We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights there at Villa 1 the sea view 2 bedroom villa. It has 2 small plunge pool. The room facilities is just great, with a small basket with a water bottle in it! That's just nice of them. The let down is the toilet. One did not has a shower head and both has erratic hot water supply. Challenging for bathing a 1.5 year old. The Spa is very reasonably priced but the quality is not there, you do better to go outside. After 4 days of Indonesian breakfast, the breakfast at Lilin is just refreshing! 1st day we had sausage in a puff pastry, the next day a oven bake egg with green peppers. You don't get a choice but what the heck, it just tasted wonderful. Service is a bit erratic, we had coffee and tea pots with no covers and they forgot the juices for the kids. Booked the sunrise dolphin excursion and the pickup was right at the beach. Lovina beach is the definite place to relax compared to the very commercialised beaches at the south. The guy that own the place seems contented to leave the running to his staffs. we saw him both day but he appears aloof and the last day was even yelling at the staff right in the middle of the courtyard. Be warned, this place is far from the airport, we took more than 3 hours to breakneck speed to get to the airport, so plan ahead if this is your last stop.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has sea view but 2 small plunge pool the other 2 bedroom Villa has a nicer pool but no sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would give this hotel a rating of 3.5 out of 5. We stayed there for one night for our Lovina stop in the north of Bali. Lovina is a lovely and cosy black-sand beach. Unlike the big commercialised beaches around Nusa Dua, it's smaller and less touristy but it had its own charm. The Lilin is right on the beach and you just have to walk out of your villa, past the small hotel restaurant and you're on the beach.
The Lilin is a small establishment with only a few people running the place. You would see the friendly receptionist showing you to your room and helping out at the restaurant too. We liked the decor of the place very much - it had a cute and stylish modern beach vibe with blue, white and rattan, reminiscent of Greek decor However I'm quite a clean freak. It wasn't exactly dirty but the room could have been cleaner. Also there was quite a strong lingering bleach or detergent smell in the room which made it a bit uncomfortable for me. It was nice to have a small pool at our doorstep but it felt rather unclean and I was itchy so i didn't stay in it for long. My husband didn't mind though.
The restaurant is facing the beach and there was a band playing in the evening. The music was pretty good and we really appreciated the talent of the band. The menu was interesting and tried to be special. But the food was just so-so, although the portions were big; it was probably cooked up by the same person who served us so I was not surprised that it wasn't super delicious. I guess one can't expect too much and just gotta enjoy the music and ambience.
We signed up for the dolphin watching through the hotel. When we walked on the beach in the evening we were loudly approached by other boatmen to sign up with them. However when we went on our trip we were quite satisfied with our boatman. We were told by the reception that there would be life vests but when we got on the boat, I think the boatman forgot and by the time we asked he was already away from the shore. He said it would be fine as the sea was calm with the good weather, and I guess we just went with the flow and trusted him. The reason we liked our boatman was that he had a gentle disposition and did not chase after the dolphins aggressively whenever they surfaced, unlike some other boats. It was lovely to be out on the calm sea early in the morning to see the sunrise but having so many boats out there chasing dolphins, I felt kinda sorry for the dolphins. After awhile, we told him we had enough and wanted to go back. On the way back he stopped to show us the coral reef and fish, and he took out a bun to feed the fish. We were not sure if it's good for the eco system to feed the fish so we only threw a few obligatory bits. He asked if we wanted to snorkel but we didn't know beforehand and so were not prepared. He offered to bring us back so we could change and get the masks but we were leaving that morning and didn't really have the time.
Breakfast at the hotel was okay, decent but not fantastic. By then I wasn't expecting too much so it surpassed my expectation. It consisted of muffins, a hot dog pastry, fruits and the usual beverages. It was not a buffet but it was sufficient.
I would say that the Lilin is a small cozy hotel that's fairly good value for its price. Just manage your expectations and you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice team of people working at the hotel, friendly and service oriented.
Cleaning was Ok, but could have been deeper. We were at villa with two pools and one had no light, so we were only using one. In my opinion there were not enough long chairs to lay in the sun or at the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchulzSusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a beautiful place it is! On the beach, small little villas with a small pool for each one of them. Villa number 5 is more private, but villa number 1 has a sea view. Clean room, very fresh design. Little beach basket, water cooler and attention to little details, is something I appreciate.

Dinner was fantastic. not cheap. Breakfast was just OK, as we waited long time for it, and it had bacon in it-- which I do not eat.

Lovina is an amazing beach with its black sand and shallow water. mainly have locals. Sunrises and sunsets are drop dead gorgeous. There is a driver on site, that could drive you to the center if you chose to eat out, or wonder around. No charge, and five minutes away.

Most people go to lovina as the main attraction is the dolphin sunrise tour. It feels a bit dumb, as so many boats are chasing dolphins, instead of standing quietly in one place.

Next time in Lovina, I will most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Villa number 5 is more private, but villa number 1 has a sea view. All villas are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liat-geographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lilin beach hotel is an amazing place to stay. It's quite new, and is very nice designed. Every room has its own pool which is nice. Because of the big walls it is also quite private. The room is full with nice stuff, plenty of water (hot, normal or cold), fridge, hair dryer, enough towels, AC. And the location is the best: right at the beach. The city center is only a few minutes ride by scooter. Therefore, you have less noise. I definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisettekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It's very nice room, located on the beach, perfect place to sunrise and sunset! And has a plunge pool in front of your room.
In the room is very big, but good enough and has everything you needed, hairdryer, adaptor, mosquito repellant, even has a water dispenser.
Staff is very friendly and I love the breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lidong3921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have been meaning to write a review about our 'Lilin Lovina' experience for a while now. Brilliant accommodation for our family. Our 'villa' with adjacent parent/kids rooms, private pool and veranda was perfect for two adults and kids aged 14 and 16. Husband and I had the pleasure of experiencing Lovina 20 years ago and wanted to share this beautiful part of Bali with our kids. ( We had the most wonderful experiences on our magnificent drive from Ubud to Lovina- checkout the possibilities....we did). Lilin Lovin organised THE best, knowledgeable and most humane boat captain for us when we went out Dolphin Spotting, early one morning. They also organised a driver to take us to one of the best dive spots in Bali, where we had the best snorkelling experience. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at Lilin Lovina. However, the food was FAR too delicious....... Morning, noon, night and snack time!!!!! Everything we experienced was brilliant but by far, we enjoyed sitting and watching the Sunset at 45 degrees to the West and Sunrise at 45 degrees to the east. This phenomena only happens for a few months of the year. Really have not explained everything that we loved about Lilin Lovina.....but we would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badrod29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 26 in Lovina Beach
866 reviews
1 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 26 in Lovina Beach
558 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 26 in Lovina Beach
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#14 of 26 in Lovina Beach
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 26 in Lovina Beach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Seririt, 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: £26 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilin is a unique beachfront retreat on Bali's north coast. Private villas feature personal plunge pools, courtyard gardens and in-room spa treatments. Rooms have both AC and fan cooling, TVs and DVDs on request, free WiFi internet. Guests enjoy beachfront lounges for sunning, reading and relaxing. Savor the delight of Bali outdoor living and the comforts of home in these beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing