We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely hard to leave.”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay in our pool villa, Uhma Dewi. The contemporary Asian style room included outdoor shower, massive bath, day bed and a pretty large pool for a villa; it was like having your own house. The spa facility is a must, we enjoyed a 2 hour treatment of massage and a facial that was absolute bliss. We also enjoyed a morning yoga class that was a great start to the day. The sari class is a must, it was inexpensive, relaxing and makes you feel a part of the culture rather than just observing. All of the staff, from reception, spa, restaurant and the groundskeepers who keep this place looking immaculate were attententive, welcoming and thorough. The food menu is small, but everything is done very well and all meals were fantastic. Our two tips for staying at Damai: look carefully at the spa/accommodation packages offered as they are great value. Secondly, Lovina is a small town, you come to Damai to relax and enjoy the resort, not to shop or eat out.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona_and_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMDamai, Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review, it’s great to hear that you felt at home when you stayed in damai lovina.
We appreciate your recommendation especially for our spa, yoga and canang sari class.
As mentioned on our website damai is hard to find …hard to leave, therefore, this is the place that definitely hard to leave once you stay with us.
We are very much looking forward to have you back with us again soon.
best regards,
firman
resident manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel - absolutely lovely! The pool and view is incredible, the food is delicious, and the staff is wonderfully accommodating and friendly. We wish we had stayed longer!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Wanderlust0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsNBali, Owner at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014
Google Translation

Cher Yayamimou, Merci bien pour votre avis sur notre propriété. Nous sommes heureux d'ecouter que vous avez passé du temp heureux et détente à La Damai. Il est toujours notre principal objectif que tous nos clients ont un temps exceptionnellement agréable et mémorable dans notre resort dans les collines verdoyantes du nord de Bali. Vos aimables commentaires sur nos collègues ont été très appréciés par l'ensemble de notre équipe. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir au Damai la prochaine fois. Cordialement La Diréction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Damai for 3 nights in a Deluxe Villa with outdoor shower and a small jacuzzi.

The Villa was nice, warmly furnished with dark woods and very cosy. Staff was super friendly and kind, were never missing anything.

We didn't like Lovina Beach too much (although we had a great dinner at Spice Beach!) but location of the Damai away from the trouble was just relaxing and beautiful.

We enjoyed sundowners, dinners at the pool and SPA treatments!

If there is any room for improvement I would suggest to increase attention of staff at the pool (was sometimes hard to get a drink).

Anyways, we would definitely return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voddibull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMDamai, Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Voddibull,
Thank you for staying with us at The Damai. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our boutique resort in the lush hills over Lovina so much that you decided to spend your next vacation with us again. Also thanks a lot for your feedback about the service at the swimming pool - we truly appreciate every chance for us to improve.
Please contact us directly, before you book your return to The Damai. We always have special offers available for returning guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Damai.
Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Damai looked great on the website and we were surprised to find that it was even better in person! We arrived tired after a loooooooong drive and were welcomed by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, provided us with an amazing welcome drink (non-alcoholic mojito) and walked us to our room before providing a full tour and explaination of everything we needed to know.

The room was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The low Japanese table with the sunken footwell underneath was a very nice touch. The outdoor shower was also very nice.

The gardens are very well maintained and, in addition to being good to look at, grow various herbs and vegetables for use in the kitchen.

Breakfast, lunch and (particularly) dinner far exceeded any expectations. Even the Balinese staple of Nasi Goreng was presented with a truly 'fine dining' experience.

The service in the spa was great. Very professional and effective massages. The only downside to this was the occasional motorbike speeding down the road nearby, momentarily detracting from the tranquility.

The pool was great in the day with complimentary coffee and cake bought to us. The bar was well stocked and the cocktails were expertly mixed (I'd walk back there for another couple of Honey and Ginger Mojitos).

All of the staff, from the manager to the gardeners, we're genuinely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The entire team spoke exceptional English and tended to welcome you as an old friend rather than a hotel guest.

The location is the perfect antidote to Kuta, Seminyak, etc. You won't be hounded to buy things and will never hear the shouts of "Transport", "Taxi", "Massage" and you soak up the atmosphere. You won't even have a pushy sales pitch from the driver of the Damai branded private car.

There's not really much within walking distance of the hotel but there's really no need as all the food, drink and amenities are on site (including and extensive DVD library). However, there are shuttles in to town if you did need to get out and about or go and see the dolphins (the guides in your room will suggest some great trips).

There's really nothing negative I can say about our stay at The Damai. At a push, I would just point out that the location, while stunning, is far away from pretty much everything else. But isn't that why you're on Tripadvisor looking at potential holiday venues? I wouldn't make this your first stop off the plane as it's easily 3-4 hours in a car from the airport. That said, the scenery along that drive is stunning. The only other thing would be to say that a few days of enjoying massages, amazing cocktails and gourmet food, as great as it is, still gets presented to you on a bill upon check out and the level of service offered costs a bit more than your average resort.

I would, without hesitation, book in to Damai on our next trip to Bali and would certainly recommend splashing out on a couple of nights here during your visit to Bali.

Room Tip: The standard (Garden) villa was perfect for our needs. If you have a little more cash to splash the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at Damai 5 times before, but something really has happened since my last stay two years ago. First and for most the kitchen, the food and the breakfast has always been a bliss at Damai. But the new menus, come on Mozaic and Four Seasons Sayan, that have been my favourite restaurants, they are far behind the innovative and ultra delicious dishes.
We had the snail soup, which has to be one of the nicest soups I ever had, rich and creamy with lots of Bali spices, better than at Los Carcoles in Barcelona. Then a great mini-version of Babi Guling, a neat little piece of pork belly with a delicious light peanut sauce and a beautiful fresh mango dessert. Reinventing traditional food in a spectacular manner. The staff acts like it was only a week ago since your last visit, how are you Pak Torsten, your son and daughter ok home in Denmark. I can not wait to go back. Only 3 nights was far to short a visit.

Room Tip: Despite the new Pool Villa is more private and luxurious, i kind og love the old villas. I feel so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metalstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A bit sad that we only are able to give this place 5 stars - Never tried anything like this, and we will back again and again... After beeing here we will never go anywere else.... Everything was perfect, service in top, and the food was fantastic - all of the staff were incredible happy, and make all guest fell at home. We have nothing negative to say about this place - Heaven on Earth for sure....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mogens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a delightful boutique hotel, situated above the beaches of Lovina in North Bali. We stayed in a Deluxe Villa, which was very light, tastefully decorated and with an outside shower. (Totally private.) Our villa had a view down to the sea, as it was one of the two lower situated villas. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is a main feature. We didn't try the spa, but took two excursions. One to Munduk area, where we sampled the famous lewak coffee, visited a Buddhist temple, clambered down to a spectacular waterfall and also visited and swam in the hot mineral spring. This trip was a good half day and was very good value. We also took a trip to the old capital, and looked round the old palace, which is being restored, and visited the library there where there is a famous collection of palm leaf manuscripts. We also went to the Chinese temple at the old harbour. This trip was less interesting, and there wasn't really that much to see. You can go to see dolphins from Lovina Beach, but have to leave at 6 am, so we didn't bother. The hotel runs a shuttle to Lovina beach, where you can get a cheap beer and great seafood, but the shuttle isn't very frequent. The idea of Damai is to stay in the peaceful bubble of calm and it isn't a place to go if you want to be hanging out in the fun of the beach. The food is lovely and the service very good. It is expensive, but it is a very special place and a highlight of our Bali trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We had the lowest villa, which also meant no one was walking past us. The priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMDamai, Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Hilary,
Thank you for all your nice words, it is really an encouragement to all of us at the resort. We hope to welcoming you back again to damai lovina, and try our spa to get yourself pampered while you are staying with us next time.
Warm regards from Damai Lovina Bali…

Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
223 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 25 in Lovina Beach
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 25 in Lovina Beach
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jl. Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing