We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lovina, a great new resort”
Review of The Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lovina
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Lovina what a great location, right on the beach in Lovina. It's just a short walk into town and you can walk to several restaurants along the beach. The pool is magnificent, the accommodation well appointed and of course the lovely friendly Bali staff. This is a new resort and quite a find. We had a great holiday, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

The three hour drive from Kuta to Lovina was worth it. We all left the hustle and bustle back down south and had a real holiday. The rooms were clean, well presented and spacious. The very large pool, which overlooked the beach, was inviting and peaceful. There were amazing views of not only the beach, but rice fields and mountains which really defined the Bali experience. The sunset was picture perfect!! It was truly beautiful. It only took us about 5-10 minutes to walk to few local bars and shops. The whole experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 526leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Lovina, a superb 4 star resort with beach frontage. Rooms and villa's are well appointed and spacious. This brand new resort has all amenities. Gym, spa, restaurant and pool bar all adding to the relaxing stay. Staff are friendly. Total rest and relaxation. This is one of my favourite places to stay on Bali's northern coast. Highly recommended and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great. wonderful sunsets. Villa's for more privacy, own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Lovina is a new hotel located right on Lovina Beach. I gather that Lovina Beach extends over a few kilometres and a few villages, so The Lovina is actually located in the village of Kalibukbuk.

The hotel is kind of hidden down the end of a long drive. Look out for the big white sign so you don't miss the turn off. The hotel is contemporary but with some traditional Balinese touches. The reception area is all open plan and you are welcomed with a refreshing drink. The grounds are beautiful, lush and green. The hotel has only been open for a month or two, so it was quiet while we were there and the resort staff couldn't do enough for us. From the barmen to the gardeners they were always ready with a happy smile.

I decided to try something a bit more upmarket - we spent a little more and got a lot more! They have a special rate on at the moment so we were upgraded to a beach view suite. The suite is basically like an apartment with pretty much everything you could want (except a washing machine,but the hotel does offer a laundry service – we didn’t use it so not sure how much it costs). The décor in the rooms is classy but comfortable. They have free Wi-fi throughout the property. The beach view suites look out over the pool and out to the beach. The main pool is a big 25metre with a kiddy pool up one end. There is a beach bar that serves all your usual drinks – you can also order meals here that come from the main restaurant. As well as lots of sun loungers there are also some bean bags on the beach – the perfect place to view your Bali sunset.

The restaurant has two levels – a more casual sports bar/pizza restaurant on the ground floor and the main restaurant upstairs. The restaurant is all open air and has views over the rice paddies and across to the mountains. The food in the restaurant is international with some Balinese favourites. There was a good variety to suit all tastes – prices are reasonable for an upmarket hotel. They were about to start some special food and drink nights just after we left.

There are quite a few different areas of the hotel that offer different types of accommodation. We were having a bit of a sticky beak around and the staff were happy to show us the different types of accommodation. There are mountain view rooms and a second pool - you need to do a bit of exploring to find it. The décor in the various rooms was similar in style but each room seemed to have its own cool look. There is a small gym (we didn’t use it so not sure what equipment they have) and they are starting a kids club (didn’t use this either) There is a spa - offering massages only at this stage, but they’re planning on offering the full spa experience with facials etc.

What was surprising was the number of villas spread around the grounds. We looked at a few – they had different layouts but all had their own pools and looked absolutely stunning. Some of them look out onto the beach with direct beach access.

It’s about a 10 minute walk up to the main part of Kalibukbuk village with a few restaurants, bars and shops. You can walk via the road or beach. I wouldn’t recommend the beach walk after dark because there are a lot of fishing boats up on the beach with anchor lines. The sand up here is black or grey – I think it’s volcanic? It’s nowhere near as busy in the village as down south, but there is enough variety to try something different each night. There seemed to be a mix of fixed price and market style shops

As well as lazing around the pool and reading a book there are a few activities to do up at Lovina. You will find lots of touts offering to take you out to see the Dolphins (early morning is the best time to see them) and there is also snorkelling nearby. We went snorkelling fairly close to the shore straight after we saw the Dolphins. There was plenty for us to see – but I think there is even better snorkelling out at Menjangan Island. We also went out to the Banjar Hot springs for an afternoon – its only 20 minutes or so up the road. We stopped off at Lake Bratan and Git Git Falls on our way back south, and on the way up we stopped off to see the Monkeys. It’s not actually a forest like Ubud – just a stretch of the road as you wind up through the mountains, so the driver pulls over at the stop and the monkeys are just there.

The Lovina offers a beautiful relaxing experience with fantastic staff and I’d definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 8EDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

This was my 4th trip to Bali & I had always stayed down south but decided to try something new & head up north to Lovina. It was great to get away from the hustle & bustle of Kuta & surrounds. Lovina is a beautiful beach town with a lot to offer. The resort is stunning & has 1 of the best pools of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank difiore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit direktem Polozugang oder Poolblick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AchimDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 25 in Lovina Beach
838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 25 in Lovina Beach
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 25 in Lovina Beach
551 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#12 of 25 in Lovina Beach
141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 25 in Lovina Beach
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, 81151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: £80 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing