We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved the Damai, we stayed in a small villa and found it had plenty of room and all the mod cons you needed, it was beautifully decorated and from the fabulous breakfasts we had in our room to the turndown service at night we could not fault it.
The grounds are lovely and immaculate, the staff friendly and professional, food is excellent and the cocktails far too tempting, we stayed in many places during our time in Bali and this was our little bit of luxury before leaving for home and it was worth every penny we cannot recommend it enough, thank you everyone at Damai for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    76
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
515
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Damai is a completely indescribable hotel with a quit and lovely atmosphere. We had two nights and enjoyed every second. The service is something completely different than you are used to in Bali and the food is fantastic. I will definitely return to Damai again - it is a place you will not forget.

Room Tip: Master pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kemerton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I have travelled very widely. We think that the Damai in Bali is overall the best hotel we have stayed in. It is a small hotel, for up to 36 guests in separate villas, some with infinity pools.
The lobby, the dining room above it, and the pool are on the crest of a ridge running down from the mountain to the sea, the villas are set in a large area of tropical and herb gardens. The overall design is Balinese, wood and thatch and stone, the detailing of the interiors, the bathrooms and outside showers is of the highest quality. Quality and attention to detail is the keynote of the entire operation. All the 100 staff are very well trained, courteous and attentive, and hospitable. Most are from the nearby village, are grateful for the work they do and have real commitment.The cuisine is excellent, sufficiently varied, and good value.
It is a splendid, rare, place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryKemerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stary Krym
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is one elegant resort that really makes us feel like we were in paradise for a good 1 week. Everything was perfect from the welcome rice cakes, to our elegant and classy room, the breakfast buffet and the uncrowded restaurant, the view of the sea, the coolness of our swimming pool, the amenities, the garden --- every single thing! I also like how they have a small garden of their own where they get their fresh vegetables. They have delicious food, the atmosphere is calm and relaxing with their gazebo and our own patio from our suite. Speaking of the suite, it felt like nature was an extension of our room, with all the natural materials used in our furniture. We had dinner at the restaurant by the pool where it was very romantic and the food was magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianneWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Left here yesterday only but wanted to review the place whilst it was fresh in the mind.

In short - we loved it. We have stayed at 8 excellent hotels over 3 weeks & overall this one is the winner !!

what did we like ?

the rooms, the staff, the food, the location , the pool, the gardens .... everything

special mention

it is a boutique hotel. Menon the manager is a guy you would happily hang out with in your own home. He is pure class. he really cares about his guests happiness

All the member of the staff are good but special mention to our 2 favourites - Eka & Astika.

Met the owner penultimate night at the bar. Danish. we also liked him which always helps when you are parting with $ 1500 or so !!

Like the way they grow much of their own veg or produce food from their own farm.

Good the way it is set up on a hill with view of the sea as Lovina beach is not that special. i.e. you can go down-town if you want but are not missing out by not being on the beach.

Excellent tours available from the hotel e.g. dolphin, Menjangan island, waterfalls etc

We had room number 5 - which is a standard Villa - how intimate & cosy is that .... delightfully furnished. We then upgraded to a room with own pool - it is set away from the main reception area so only go there if you really want to be "on your own" with your own thoughts, privacy and "fresh love" :) we were equally happy in either place.

Thank you Menon & team & maybe ...... just maybe ... we will be back some day as Indonesia is still not exactly near London. Maybe our 5th wedding anniversary or so !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We had a Hill Villa being a two bedroom property of outstanding quality and comfort, the styling and quality left little to be desired, the view from the bed each morning out over the trees to the sea is something neither of us will forget. We spent our stay chilling by the villas own pool and private day bed, the room service was sublime our food was delivered quickly and everything we ordered was spot on. Whilst at the villa one of us had a minor accident resulting in sprained ankle, all of the staff were marvellous and turned what could have been a holiday disaster into a good excuse to relax and enjoy the hospitality, a big thanks to all.

The hotel is on a hill side with a lot of steps to get around however the hotel staff willingly transport guests around in a golf cart which we found ourselves using intensively, if anyone is thinking of going but worried about getting around don't worry, kick back and enjoy.

Will return there again without hesitation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almelo
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel consists of several villas. Each villa has an outside bathroom with a shower and a jacuzzi. The rooms are very spacious with a nice place to sit.
The pool is very nice with a beautiful view on the sunset.
The restaurant is great with good food. One can choose to have dinner along the pool with candle light.
The people are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
173 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
587 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing