We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected..... in a few ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not what we expected..... in a few ways”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place did not live up to what my husband and I wanted for a romantic, private holiday, although there are many positive things to say about Lilin. I'll start with those. The position of the little hotel is fantastic - right on the beach and it has wonderful views. It feels like boutique accommodation and is laid back (but a bit too much for us). The fittings and linen in the rooms are really lovely and gives the feeling of a little beach house. The restaurant is also great and offers very unusual and tasty fare. The disappointing things (and we are 50 years of age and looking for comfort) are - there is no wardrobe, so you have no hanging space other than a rope in the corner of the room with a few hangers, the bed was so squeaky that as soon as one of us moved the other woke up and this went on all night, the bathroom had no shelving to put toiletries and our suitcases had to be pushed under the bed so that the room had some space around the bed. The little plunge pool offered no privacy, as they are right in front of everyone. This is all good for novice travellers but we desired more touches of comfort. What was the most disappointing, however, was that we travelled up to Lovina with my Aunt and Uncle who are in their 80s. My Uncle was not well and my Aunt wanted us to move to where they were staying as she felt very anxious and wanted us nearby. We explained this to Rikki, the owner, and she said she could not give us any refund to move. I have travelled for 30 years to Bali and this has never happened before - the Balinese are generous if anything like that happens and they are gracious when a change is needed (especially a family matter). We moved anyway, then took my Aunt and Uncle there for dinner the night we moved out and 'our' room had already been let, therefore doubling up the owner's money. We were still not offered even a night's refund or a free dinner. It left a bad taste in our mouths, as it just felt mean. For these reasons, we will not be recommending this place to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite noisy because it is on the road and near a mosque and you will be woken by the call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathkieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    97
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
87
131
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Riki, Brain, Sunny and the staff give you the feeling being home far from home. Service is their middle name. The food is great, rooms clean and designed with taste using materials of the island. At 18.00 hours they start making music, the reason for them to be there far from home. And there is the daugther of Riki and Brain, Zoey. She's 4 years old and a fine example of what adapting another culture means. Great place when you have kids who can play all day at the beach forgetting all the "i's" in life (I-Phone, Pad or Pod). And then the sunset of Lovina sitting on the terras at the sea, takes place in a few minutes but stays a life-time in your mind. Really a place to go!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

it's cool and private , we when 7 persons and books for 4 room , the room is nice except that there is no twin bed , which is not appropriate for friends that went together . it is awesome for honeymoon frost time or second whatsoever. Dinner is also delicious with Mediterranean style and light music from the American owner . The things that you could not miss is watching dolphin early morning and back to have breakfast . All are friendly, don't miss

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaraME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asse, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It’s impossible to describe the way we enjoyed this hotel, but we’ll try…

First, the staff is obviously well trained, professional and super friendly. They’re also very flexible, as in: you can ask them anything and they’ll try their best to please you. After they’ve met you once, they remember who you are and in which room you’re staying. They also drive you anywhere you want in Lovina, anytime you want, for free.

Secondly, the rooms are wonderful. Clean, spacious rooms, decorated in a clean, relaxing matter. They’re simple though luxurious.

Lastly, the atmosphere is breathtaking. You can simply relax and feel like a king or queen. You’ll also find several romantic touches, like e.g. the possibility to dine on the beach. This hotel’s charm is mostly in its size (small) and in their personal approach. No hotel chain feeling – luckily. Oh, and there’s a 24/7 security as well, makes you feel safe all the time!

The only (small) downside is the food. They serve “international food”, but it’s quite expensive and not that great. They mix several world cuisine’s flavors to one and it doesn’t work. They use a lot of sugar and fat (they say they cook for flavor, but there’s a difference between flavor and sugar). It’s just too difficult to serve good international food in Indonesia. We would suggest that they select some good, local dishes and add a few traditional international dishes to complete their menu. But no worries, you’ll find many good and cheap restaurants nearby.

In the end, we can say it might be a little expensive, but it’s definitely worth the money! It’s one of the best hotels we’ve ever been to, everyone should try this at least once in their lives: a little paradise within paradise. We wanted to stay there for like… forever. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCaroLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lilin is a lovely charming stylish boutique hotel right on the beach in Lovina Bali. The staff are really focused on ensuring that you are relaxed and well cared for.The beautiful setting is matched by the stylishly coordinated room interiors, simple but very inviting . We were embraced by a wonderful family atmosphere and impressed by the impressive musical talents of the owners who entertained us as the sun set on another great Bali experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta,indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lilin is a cool 7 bedrooms hotel! Went there with 4 kids age 5-13 years old, they love it! Breakfast was amazing with chocolate donuts and soufflé! What a crazy good combination... And the best part was the owners sang from 6-7PM, with sunset as background, and they did sing well!
Great for family! Smooth reservation and check out..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoy our stay at Lilin! First - the location right on the beach. Second - home atmosphere made by owners themselves! Third - live music by sun down performed by Owners again) Forth - the breakfast every day different prepared for you personally! Fifth - the room - simple Eco design with no TV and you private small cozy pool! Excellent friendly staff! Dolphins in the early mornings, snorkeling just in from of the hotel) The snorkel equipment is provided by hotel with no charge for. Children welcome - no additional charge for extra beds/breakfast etc. Be prepared for the very quiet area - for restaurants choice you have to go to Lovina center 10/15 minutes drive. Near Lilin we have bad experience or food... The beach with black sand around also must be cared about. Lilin's staff clean it but others no... Do not go to Agung's Spa - very bad service with unreasonable price. Do not miss the surrounding waterfalls!!! Definitely we will come back again ! Room tip: room 7 - most close to the beach, rooms 3/4 have complete privacy, rooms 1/2 - front view to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME_2000_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel

Property: Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Singaraja-Seririt, 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilin is a unique beachfront retreat on Bali's north coast. Private villas feature personal plunge pools, courtyard gardens and in-room spa treatments. Rooms have both AC and fan cooling, TVs and DVDs on request, free WiFi internet. Guests enjoy beachfront lounges for sunning, reading and relaxing. Savor the delight of Bali outdoor living and the comforts of home in these beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing