We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget rooms are dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for one night, and that night was one of the most expensive of al our stay's in Bali.
We had a budget room with only a fan.

The hotel grounds are really nice, and the staff is welcoming. But the room was a bit of a disappointment. To us it felt like we were thrown back into 1984. Everything looked very worn.

Swimmingpool looked tempting, but unfortunalty did not get a change to jump in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Justin-case-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review. You are judging on price, so let me make some comments on that. Our hotel is set in over one hectares of tropical gardens in the center of Lovina, with two pools, spa, restaurant, fitness centre, playgrounds for children + quite a bit more. You paid only USD45.00 for a room. When you booked it you new it was only a ceiling fan cooled room. We have many options of my luxury rooms. These budget rooms all have brand new pillow topped mattresses and are well maintained like all our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are staying at the Rambutan now.

Great location, very close to the beach, restaurants, spas etc. but still quiet.

The grounds are beautiful, great gardens and two pools with both lounge chairs and bales to relax in.

I had wanted to book a deluxe room but none were available so ended up with a superior which is fine. Lots of room, quirky bathroom, comfortable bed, in room safe and a balcony to chill out on.

There are a couple of minor things that would make the stay better. - and really wouldn't take much to fix. Our toilet has a huge crack in the seat, the towel rail is falling down, the towels are threadbare and the nasi goreng at breakfast was cold. None of these are deal breakers, but a bit of attention to detail could lift the experience.

Overall though I would recommend this as a value for money option and would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and intend to come back again. I have tried to find the toilet you are talking about but can’t any seat with a crack but I guess my maintenance has replaced the seat. We have recently just purchased over a 100 new towels, so that should solve that problem. Hope to see you back soon and remember for direct booking with us we can give you a good generous discount for a return customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Rambutan Boutique Hotel for about 3 nights.
Its a very nice and quiet place. We stayed in a Villa-room, which is realy big. You have a realy nice bed and the bathroom ist just awesome, build fulli with stones and you can take a shower outside if you like !
The food ist just allright, but there realy mutch restaurants arround where you can go for realy good dining. The included Breakfest ist normal for Bali standarts, its nothing special but still allright!.
Its an very clean place. I would not recommend to stay there with kids, as this is more an couple / solo hotel, its for relaxing and have holiday. There 2 nice pools arround, which could give the kids some activity but thats all.

You will need to drive by bus to Rambutan, it takes about 2 - 3 hours from kuta, you best choice is to go by perama travel, as this is the most cheapest and most professional way to get there. You will have a stop over in ubut if you like, which I realy recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0m1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for the review and we are very pleased you loved it here. Hope to see you back one day soon. For direct booking with us we offer discounts, especially for return customers like yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Rambutan is beautifully landscaped hotel with friendly staff.

Our stay was slightly spoilt by poor organization on the hotels behalf. We arrived mid-afternoon and asked if we could book the sunrise dolphin tour. We were told yes so we began really looking forward to. It wasn't until 10pm that we received a knock on our door to let us know that they hadn't checked if there was space for us when they took our booking and the tour was full. Because it was soo late, it meant we didn't have the option to find another tour agency to do the tour with and as we only stayed one night, we missed out. This isn't good enough, we expect that a hotel will check spaces or be aware of how many spaces are left in tours before signing guests up to the tours.

The food at the restaurant was also not great, they are a typical restaurant in Bali where unqualified chefs are trying too hard to cater for every option. We ate dinner there and had Indonesian dishes and western dishes, the food was pretty awful. Breakfast was about the same. At least the bread for breakfast was at least not sweet so we were happy with that.

Despite this, we would return but choose to eat elsewhere and book our own tours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

sorry about the mistake with the dolphin tour, our apologies and when you return we will offer you a free tour on our behalf. Mistakes do happen and the time you were here was very much busy season.

Regarding the restaurant, this restaurant does very well and is also very busy during the peak season. Sorry if it was not up to your standard but at least you have many choices close by.

look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and this time was with my 14 year old daughter and several friends on Friday 11th July. As usual we had a great stay here. Upon arrival we were notified that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was just steps from the main pool and restaurant. One of my friends was also sharing our room and we were pleasantly surprised with how big the room was. It was large enough that we had 2 queen size beds and a single and still had ample room. We enjoyed a late lunch in the restaurant that was very nice. A few of our group had stayed here previously however we did have a few first timers and we all enjoyed our short time here. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value accommodation in central Lovina. We will definitely stay here the next time we return to Lovina, Thanks Richard and Tini for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you Jacqui for another review. We love having your groups come every year. Your charity work you do up in this poor part of Bali is much appreciated by the locals and is wonderful to see. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A delightful hotel in absolutely beautiful gardens, off the main road and set in spacious gardens with two swimming pools a great place to relax and enjoy a drink and a meal. The room was spacious and spotless clean, the restaurant has a good selection to choose from.
The best part is the staff who are friendly and the hosts are a mine of tourist information. Definitely worth a stay when in Lovina.

Room Tip: A deluxe room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for coming back once again to Rambutan. We really appreciate having return customers and this is what makes running a small hotel so much fun.You have not only become friends with all of us at Rambutan but you also helped one young girl immensely by paying for an operation on her eye in Australia. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Priceworthy
Very nice! owners that gave us very good advices of where to eat and go on motorbike tour. (just friendly. Did not wanna earn money like most of people here in lovina)
I think familys will enjoy a lot. Ok for couples...
Bathroom enough clean to feel clean...:)
Good to have motorbike.
Last year i had horrible experience of hotel in lovina... Rambutan changed that

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Glad you enjoyed your time at our place and we were able to give you good advice. I am sure you enjoyed your riding experience in the stunning hills close by. Look forward to seeing you back again and remember to book direct with us for a good discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 24 in Lovina Beach
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#13 of 24 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovina Beach Hotel
Lovina Beach Hotel
#14 of 24 in Lovina Beach
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Mawar, 9999, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lovina Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: £19 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambutan is situated in Lovina, the north of Bali and is family run and owned by Richard and Tini. The hotel is set in a large tropical garden with flowering shrubs and shady exotic fruit tree's. Facilities include two swimming pools,a Spa massage complex incorporating a fitness area and meeting Yoga and music room. Pool table and badminton court also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambutan Boutique Hotel Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing