We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lovina
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Although we visit Bali at least 3 times a year we had never gone to Lovina. We were lucky enough to stay at this hotel and could not have been happier with anything at all. We found the staff to be wonderful, the rooms we had was unbelievable, the beach lovely, the food better than average even though it is a little more expensive than other places. The beach bar is staffed by some of the nicest staff we have come across. I have read the other reviews and can't understand how they were not happy with their stay. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach view terrace villa next to the Beach Bar, fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    153
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
221
384
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Location first is great. Pretty much located in town centre. Theres a probably 5-10 minute walk from the hotel to the main street, as the resort itself is situated on beach front. Main nightlife / restaurant Kalibukbuk is just down the road. There are local seafood restaurant with fresh fish charging local prices just down the road (head west on main road) which might need a scooter to get to, unless you're a keen walker. Local and tourist tailored convenient stores can be found within walking distance (obviously local ones charge slightly cheaper prices). ATM can also be found nearby.

Beach front offers good water view, but not much can be done in water. Low tide puts about a 20-40 meter stretch from the beach at knee-hip height water, meaning mostly seagrass. Further out, the water gets to be about 2 meters deep, with some broken coral that may be worth a quick look, but otherwise no offbeach snorkelling really.

Dolphin sighting tour can be organised by hotel staff, and leaves from hotel beach-front in the morning.

Off street parking available in front of entrance, boom gated with security staff.

Hotel grounds are kept beautiful by very busy team of gardeners.

Breakfast is standard fare for Bali resorts (mix of nasi goreng, mi goreng, stirfry veg, sausage, bacon, eggs, hashbrown, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea coffee.)

We got a free upgrade to a family apartment basically, as the hotel was undergoing some renovations while we were here. So we got the $200+ room, which was at back of resort, near beach, near pool. Room is HUGE. Separate adult room with king bed, bath tub, shower. Sliding door to close off room. Separated kids room with two double beds with sliding door to close off (we don't know what else as kids room was locked off for us). Kitchen with gas stove, toasters, kettle, fridge and all utensils you need (even chopping board and fry pan). Cable TV In lounge and adult room. Art work on walls. Sofa. Air con that works. Good insulation. Ceiling fans to boot. Our room actually felt cold despite the blistering heat and humidity outside. Private "front yard", ie a small porch walled off by shrubbery, with cushioned deck chairs, outdoor 4-seater table, and a thoughtful towel rack.

Wifi was reasonably fast. We could actually watch streaming TV show from home (with a bit of buffering).

All up, we were very pleased, but we did get an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went to The Lovina for a luxurious five day chill for our anniversary and it didn’t disappoint, in fact it far outreached our expectations.
The journey from the airport was a bit long and arduous (for someone who suffers from travel sickness) but well worth it. The lovely driver, who had chilled water waiting for us, drove us through some beautiful scenery. We left the mad hustle and bustle behind us and passed by serene temples and paddy fields, mountain villages and a lake. We felt we got a taste of the real Bali and not the one we read about so often.
The resort itself is beautifully & sympathetically designed with the most delightful, well maintained gardens. There is a large variety of accommodation to suit all needs and pockets but we stayed in a terraced beach villa which was amazing. Well appointed with great attention to detail, I particularly liked the bath in the bedroom from which I could watch the sun go down over the ocean. We had our own garden with pool, loungers and best of all, our own day bed complete with fan. The garden had a back gate on to the beach and was a short walk from the poolside restaurant and bar (and yummy cocktails)
The staff are beautiful in both demeanor and looks, nothing is too much trouble. Everyone from the management to the gardeners and pool boys stop to smile & greet you with a hello. Someone has gone to great deal of effort to employ the right people.
There is plenty to do if you want it, organized by the hotel, up into the mountains, the hot springs, the temple on the lake, the most beautiful golf course ever, dolphins, snorkeling etc etc. We chose to relax and do not much except visit the resort’s spa and have wonderful (incredibly reasonably priced) massages. Thoroughly recommend that! However we did take an early morning boat trip to see the dolphins (what an experience) and brightly coloured tropical fish in the crystal clear water.
The town of Lovina is a short walk by road or beach, with a few bars & restaurants, but we ate every night in the resort. A candle lit beach side table amid the frangipanis is hard to beat.

It really was the most luxurious, relaxing little break and we will return and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upwey, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 10 days in an upstairs apartment overlooking the massive swimming pool. To our surprise we found The Lovina is an extensive and very new hotel complex which offers many different types of accommodation from massive villas on the beach to private Mountain View rooms. Our apartment had very generous sized rooms with a massive King size bed in the main bedroom. Everything was so well maintained. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly and efficiently and the Gardens were meticulously maintained. All the staff were fantastic. All were eager to assist, very friendly and beaming with smiles when engaged. The Spa was also a very pleasant experience like stepping into an exotic, calm relaxing zone. We tried everything from the Heliconia Dining Room, Fantastic wood fired pizzas, Drinks at the Pool side Bar, Walks on the beach, Walks to Warungs along the beach and at Lovina township (Easy walk via beach or road). In the area there are many attractions - easy to arrange through the hotel - we visited Git Git water fall, the Hot Springs Bathing Pools, Boat trip out to see the Dolphins (What a thrill) and we went snorkeling out at the reef. We would have liked to stay longer to experience everything the has to offer so we will have to come back one day. Overall we are very impressed with"The Lovina" and the Lovina area in general which appears to be more like the "Real Bali".

Room Tip: beach front or mountain view depending on preference. Lots of choices and easy to use all resort fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at this resort and it was a perfect stay. Rooms (apartments) are very big and clean. The whole resort is maintained in perfect conditions. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The pool is big and right in front of the beach. The gym is small but has everything you need for a basic work out. Our daughter went several times to the kids club and she just loved it. A big thank you to all staff in The Lovina!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Wendyrola,

Many thanks for your review.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at the resort.

We hope to see you and the family again here at THE LOVINA Bali Resort.

Best regards,
Dwi Dharmawijaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the Lovina for 9 nights in September for our honeymoon. Just got back and extremely tired from the flights but couldn't sleep without writing a glowing review. The setting is incredible, peaceful and beautiful and the weather in September was outstanding, not a drop of rain all week!

We had a mountain view deluxe room with a plunge pool which was kept incredibly clean, even on days when we slept in housekeeping would come back later in the day and make up the room! It was very spacious, the bed was large and comfortable and the entire apartment was air conditioned (Which we were very glad of). The front doors opened out onto the mountain view pool which was great as it was private, away from the other villas with only a few patrons using it from the nearby apartments, plenty of sun loungers in a variety of positions meant a choice of ways to soak up the sun! The back door lead to our private outdoor shower, toilet, plunge pool and sun lounger area. It took some time to get used to the outdoor side of things but as with the room this was kept meticulously clean.

The food from the Heliconia restaurant was fantastic, and the beachside barbeque sublime. Quite a large variety of dishes and all very well prepared, we particularly found the pizzas to be great for a quick bite at lunch time (These were not run of the mill pizzas but as good as any I've had in Europe). The food and drinks are reasonably priced at the hotel especially when converted to Euro's. Coke was around 1.5 Euros, Cocktails anything from 4 to 6. Pizza's around 6 euros and the barbeque was at most 8 (I think that was for Salmon, but there's Mahi-Mahi, Tuna, Butterfish, Prawns and squid to choose from too, all caught that day). Whilst enjoying a meal by the beach you can watch the local fisherman catching fish in the sea with nets, or far out to see in the pitch black with torches (Not for me!). The breakfast was great too, with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, bread, noodles and western cooked breakfast items. Made to order omlettes and delicious fruit juice blends too!

That brings me nicely on to the beach, which was great. It's black sand and there is a fair amount of washed up coral sometimes, but that's because there's a reef nearby (I'll get to that later). There are bean bags on the beach owned by the hotel which are comfortable and free and parasols for sun respite if needed! The tides make for some great snorkelling with the sea at its deepest in the morning. In case you're worried there are no sharks, a few snakes and some non-venomous jellyfish but these were never a problem and stay out of your way. The water is a little stoney for the first couple of meters but not a noticeable issue. One thing we were told to look out for in Bali was the dogs and the rabies issue. We were reliably informed by staff and locals that any dog we saw around the lovina had been completely vaccinated and that this was sponsored by the owner. On hearing this you realise they're actually beautiful dogs!

The excursions were well priced, with knowledgeable guides and some amazing sights. Recommend the monkey forest at Sangeh, where the monkeys come and sit on your shoulders and take peanuts from your hands (No issues with them trying to open your bag or being aggressive) Also the Dolphin spotting and snorkeling on the reef is a must. The dolphins were amazing and the reef was beautiful, with the fish eating bread from your fingers and some stunning coral and sealife.

I could go on about this place all night, but I won't! Need sleep. My Final point, and biggest win for the Lovina was the staff. Just unbelievable, they couldn't do enough for us. Specifically Karee Kariasa (Known to us as Ketut), Ngurah (I hope that's spelt right) and Arik! They made us great drinks, gave us great advice, reserved tables for us left right and centre and took time out to talk to us and answer questions. Ketut even brought us some coconuts from his home to drink on the beach on his day off!!!

Overall, would go back next week if we could, just a great place, with great staff and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

September 2013 I had the pleasure of staying at The Lovina for 5 nights, I could of stayed longer it wasn't enough. I have been to Bali 15 times and have stayed any may sorts of accomodation but found The North of Bali and The Lovina aa most pleasurable experience the accomotaion is fantastic, the staff are friendly and happy and the food and services had everything you needed I would deffinately be coming back to The Lovina again soon.
Regards,
Bonita Billing and John Puts

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Bonita and John,

Many thanks for your great review about THE LOVINA Bali Resort.

We are really happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at THE LOVINA Bali Resort.

We look forward to see you again here at THE LOVINA Bali Resort.

Best regards,
Dwi Dharmawijaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#5 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Property: The Lovina
Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, 81151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing