We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but very far away, terrible service and very overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hamsa Bali Resort
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great views but very far away, terrible service and very overpriced”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for two nights and regretted it. The hotel looks lovely and the views are lovely, however it is a proper mission to get to - which is fine because we anticipated that, but the road was a lot worse than i imagined though not impossible to ride a scooter.

The issues i have are with the way the hotel is run.. for starters there is no reception area, we got there and our safe broke with our stuff inside, we tried to reach someone but couldnt find anyone because the place is so understaffed. We managed to get it open and asked for another one but they fixed ours and gave it back hours later. The room was clean, the kitchen area was clean-ish but the fridge was switched off and empty. The shower area was tiny and very humid.

The breakfast was good though very tight, we missed it on the first day and asked for an extra bowl of fuit the next but they wouldnt give it to us. We had to have dinner at the hotel both nights because of the cost to get there on a cab and the food was good, although very very expensive - -the most expensive dinners we had in bali and gili islands. They charge for 5 star food but it was good to average and tiny portions.

The place felt really empty - we had someone come pick us up at 5am to go watch the dolphins and at 5am we had these 2 guys knocking on our window and i figured one of them was a security guy with the driver from the dolphin company, but they were both drivers - meaning they just walked in at 5am and went straight into our room..

Overall we just felt left alone in the hotel and the service was terrible. I dont expect people to chat to you etc etc when youre in a hotel, but if im paying what i paid there i would like to have a phone in the room to call reception (there wasnt one so you had to walk all the way down to the restaurant to try and find someone), i would like to have a minifridge working and hopefully stocked up and at least a degree of customer service. It was a let down in our honeymoon and i wont be coming back..

Room Tip: choose a room close to the restaurant because its a bit of a walk - or close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    47
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
14
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Firstly the hotel is about a 4-5 hour journey from the airport due to the very steep and windy road not 3.5 hours like stated on the hotels website. We didn't get to see anything of the hotels surroundings when we checked in because it was pitch black but when we woke up in the morning the 4 hour car journey was worth it because it was beautiful.
The hotel is tiny with just 6 huts and a restaurant, but it's nice and relaxing. The food is lovely and the staff are very attentive and friendly.
The rooms are very traditional and private and extremely clean and well maintained.
We could only find two faults with the hotel as a whole , the first being that they give you a mosquito net (which you defiantly need unless you don't mind bugs) but nothing to hang it on. And secondly that the hotel is quite a distance from most places so you always need to use the hotels taxi to get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aded1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here using a deal we bought online and had never been to the area before. It is set high in the hills with a spectacular view of the ocean, the resort itself is only small with 3 different types of accommodation. We stayed in a bungalow which was nicely presented and close to one of the 2 pools. Positives- the view, the wonderful staff, outstanding spa( best massage), free yoga daily, tranquility. I would recommend The Hamsa for a romantic getaway as it is very isolated and costly to get to town. Not really suitable for a couple of friends that like to explore. Some improvements- the food is very bland, need to spice it up. There are no fridges or tea/ coffee making facilities in the bungalows. The beds are typical hard Bali mattresses. Transport to town very expensive, a free shuttle would be appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Far off the beaten track in the hills north of Lovina. Stunning view and atmosphere, poor food.
Absolutely recommendable when trying to disconnect and relax.
150.000 Rupiah to get to the city and back with private driver.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooftopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Just what I was looking for and more. Hamsa rooms were v.private and beautiful decorated. But the best part of it all was the friendliest staff and their service. They arranged beautiful private pool side dinner for us upon request as well as they were always helpful. We will definitely go there again in future. Perfect for private romantic holiday. They even courier my contact lens back to Singapore within 1week after I left it behind and they didnt even charge for that. Only down side is that it does not have aircon which might be problem for some... but I didnt mind it much.

Room Tip: Take bungalow As if possible. better view of sea almost 120 deg..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were in Hamsa last month. We reached Lovina after a tiring trip from the Denpasar airport but once we entered the resort, the place took our breath away.
The view from the rooms is amazing. The service and hospitality of the staff exceeded our expectations. My boy friend left his custom made lenses at the hotel room but the staff and the manager couriered it to us in Singapore.
We had a complimentary massage at the resort that was pretty good. The rooms were neat and tidy and we could get hotel pick up and drop quite easily by the tour agents in lovina although this place is secluded, thus the location was not an issue.
We missed the early morning yoga classes but the other visitors told us that they are really good.
I would love to visit this place again in the next few years

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrithaSaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived in the Hamsa and the first feeling was great!
What a beautiful view and nice staff who welcome us with a coconut.
This place was wonderful to relax and enjoy our holiday.
The rooms are very clean and look really nice and to have two swimming pools in this resort is great, especially with the view of the ocean.
The kitchen is really good, we were looking forward when we could have a meal again.
And when you wake up its a opportunity to do some yoga, wich is nice to start the day.
There are also many options to see the environment, like snorkling, see tempels and watching dolphins

I recommend this resort and i would love to come back someday!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
296 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamsa Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamsa Bali Resort

Property: The Hamsa Bali Resort
Address: Jalan Air Terjun Sing Sing, 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hamsa Bali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept health resort in Lovina, Bali on an unique location. Enjoy the amazing panorama view, the delicious food, Yoga and the Ayuvedic spa all with the feeling of being in a jack johnson video clip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Zenrooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hamsa Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamsa Bali Resort Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing