We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovin' Lilin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovin' Lilin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our 5th trip to Bali but first time we had ventured north and chose Lilin Lovina as our home for 4 nights. We had Villas 1&2 which were booked as a family room - consisted of two separate apartments of a large bedroom and separate bathroom. They didn't have internal connecting doors but both opened onto a large shared verandah with a small plunge pool for each room. Suited us perfectly with my husband and I in 1 room and 16yo daughter in the other.
Lilin is not the usual private villa as they open out onto a lovely shared grassed area across which is the small outdoor restaurant and a couple of lovely sitting areas with hammocks, comfy cushions, sunlounges and chairs and tables all overlooking the beach. There are only about 8 villas so even when full there were not alot of people around and always plenty of room to get a seat by the beach.
The rooms were simply furnished with fantastically comfy bed and chair, bar fridge and a quaint hanging contraption made of rope and bamboo (this was the only 'wardrobe' but seriously who has clothes that need hanging up when you are in Bali!)
There was no television in the room but when we mentioned it a television, dvd player with selection of DVDs and an Ipod dock were promptly delivered without us asking for them.
All the staff were great - especially Peter and Kadek who seemed to be the ones in charge and with the best English. Lilin is quite a long walk from the main eating/market area in Lovina but they offer a free shuttle service anytime until 9pm at night. We used this a couple of times a day and it was fantastic - just had to ask at reception and the vehicle and driver were available within minutes. We would then phone them to be picked up or you could set a time and place for them to come back and get you.
Breakfast was a set menu with a different sweet and savoury option every morning - some interesting dishes on offer but every morning included fresh juice and a lovely fruit platter so if the cooked offerings didn't appeal you still had plenty.
The evening meal menu also looked interesting but a bit confusing to order - we steered away from it and ate in Lovina every night until our last when we couldn't be bothered going out. What a lovely surprise - the spread we received at Lilin was amazing, so much food and all really tasty and well presented. Wished we'd had another chance to dine there!
There are locals on the beach that offer massages and the usual sarongs/necklaces/carved dolphins. They will call out to you or try and engage in conversation while you are relaxing or having a meal - this was a little annoying (only 2-3 at a time though) but once you said no they would leave you along until the next day! I had a couple of great massages from Sari and of course bought a sarong and carved dolphin while we were there!
All in all our stay at Lilin Lovina was great - such a lovely relaxing place to spend our last few days in Bali. We didn't want to leave. The WiFi was great too.
I did take a bag of clothes to the laundry directly across the road - when I collected it and unpacked it back at the Villa there were 2 of my daughters nice tops missing. I went straight back to ask about them but she was adamant that I got all of the items I had left there back. A coincidence that only the nicest of my daughters tops didn't return? Who knows. I have always used the 'home laundries' in various place across Bali and this is the first time that has happened so a real shame.
If we ever venture back to Lovina we would certainly look at Lilin Lovina to call home again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    97
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
87
127
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've been to the Lilin Beach Hotel for 4 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel has arranged a pick up car from the Denpasar Airport. Arriving at the hotel – 3 hours later we were greeted with the best "karma" that Bali has and quickly got our room, which is a small bungalow with a small swimming pool - and terrace with table and hanging bed - private yet in contact with the "surrounding world" and look to the beach. Lilin is a small and intimate beach hotel, where you have time to get into conversation with several guests and staff. Everyone is smiling and friendly welcoming - not just at the hotel - but generally the area. There is outdoor seating in the evening - actually on the beach - and Lilin has probably the best lounge music at the beach in Bali - live every night - an hour during dinner, between 6-7 pm, when the sun goes down. Great experience. A general good beach, with little stones for the more inexperienced swimmers and with many opportunities for boating, snorkeling, dolphin tours etc, if you do not just want to laze on the beach with a cocktail and a good book. Free transportation for instance from and to the hotel to the nearby "Center" where there are lot of small restaurants, shows that Lilin want to make your stay as good as possible. Overall a very pleasant stay which can only be recommended, if you want some days away from the hard beat and life in Kuta. Thanks to all Lilin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were beyond delighted with our stay at Lilin Lovina in June 2014. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we'd booked for another couple of nights!
The 'resort' is small, I'd say boutique. I could see only 7 rooms, each with a semi-private plunge pool (each room has their own pool but it is not completely walled off, so you probably wouldn't consider skinny dipping!). All the rooms form a semi-circle around a central grass area, on the other side of which is a few lounges and the small boutique dining area, on the other side of this is the beach!! It is a black sand beach with tiny waves lapping at the shore, not a surf beach. The grounds of Lilin Lovina are perfectly quiet and serene. There was usually one person on the beach trying to sell things in the morning but they weren't very persistent, so we were largely un-harassed the whole time. The rooms were bright, clean, new and comfortable and they even had a water cooler so we could drink all the clean water we wanted!! How thoughtful!!
The breakfast was a set menu, but this changed every morning, and each meal was cooked fresh for you, no buffet-style food that's been sitting around all morning. Also, the dinner menu looked unusual, so we gave it a miss and ate in town the first night. The next night we ate at the restaurant and were blown away by how good the meals were - definitely give it a try!! Each night there was free entertainment. The nights we were there this consisted of live jazz tunes on the beach, simply amazing, with the sunset in the background, lounging on a cushion, drinking cocktails... ahhh how I cant wait to go back!!
I would definitely recommend this place, it ticked all my boxes and more!! I would recommend if you do the dolphin tour in the morning then organise for the boat driver to stop and let you snorkel some spots on the way back, it's about 200 metres off shore - a bit far to swim, but looked amazing! Defintely worth the few dollars it cost.
'Peter' seemed to be running the place when we were there and his service was second to none, he kept very good attention to detail and I hope he is still there when we return!
If you are thinking of visiting Lovina then do it sooner rather than later. I think they are planning an airport here, and if that eventuates then this will probably be the next Kuta, what a disappointment that would be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alibozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights there at Villa 1 the sea view 2 bedroom villa. It has 2 small plunge pool. The room facilities is just great, with a small basket with a water bottle in it! That's just nice of them. The let down is the toilet. One did not has a shower head and both has erratic hot water supply. Challenging for bathing a 1.5 year old. The Spa is very reasonably priced but the quality is not there, you do better to go outside. After 4 days of Indonesian breakfast, the breakfast at Lilin is just refreshing! 1st day we had sausage in a puff pastry, the next day a oven bake egg with green peppers. You don't get a choice but what the heck, it just tasted wonderful. Service is a bit erratic, we had coffee and tea pots with no covers and they forgot the juices for the kids. Booked the sunrise dolphin excursion and the pickup was right at the beach. Lovina beach is the definite place to relax compared to the very commercialised beaches at the south. The guy that own the place seems contented to leave the running to his staffs. we saw him both day but he appears aloof and the last day was even yelling at the staff right in the middle of the courtyard. Be warned, this place is far from the airport, we took more than 3 hours to breakneck speed to get to the airport, so plan ahead if this is your last stop.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has sea view but 2 small plunge pool the other 2 bedroom Villa has a nicer pool but no sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would give this hotel a rating of 3.5 out of 5. We stayed there for one night for our Lovina stop in the north of Bali. Lovina is a lovely and cosy black-sand beach. Unlike the big commercialised beaches around Nusa Dua, it's smaller and less touristy but it had its own charm. The Lilin is right on the beach and you just have to walk out of your villa, past the small hotel restaurant and you're on the beach.
The Lilin is a small establishment with only a few people running the place. You would see the friendly receptionist showing you to your room and helping out at the restaurant too. We liked the decor of the place very much - it had a cute and stylish modern beach vibe with blue, white and rattan, reminiscent of Greek decor However I'm quite a clean freak. It wasn't exactly dirty but the room could have been cleaner. Also there was quite a strong lingering bleach or detergent smell in the room which made it a bit uncomfortable for me. It was nice to have a small pool at our doorstep but it felt rather unclean and I was itchy so i didn't stay in it for long. My husband didn't mind though.
The restaurant is facing the beach and there was a band playing in the evening. The music was pretty good and we really appreciated the talent of the band. The menu was interesting and tried to be special. But the food was just so-so, although the portions were big; it was probably cooked up by the same person who served us so I was not surprised that it wasn't super delicious. I guess one can't expect too much and just gotta enjoy the music and ambience.
We signed up for the dolphin watching through the hotel. When we walked on the beach in the evening we were loudly approached by other boatmen to sign up with them. However when we went on our trip we were quite satisfied with our boatman. We were told by the reception that there would be life vests but when we got on the boat, I think the boatman forgot and by the time we asked he was already away from the shore. He said it would be fine as the sea was calm with the good weather, and I guess we just went with the flow and trusted him. The reason we liked our boatman was that he had a gentle disposition and did not chase after the dolphins aggressively whenever they surfaced, unlike some other boats. It was lovely to be out on the calm sea early in the morning to see the sunrise but having so many boats out there chasing dolphins, I felt kinda sorry for the dolphins. After awhile, we told him we had enough and wanted to go back. On the way back he stopped to show us the coral reef and fish, and he took out a bun to feed the fish. We were not sure if it's good for the eco system to feed the fish so we only threw a few obligatory bits. He asked if we wanted to snorkel but we didn't know beforehand and so were not prepared. He offered to bring us back so we could change and get the masks but we were leaving that morning and didn't really have the time.
Breakfast at the hotel was okay, decent but not fantastic. By then I wasn't expecting too much so it surpassed my expectation. It consisted of muffins, a hot dog pastry, fruits and the usual beverages. It was not a buffet but it was sufficient.
I would say that the Lilin is a small cozy hotel that's fairly good value for its price. Just manage your expectations and you won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Préverenges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice team of people working at the hotel, friendly and service oriented.
Cleaning was Ok, but could have been deeper. We were at villa with two pools and one had no light, so we were only using one. In my opinion there were not enough long chairs to lay in the sun or at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchulzSusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a beautiful place it is! On the beach, small little villas with a small pool for each one of them. Villa number 5 is more private, but villa number 1 has a sea view. Clean room, very fresh design. Little beach basket, water cooler and attention to little details, is something I appreciate.

Dinner was fantastic. not cheap. Breakfast was just OK, as we waited long time for it, and it had bacon in it-- which I do not eat.

Lovina is an amazing beach with its black sand and shallow water. mainly have locals. Sunrises and sunsets are drop dead gorgeous. There is a driver on site, that could drive you to the center if you chose to eat out, or wonder around. No charge, and five minutes away.

Most people go to lovina as the main attraction is the dolphin sunrise tour. It feels a bit dumb, as so many boats are chasing dolphins, instead of standing quietly in one place.

Next time in Lovina, I will most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Villa number 5 is more private, but villa number 1 has a sea view. All villas are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liat-geographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#5 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel

Property: Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Singaraja-Seririt, 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilin is a unique beachfront retreat on Bali's north coast. Private villas feature personal plunge pools, courtyard gardens and in-room spa treatments. Rooms have both AC and fan cooling, TVs and DVDs on request, free WiFi internet. Guests enjoy beachfront lounges for sunning, reading and relaxing. Savor the delight of Bali outdoor living and the comforts of home in these beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing