We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Had a great time over new year staying at this hotel. New Year's Eve was wonderfully entertaining with balinese dancing and a cabaret type show- and fantastic food. Always a pleasure to come back to this spotless well run hotel- especially if you are a single traveller. Met some fascinating guests from all over the world. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Richard and Tini. In fact have already booked for next Jan.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    191
    75
    22
    10
See reviews for
138
238
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Situated on the north coast, some two and half to three hours drive from the airport over a spectacular, if tortuous, mountain road, Lovina is a relatively quiet village populated by a predictable array of bars, eateries and (mainly) craft shops. Situated along a volcanic sand beach with ricefields and a mountain backdrop, it is also a place for dolphin watching, snorkelling, walking or just relaxing. There are numerous small and large places to stay, some of which show distinct signs of neglect.

Rambutan is a clear exception. This is a well-maintained and deceptively spacious resort property operated by a family who live on-site. The accommodation ranges from self-contained and air-conditioned Balinese style cottages through larger suites to a two story, two bedroom, two bathroom house, all at very reasonable rates. Although the rooms and villas are situated close together, the garden layout and general quietness of the property conveys a feeling of peace and privacy.

Ground-level accommodation features outdoor bathrooms while all have private decks or balconies which blend into the gardens. There is no shortage of bath or pool towels and the servicing of rooms is prompt, efficient and unobtrusive.

There are numerous places to eat within a few minutes walk. Quality varies but none is expensive and many are almost ludicrously inexpensive. 'Tropica' near the beachfront and the Thai ' Jasmine Kitchen' are two that offer good food in pleasant surroundings and the tiny Warun Apple provides tasty local dishes. The main shortcoming, which applies right across Bali, is an absence of reasonable quality wine as a consequence of excessively high government taxes. The few imports are grossly overpriced and generally represent bottom shelf labels which only emphasises their high cost. The locally grown and bottled products are to be avoided at all times and improve neither with quantity nor any amount of food. Similarly, the nearby shops, spread over three main streets, range from makeshift to boutique and there is a very good silversmith located adjacent to the Rambutan property. ATMs are also located close by.

The staff at Rambutan are typically courteous, helpful and pleasant and include a driver who can be booked for airport transfers in a comfortable air-conditioned vehicle. Breakfast in the airy poolside restaurant is pleasant and offers a reasonable choice, however, the food available during the day and at dinner is a disappointment, both in choice and quality. It may be that the effort required to match the better commercial food
outlets in the surrounding streets is uneconomic but the choice and presentation of poolside snacks warrants serious review. It should also be noted that this visit took place in the low season.

These minor criticisms aside, Rambutan is an attractive, comfortable and very relaxing place to stay for Bali visitors seeking to avoid the uncontrollable traffic, general seediness and crush of the Kuta/Denpasar areas. It offers excellent value for money and an escape from the busy outside world.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terwencus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahasarakham Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2011

For many years I come to this hotel, and planning for next month again.
It is relaxing with a nice friendly staff who is always helpful.
Sometimes in the evening we play badminton together what is a lot of fun
There is a nice restaurant with good food, and if you not want to eat there , on walking distance you can find many restaurants.
A big swimming pool in a nice tropical garden.
From here it is easy to make trips, diving trips or go around to see the nice scenery of the rice fields, hot spring, Bird-park etc etc . many nice temples
For the children many to see and to do
You will have a nice holiday in my opinion better then in Thailand but that is none to many travelers

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

The rooms were spotless, the gardens beautiful and the overall ambience perfect for a family holiday. The restaurant offered both western and local food and the staff were both couteous and attentive. We wanted to explore the area and found that the hotel could arrange everything for us. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonh137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The unfriendliness and generally unwelcomign attitude of teh staff made us feel very uncomfortable while we were at the hotel, as though we were being a nuisance. At breakfast both days of our stay we were served tea in a pot with a many broken spout that had been glued together. the rooms were large and ok, the bathroom bizarre, the gardens were pretty - it would all have seemed a lot better if the staff could manage to smile!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chodzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buluan, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Thank you Hua Hin for your feedback, which certainly surprises us and makes us feel disappointed about your experience. We understand the most important thing is staff friendliness and I make that a major point when talking to my staff. We usually get positive feedback from customers about our staff being friendly but it seems in your case you did not experience this, so we apologize for this. When you stayed here we did have quite a few school kids on work experience, so it might have been that but it is still not an excuse on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2011

recently my husband and i stayed here, we where delighted with the beautiful atmosphere and baliense themed grounds. We had the pleasure of staying in a deluxe room, which was more than adequate and beautifully hand crafted bathroom. We spent most of our time lying around the pool area with lovely food and cocktails, and when needing entertainment, we played pool and other fun activities (which the owners did not mind organising for us, including transport). the food was fantastic and we ate at the restaurant plenty of times, enjoying every meal placed in front of us ( and when feeling unsocial we had food on our balcony, and staff was only too happy to bring to room). I did notice that on the grounds are animals of various kinds, such as ducks, dogs and the random frog) the animals where very pleasant and we had no issues with any of the animals, however the frogs can be a little loud at times. all together i rate this trip as one of my favorite places and would not hesitate to return and encourage friends and family to visit. the owners richard and teeni where so wonderful and made our holiday even more exceptional.. we also visited spa and had many treatments, which where not only relaxing but very well priced, i recommend the coconut scrub and chocolate treatment which included a great masssage.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklingsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I booked one of the Superior rooms via email -- the booking process was straightforward, and Richard responded to my messages promptly.

The rooms are nicely decorated, and the bathroom is extraordinarily pretty. The beds are comfortable, and the balcony is a green, leafy, quiet place to read or snooze. I loved the two pools, and the choices for breakfast were excellent.

I think a previous visitor commented about 'smelly dogs.' Yes, there are dogs. They are bouncy, affectionate (without being obtrusive), happy dogs. They don't approach the guests unless invited. The Rambutan web site includes photos of them, so no one should be surprised to find them there. That just seems like a spurious complaint to me.

I did not take advantage of the spa so can't comment upon it, but I was very pleased indeed with my stay at Rambutan and would recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulltimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovina Beach Hotel
Lovina Beach Hotel
#13 of 23 in Lovina Beach
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Property: Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Address: Jalan Mawar, 9999, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lovina Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambutan is situated in Lovina, the north of Bali and is family run and owned by Richard and Tini. The hotel is set in a large tropical garden with flowering shrubs and shady exotic fruit tree's. Facilities include two swimming pools,a Spa massage complex incorporating a fitness area and meeting Yoga and music room. Pool table and badminton court also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambutan Boutique Hotel Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing