We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at Damai in one of their fantastic pool villa's. It was our first holiday with our daughter on 6 month and Damai did not disappoint us. Damai is beatifully placed and have a fantastic decor that add to the relaxing and laid back holiday feeling. Beside the beatiful location another fantastic asset to Damai are the staff, they are pampering the guests with a genuine smile and a feeling about that they love what they do. Beside that our daughter was delighted about all the attention from the staff. We can only highly recommend a stay at Damai.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Sebastian,
Thank you for your kind review which I have shared with all the staff. The staff enjoyed assisting look after you daughter which was joy. We look forward to receive Mettte,Alba and you in the near future.Warm Regards from the Damai family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    80
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
526
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oestrich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

no valu for the money you are going to spend - the pictures you see on their webpages are taken from their Pool villas, the superior villas are disapointing.
We cannt recommend the Damai: far away from everything nice and interesting, very small, no places to sit and unwind or relax,
The so called "superior villas" are very small, the worst thing are the tiny verandahs, hardly big enough for two chairs - and the Damai provide on top of that very uncomfortable ones, where it is impossible to sit and enjoy the place. Pool is also very small, you are always in contact wiith the other guest and even if tthe Hotel is so small ist feels crowded. Thhe staff always want to sell - Spa treatments, chauffeur driven car, transport to next hotel, - we didnt liked that
quite nice are the huge but very expensive pool villas.
And: Lovina is quite a boring place, cheap shops and restaurants all over, better go to Pemuteran and stay there in one of the many beautiful hotels there. What we loved on our trip: the Como Shhambala in Ubud - most beautiful hotel we stayed

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraOestrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Damai takes all guest reviews seriously and we ensure we identify the guests that put this review.
However we cannot track your identity and hence the delay in putting in this response.
We truly hope you can send an email to gm@damai.com with the names and date you stayed. This is truly appreciated.

I must say we were totally taken aback by your comments. I must say they do seem far remote from the reality I encounter every day.

Part of it, I am sure is due to misunderstandings.

I would like to point out that the unit you stayed in is our most affordable room category. It is a modest 42 sq.m. room, decorated with antiques of surprising quality. We have two of those and we use them mostly in high season for people who would like to experience the hotel, but find the other units too large or beyond what they wish to spend. In light of your comments, on the website, our pictures are not labeled which misled you to make assumptions on the pool villa. We now inform all those making a booking in Superior to request for a room picture and will update in relevant websites we sell this room category.

Your comments about our staff tells me that some of the misunderstandings might be due to language barriers. If the communication skills of our staff has failed in this instance I apologize, but anyone who has ever been to Bali will know that the Balinese are naturally polite, gracious and soft-spoken.

We always enquire from quests that arrive by themselves how and when they wish to leave the resort. You will find this is a standard practice for hotels of our type, and it is by no means motivated by any wish to sell transfers (which we sell at cost, by the way). Even though people say we are hard to leave, we try to make it easy.

I do in part blame myself for your comments about North Bali. Us being 'far away from anything nice or interesting' is a matter of opinion. Factually North Bali is home to some of the most iconic and photographed sights of the island, and Damai is the perfect vantage point to explore these - and also find your own hidden gems. The best way - and in the North, the only way - to see them is by private car. I am sorry if the communications skills of our staff made this sound advice seem like a sales pitch, but in light of your comment, a private car might have been the best option for you.

I fully agree with you that the shops in the nearby area of Lovina are very inexpensive. They tend to be mostly local handicrafts shops, run by people from the mountain villages, but I am sure they will disappoint if you expect luxury items or international brands. This of course is a question of temperament.
For me this just adds to the charm.

Trip advisor reviews are all about how best to meet guest satisfaction and continue improving on this. No hotel is perfect, no destination is also free from being criticized, it is all about learning continuously and improving and the person going on holiday doing more research on their destination that best meet their approval.

Best Regards
M.G.Menon, General Manager, The Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I went to Damai Villa last month and I'm fall in love with this place. The room was nature and comfortable. When i walked around the hotel, the air was very fresh and the green view of forest was very beautiful. But the best moment is breakfast time beacuse i could enjoy my food in the morning with fresh air and tasty food. And 1 more thing, their service was very friendly. if i got a off day, Damai Villa was my first place to go to spend my holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veliecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Velicia
The staff of Damai were thrilled to read this review and on behalf of the Damai family we thank you and look forward to your next stay. Warm Regards The Damai Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My stay in Damai was UNBELIEVABLE!!! This is without any doubt the best hotel I ever had!!!
The villa with private pool (with an amazing view), the very helpfull staff and the exquisite cuidome (bali's best)...
Not to miss if you're in Bali!!!
Eddy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Eddy, thank you for writing this review which was shared with all staff at Damai. Warm Regards from all of us at The Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Damai for five days - and oh what glorious days. We had booked a pool villa which exceeded our expectations by far (and they were high!). The interior decor in the villa was unbelievably pretty, as taken straight out of Elle Decoration Magazine. The pool itself was gorgeous and infinity style with a sweeping view over Lovina Bay.

Our package included a sunset cruise including one of Damai's splendid herb-infused cocktails. At the cruise we say at least 30 playful dolphins :-)

The food at Damai is a chapter of it's own: Well prepared, creatively interpreted dishes and beautifully arranged. Veggies, herbs and fruits derive from Damai's own gardens.

We also booked a cooking class which was great fun. Executive chef Nyoman took us to the market, a great and authentic experience with no other tourists, and hereafter we created some nice basic Indonesian dishes in the nice outdoor pavilion - a must-do! We also joined the free yoga class, which was fun, and had a lot of massages which were money well spent.

We can warmly recommend this place - a true Balinese gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou and Dav... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us - we love honeymooners :) - and hope to be able to welcome you back for your anniversary.. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent 3 luxurious nights at the Damai and it was absolutely incredibly amazing on every level :) Our every need was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. The Damai has a certain feel that can only be experienced by being there. The food was sensational, the private villa is a dream (with great beds) the gardens beautiful and tranquil, massage the best we have ever had, sunset stunning, the cooking class/market trip with the head Chef Nyoman was fabulous, best Mojito cocktail ever using organic mint grown in the gardens of the hotel....... I cannot recommend the Damai highly enough and we will most definitely go back. 'Hard to find hard to leave' - is the perfect tag line for this superb property! Go there......

Room Tip: Every room is good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Sally, Thank you for this very kind words which I have shared with all the staff and Chef Nyoman. He is truly appreciate of this compliments and we look forward to seeing you and your family & friends to Damai. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed at some of best hotels across the world and I can honestly say that The Damai is at the very top of that list. Everything is tastefully decorated with subtle elegance and with a real feeling of luxury. Our villa was simply stunning. Again very beautifully decorated with clever use of Balinese antiques whilst still managing a clean and modern feel. The private infinity pool was gorgeous. The food was of the highest quality and had a good mix of european and asian dishes. However, what really makes this place stand out are the staff. Every member of the team made us feel special. There was a true warmth and friendliness that just made you feel relaxed and at home. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth every penny! Beautifully decorated and luxurious. Try the cocktails. Bali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taychr1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
190 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
862 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing