northern Bali provides a view to the coast and a vast sky that blends with the horizon of the Bali sea.

Villa Patria’s panorama stimulates feelings of peace and tranquillity, light years away from the frenetic, overcrowded tourist trap in the south of the island.

Up here it’s still possible to hear the local gamelan orchestra practice well into the night accompanied by a frog and gecko orchestra.

There’s no reason to leave the villa because the staff provide quality food and service
in a professional unobtrusive style.

An Asian experience without beggars and touts and the associated hassles.
A space for introspection and relaxation, with a view to infinity.

Steve and Philippa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great staff
Liked least: motor bikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you for your very kind words Steve and Philippa. We were so happy to have you here and look forward to your stimulating conversation and wit whenever you may return.
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were excited to stay at Villa Patria as it looked so good in the pictures but were even more delighted when we got there as it exceeded our expectations! Firstly the views and setting are spectacular. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. Set high up on a jungly ravine the views to the coast are dramatic.
Staying at Villa Patria is like staying at a very elite colonial estate as the chosen guest as there is only one guest villa. The main house is very grand and almost like a museum filled with gorgeous antiques and art. Breakfast and dining on the main verandah was very special we felt like royalty.
Probably the best thing about this place is the wonderful staff. Oka the manager is a really lovely charming man who couldn't have made a better guide. An excellent driver and incredibly knowledgeable about the local area and village. As a local he was able to take us all around the area and show us life in the village and the local customs including the amazing clove industry going on all around you.
Ketut and Putu the boys in the kitchen cooked us incredible food!! So delicious and the best desserts I've ever tasted. All the staff were so very lovely and the relaxed, discreet perfect service was unbeatable.
We were very sad to say goodbye and will definitely return whenever we can as it was so very special.
A huge thank you to you all!!
With love the Swain Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing people
Liked least: everything was wonderful
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Dear Anna,
Thank you very much for your kind words. Oka tells me you were a delight to host.
I look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winogabon
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Magnificant set up, a real gem high on the hills over looking Lovina”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house is one of the nicest places I have ever had the privileged to stay in - a real cultural experience, such fine finishing touches to the traditional home set in the most relaxing lush tropical gardens. The bed linen so soft and silky, the bathroom so cleverly designed with a shower under the stars...all the finest wood finishes, interesting art, loads of books to read, a well thought out little kitchen and a menu and staff that kept us smiling from start to finish. The night life is interesting with an orchestra of frogs and insects creating a real 'lost in the jungle experience' The house is fairly close to a little road and the occasional straining scooter engine reminds one that people are around, but it was never too much. The views are so relaxing I was happy to just sit on the veranda and do nothing all day. Great pool. I cannot think of anything negative, just wonderful !!! Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and staff
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words.
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to unleash our full repertoire of delicious food when next you stay.
Hopefully you may be able to stay longer next time.
Regards,
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven in The Hills”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and i have just returned from a month in Bali after a low key wedding and booked a number of different spots to stay at around Bali and Lombok. Mike and Dety's Villa 'Villa Patria' was definitely the highlight of our trip and his team lead by Oka and Wayan were nothing short of exceptional. The 5 days we spent there was the only stretch of our trip where we truly felt in honeymoon mode. The food was amazing and the property and facilities beyond any expectation we could have dreamed up.

If you are after a truly authentic Bali experience this area is one of the few that still possess this quality, unspoiled by tourism and home to locals that haven't been overrun by Westerners! You will hear echos of 'Hello' from children as you pass every house as you walk down the hill towards Lovina Town centre. Given Patria is not located in a busy area it also makes the price amazingly affordable. You'll pay almost $1000 US for something like this down south.

I wouldn't put a price on our experience though. Just do yourself a favour and experience it for yourself. I'm sure after you do the review below this will reflect similarly on the place to this one!

Best
Tom

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing