We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lovina Beach Houses
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$177
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel My Lovina(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Damai(Lovina Beach)
US$412
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovina(Lovina Beach)
US$118
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pandawa Village Villas(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
39
22
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
22
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolopen spacerestaurants and barsdrinking waterbali styleblack sanddolphin tourseahorseaccommodationcowdolphinsvillasouth
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights with two adults and two children primary school age. We stayed in the beach front villas. Lovely spot with magical views of the water and sunset. You can see your children from the deck playing on the beach. Open walls for all living. Bedrooms are locked up individually and the upstairs bedroom is external access only, so we ended up not putting the children on their own as it meant we would have to padlock them in. Fan in bedrooms and aircon downstairs room. Typical balinese bathrooms with outside feel. Great pool but not private from other guests viewing. Did tend to have locals outside talking at longboats outside the front gate until all hours. One side of house is road access to beach, other villa boarders a farm. Typical Lovina/Bali with cows and chickens on the beach. Walk along the beach 10mins to Lovina restaurants and dolphin statue. Continental breakfast was just toast and a bit of fruit. Different standard to Southern Bali. Very cheap meals there though. Great stay just remember it is Northern Bali so dont expect resort style living but a great cultural experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitelilliesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our stay at Lovina Beach Houses will come to an end tomorrow. We have been staying in the new 2 bedroom villa behind the beachhouses and we have all loved the open plan living area and the private pool. The villa design is perfect for 2 couples or perhaps a couple with teenagers as there are 2 bedrooms with double beds and outdoor ensuite bathrooms at either end of the house. This did not work so well for our daughters aged 8 and 9 who found it too far from mummy and daddy! A note to families with small children - this place would not work for you as the living area opens onto the pool and this would be a challenge with curious and active toddlers or younger kids
Breakfast was cooked freshly in our kitchen each morning and the staff can arrange transport, massage and day trips. The living area overlooks the rice fields, cows and chickens (and rooster who goes off from 4am) - very authentic. Gorgeous to sit in the living area looking across the fields to the sea and mountains watching the sun fade away.
Lovina is a blessed relief after the south of Bali as it is laid back and set against some gorgeous mountains. We did arrange a sunrise dolphin boat trip from Pascal on the beach for 60 000 each - well worth the early start as he took us away from the hoardes of tourist boats and we saw heaps of dolphins.
The beach at Lovina is a bit dodgy (but that is coming from an Australian) to look at but the water is warm and if you go out a little it is clear. The dark sand gets hot very quickly and I found it reassuring to wear my thongs into the water to avoid sharp shells, stones and unknowns.
Stock up on supplies before you get here - it is about 20 mins up the beach to the shops - but that is over boats, around chicken baskets and past lazy Lovina dogs - alternative is to walk up the road - same time just need to dodge cars and motorbikes on the narrow road. Remember this is Bali and there is always someone willing to drive you home with the Bintang!
All in all a good place to chill, the pool was a winner and pretty good value

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just had a great family holiday (2 adults 2 kids 8 & 11 yrs) in Bali and spent most of it at Lovina Beach Houses in the 3 bedroom villa. The return trip from south to north makes you feel like you really have seen Bali. We had a different route in each direction.Great drivers (organised by Lovina Beach Houses) who were very knowledgeable, fun, friendly and patient with our questions and regular stops! The villas are private, beautiful pool and facilities. The bathrooms have to be the most unique anywhere, lovely cobbled floors, semi open with lots of greenery. Staff are friendly and kind. We loved the location, close enough to town and the experience of the "real" Bali. Great cheap places to eat and party if you want to.
Thankyou Frans, Eddy, Adil, Ketut and the girls and of course Taka

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Second time round at Lovina Beach Houses. Great place to chill and relax, short walk to the restaurants and warungs. Kids loved playing on the beach, snorkelling and paddling around on the paddle boards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

this is a difficult one for me, we went as a couple in late may, took about almost 4 hrs from the airport, a very scenic route with loads of stunning scenery to the small town of Lovina up north, the beach houses are down a narrow bumpy road to the beach, we were the only guests at the time ( off season) so we had two nights at one of the front bungalows, because I'd mistakenly booked the Joglo house at the rear, no matter, they let us have the front one at no extra cost which we really appreciated very much, a lovely guesture indeed.It is very beach front like the other one there, nicely decorated, self catering kitchen, lovely pool ect, very dark inside the bedroom and could be a real noise problem had there had been other guests next door, they are very close together, having said that they are rather lovely,we were really quite relieved to move into the rear Joglo as the fact is you cannot lock up at bedtime, yes the bedroom door has a padlock but the rest of the house is open. We never realised what a problem the farm right next door could be apart from the noisy roosters and a large pig, we had stray cats and their kittens wandering in and jumping on the sofas, we had left our mobiles at home so we could not ring anyone to get rid of them as there are no phones in any the villas, I checked , as I said we were the only guests, as other people have said, no wifi, no english tv, no working dvd,ok if you like the quiete life, the beach at the front is a busy public one used by the villagers and fishermen and " vendors". We found it a bit unnerving to say the least,day three we moved into the Joglo at the back, now this was an improvement, a gated lovely garden out side with a beautifull pool, which is great compared to the awful black mucky beach at the front.We spent most days in the pool, the staff are very nice, Ketuts massage! oh please get one she is fantastic as were the two girls who do the rooms also Adil the night guy.They are all very helpfull,this little house was much better, ok it's not beach front but what's 50 meters?not a problem.I think other reviewers who mentioned the mozzies are correct but there is a farm next door with water containers so take some repellant,over all I think it's a fabulous position, very nice decore, very clean, wonderfull staff, well priced, for a holiday away from the crowds it's great but could be even better if they changed some of the points I made in this review, Another tip is to order take way from the resturants, they will deliver for a small fee, especially "The Starlight" along the beach, it's too dark at night to walk for 20 mins with a torch over the obstacles on the beach, Adil took us pair one at a time on his motorbike to that place and it' s very romantic sitting on a beach having beautifull food by candle light, highly recommended.When I said the beach is black and mucky with rubbish that's what it is folks I'm afraid, there again I live 2 mins from a white sandy beach in Australia, so maybe I;m biased?

Room Tip: choice of upstairs or down stairs bedrooms in the front villas, both lovely but too dark for us
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bignorrie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews