We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise In Bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise In Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for five nights during peak season in august for our honeymoon, words cannot describe how this beautiful hotel made our honeymoon perfect. From the staff to the grounds of the hotel everything could not have been better than what it was. The hotel is located about ten minutes drive from lovina beach, soon as you arrive into the complex you can tell you have arrived somewhere special. The breath taking reception area leads to the outside pool which was never crowded (this was due to the fact that all the family rooms/villas have their own private pool). On arrival we was greeted by Tan a well mannered local who spoke to us as if he had known us all his life, a true welcoming experience. On check in we were given complementary cold towels and drinks we where than escorted to our room and shown the surrounding facilitates, this included the state of the art spa, dining area and our own personal villa, with its own hot tub / Jacuzzi and outdoor shower. Whilst tan was showing us our room a butler carried our suitcases to our room, most hotels I have stayed in the porter would wait in the room for a tip at no time are you pressured by any of the staff for a tip, they do not wait around or make you feel like you should tip them, a very nice feeling that you can tip if you want but you don’t have to. The hotel offer free transport between the hotel and the local beach, the local beach is not over crowded even at peak season. The top five things that stood out for me were:

A perfect sun set
A Beautiful bonfire and poolside diner
Beautiful grounds
The food served at the dhami was top class.
An elegant spa with the perfect touch of romance

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charanjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    73
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
124
483
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent three nights at the Damai earlier this month and had the Deluxe Villa. In a way, we kind of expected the lovely grounds, the spectacular views, the gorgeous private villa, the indulgent spa and the superlative personal service on the basis of the excellent reviews we'd read, but the food went way beyond our expectations. The Damai grows its own herbs and vegetables and bakes its own bread and pastries. The food was not only beautifully fresh, it was absolutely, amazingly delicious, the best we'd ever had. We hadn't been planning on dining at the hotel every night but that's what we did because we knew we would not find anything else in Lovina that would top it. We looked forward to the different menu every night. Some magazine should write a special feature about the food at the Damai, if they have not already done so. Congratulations to Chef Wayan Tirta (I hope I got his name right). Our grateful thanks to Prima, Budi and everyone else for making our stay perfect in every way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvlwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent there four nights during our tour across Bali.A few times we had a frog in the bathroom because of it we couldn`t sleep well.But overall the hotel is very nice,food served is fresh and tasty.Avoid sitting in the gazebo during the supper,lots of mosquitos and big insects coming to the light.We loved their Mohito with fresh menthe leaves and lime.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for this review and feedback for the readers. We do understand that during the period of your stay, there was lots of rain and the frogs were active doing mating calls which was the reason for this noise. This is simply nature at its best for sure.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and was a refreshing experience...hard to forget...we hope. We look forward to welcome you to The Damai in the near future.
Best Regards from the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We started our honeymoon off at the Damai, and everything here was absolutely wonderful! We had the Naga master suite. You can truly tell the difference at the Damai. Everything here is about the details, even down to the straws in your drinks. They had wonderful service, the food is out of this world, and the rooms are simply beautiful. Don't go to the Damai with a plan, relax and figure it out when you get there. Great boutique hotel, would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: the Naga master suite has an incredible view and panoramic infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justledouxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Damai offers a luxurious retreat in North Bali, which feels a million miles away from the busy tourist areas in the South. The staff are friendly, attentive and extremely accommodating. I did at first feel slightly uncomfortable about enjoying five-star accommodations after a four-hour car journey witnessing local living standards. Despite what the travel guides led me to believe, Bali isn't a five-star paradise and I did experience some initial 'culture shock'. The Damai however, is it's own paradise and I couldn't have asked for more.

We stayed in the Master Pool Villa, which boasts picturesque landscape views from a beautiful private infinity pool. The villa was perfect, from the pool area to the indoor décor and unique features such as the outdoor shower.

The resort is beautiful and includes a fantastic restaurant and tranquil spa, where we enjoyed a full body massage. We were also fortunate enough to experience a delightful dolphin safari in nearby Lovina beach (be warned that the excursion demands a 6am start!).

The staff were wonderful and I suspect are the main reason why The Damai receives so many highly-rated reviews. We received a very personal service and were made to feel very welcome. The 'hard to find, hard to leave' tagline resonates true and I am extremely pleased that we chose to stay at The Damai during our visit to Bali.

Room Tip: For truly memorable views and plenty of space, splash out on the Master Pool Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ixorias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Damai Trip Advisor Review

Our four-night Bali Holiday was rather hastily tagged on to the end of a trip to an academic conference in Yogyakarta. As we are Anantara Vacation Club members, we have high expectations of luxury resorts; however, the Anantara in Seminyak was already booked. Having perused reviews on Trip Advisor and Agoda.com for the highest-rated hotels, with little time to research an actual Bali itinerary, we booked a pool villa at The Damai via Agoda.com, based upon availability, ranking, and reasonable luxury hotel price. As far as the accommodations and service, The Damai did not disappoint. It is fortunate that we were more interested in a cultural tour of Bali than a perhaps more typical tropical beach experience. Our first realization that the location of The Damai was a little remote was a visit to their website, with the enigmatic slogan of “Hard to Find, Hard to Leave.” The second indication was when we emailed the Resort from Yogyakarta to arrange an airport pickup—the response was prompt and polite, but the price of USD 92 seemed rather steep for simple airport transportation. It turns out that was because it was a nearly three hour tour of the island to get from the airport in the south to the north end of the island. At least the drive gave us a chance to see the wonderful sites of a fascinating island. The resort is situated up a very narrow mountain road, not within walking distance of anything else; thus, if one wants to see the sleepy beach town of Lovina, one must adhere to the hotel’s shuttle schedule, or rent a scooter if one is willing to negotiate the local roads. Don’t expect a vibrant night life in Lovina, however…one should visit northern Bali for the natural beauty and culture.

If one wants a very quiet getaway, with well-constructed accommodations, friendly and attentive service, and attention to detail, The Damai is an excellent choice. After the long drive from the airport, our first evening in the resort’s pleasant open-air restaurant overlooking the pool was enjoyable and romantic. The entire evening’s drinks and meal of lobster bisque, snapper, and lamb chops, accompanied with a bottle of Australian Shiraz Cabernet, followed by a deliciously sweet dessert bottle of an Australian Syrah by the pool-side fire pit, totaled approximately USD 200 (mostly due to the cost of the wine). The food was good, in large part because they have their own organic herb and vegetable garden on the property. The fish dishes unfortunately weren’t quite up to expectations (the first night’s dish was over-salted, a subsequent night’s white fish was a little bit tough), but overall we greatly enjoyed the meals which took great advantage of the fresh produce. We were told by a fellow guest who is a chef that the original chef (Danish?) is no longer working the kitchen, but that he trained the Indonesian chef that currently serves.


The pool villa in which we stayed, Umah Dewi, was beautifully furnished and had all the accouterments one expects. The sea is indeed in view from the villa, albeit only in a narrow band between the foliage—but the foliage is beautiful, with fragrant flowers that set a most relaxing atmosphere. There is a slight privacy issue with the pool villa, as a passerby who was really intent on peaking through the bushes might be able to view the pool and deck area. The resort is quiet and small enough that this wasn’t really a concern to us. The bathroom accommodations were very good, with a conventional tub and outdoor shower. We especially appreciated that the water pressure and temperature range was more than adequate (this can often be a problem even in luxury resorts in Asia).

My wife had a Thai-style aroma massage in room from the spa, which was quite professional (she being a spa expert from Thailand!). The staff, such as Budhi the Bartender, was very friendly. We found no communication problems, as all the relevant staff spoke very good English. Especially charming was the fire pit provided by the pool side every night…a perfect place to sip on the fresh mint mojitos and other fresh cocktails and enjoy the tropical evening.

Once settled in this remote paradise, we began to map out an itinerary. An important thing to understand about Bali is that transportation between distant points can be quite inconvenient. Being a volcanic island, narrow roads run parallel along the ridges of the mountain sides, separated by extremely steep valleys, so that getting from point A to point B can be quite arduous. Traffic along the narrow routes rarely goes over 40 kilometres per hour. Late on the first morning, we took the hotel shuttle into Lovina to book a cultural tour. Along the beach front row of shops adjacent to the shuttle drop off point, we found the Bali-Bali Tourist Information Service, run by a Mr. Bongking (+6281236361400). Having researched and prioritized a list of cultural sites through two useful guidebooks (The DK Eyewitness Travel “Bali & Lombok” and Linda Hoffman’s “Bali: The ultimate guide to world’s most spectacular tropical island”), we negotiated a half-day personalized tour with Mr. Bongking for 600,000 rupiah. He arranged transportation in a new Toyota Avanca, with a skilled and friendly driver, Mr. Nonok. Mr. Nonok had reasonable English skills—just be directive in making your wishes known. We drove to Pura Ulun Danu Batur temple, situated on the rim of a caldera overlooking a volcanic mountain and lake. Out of respect for the holy sites, one must dress appropriately while touring, and many temples require both men and women to wear a sarong—if one doesn’t care to buy or rent this, one can bring along the sarong provided in the resort.

After this first day of touring, and arranging for a tour of a lakeside temple and rice paddy experience on the following day, we realized that the remote location would be a bit inconvenient for our limited time to see all of the island that we wanted. Thus, we approached the hotel manager to modify our booking by one night, so that we could spend one night in Ubud for touring the central area of Bali. According to the manager, because the hotel was not fully booked (hence they would not have turned down another party because of our booking), he graciously agreed to a refund of the amount of the unused night of accommodation. (This implies that if one wants to change during the high season, one may not expect a refund).

In summary, we found the resort relaxing and peaceful. Although we did not visit other resorts in the north, I can’t imagine that any other location could top The Damai for luxurious facilities and high-end service. It turned out to be a suitable base for touring the northern area of Bali; however, its location is not as convenient for experiencing the central arts district of Ubud, or other interesting areas in the east or south. We highly recommend spending time at The Damai for enjoying and exploring the quiet northern part of Bali.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked a room here for one night only, as we were on a 3-day trip exploring all of Bali. Too bad we didn't stay here longer. The location is perfect, the staff is friendly, the restaurant served delicious food...
What I liked most about the place was the quiet. No annoying sounds, no music blasting until late at night. Just peace and relaxation. And all this in a meticulously kept setting.
So, definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing