We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovina
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel was beautiful... Clean and confortable rooms, excellent food and drinks and an amazing swimming pool!
The location was also very good... Close to the center of Lovina and several "attractions". I really recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    162
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
239
402
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We hadn't been up as far as Lovina before. We spent four nights at The Lovina in October. The village of Lovina is an easy walk from the resort, either along the beach or out and along the street. We wandered in most days to have dinner or lunch in local cafes. It's not a shopping area, just relaxed and quiet. Our resort was wonderful- set right on the beach, beautiful pool areas, with furniture and bean bags out on the sand, excellent breakfast and the wood fired pizzas were great. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly- nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are beautfully set out, spacious and lovely.
We're frequent visitors to Bali and plan to head back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Last week we stayed two nights at the Lovina as a part of our round trip in Bali. We were amazed by the super friendly employees who were always smiling and fulfilling our wishes. Especially in the beach bar where we stayed a lot. We really felt like home. Our room was clean and spacious with a nice view to the rice field. The food was excellent whether it was a simple breakfast or a fancy dinner. And above all we got our best massage here. This hotel is a little piece of heaven and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Bali. Can't wait to go back. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We had a bit of luck; our room was being worked on, so we were upgraded to another room; seaside, but also our private pool.


We cannot fault the staff, they were great always. Breakfast was ok, not a lot of choice, you normally would expect a bit more from a 5* hotel, but it suited us fine.

Dinner on the hotel premise is expensive, but no more than in other hotels of this kind...the quality of the food was great, seaside dining perfect!

The hotel is central in Lovina, looks new, has a great feel to it and the staff is great.

What more do you want; we had a great time!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent five nights at the Lovina at the end of our honeymoon in Bali. We absolutely loved this hotel! The staff are unbelievably friendly and the whole atmosphere is just wonderful. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to a mountain view suite which had a plunge pool... Such a fantastic surprise upon arrival! Our room itself was spacious and clean with all the amenities you would expect. Housekeeping was wonderful... Fresh towels twice daily and turn down service.

The main pool area is so relaxing, we were very lucky as the hotel was not too busy and there were ample loungers to choose from. The staff at the beach bar are super friendly and food and drinks are reasonably priced. The food at the Heliconia restaurant is equally delicious and again very reasonably priced. The beach area is very quiet which was just what we wanted after spending the first half of our honeymoon in the south of the island which is very busy.

We were also lucky enough to visit the spa while we were here, and no surprise it was a fantastic experience. Staff and service exceptional.

The hotel is fairly centrally located... We were able to walk to nearby restaurants and bars in around 15 mins however the hotel do offer a free shuttle service during the day. I honestly cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff really made our stay unforgettable... I cannot speak highly enough of them, super friendly and helpful. This place is a real haven, pure luxury and perfect for chilling out! I would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahmag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Although we visit Bali at least 3 times a year we had never gone to Lovina. We were lucky enough to stay at this hotel and could not have been happier with anything at all. We found the staff to be wonderful, the rooms we had was unbelievable, the beach lovely, the food better than average even though it is a little more expensive than other places. The beach bar is staffed by some of the nicest staff we have come across. I have read the other reviews and can't understand how they were not happy with their stay. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach view terrace villa next to the Beach Bar, fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Location first is great. Pretty much located in town centre. Theres a probably 5-10 minute walk from the hotel to the main street, as the resort itself is situated on beach front. Main nightlife / restaurant Kalibukbuk is just down the road. There are local seafood restaurant with fresh fish charging local prices just down the road (head west on main road) which might need a scooter to get to, unless you're a keen walker. Local and tourist tailored convenient stores can be found within walking distance (obviously local ones charge slightly cheaper prices). ATM can also be found nearby.

Beach front offers good water view, but not much can be done in water. Low tide puts about a 20-40 meter stretch from the beach at knee-hip height water, meaning mostly seagrass. Further out, the water gets to be about 2 meters deep, with some broken coral that may be worth a quick look, but otherwise no offbeach snorkelling really.

Dolphin sighting tour can be organised by hotel staff, and leaves from hotel beach-front in the morning.

Off street parking available in front of entrance, boom gated with security staff.

Hotel grounds are kept beautiful by very busy team of gardeners.

Breakfast is standard fare for Bali resorts (mix of nasi goreng, mi goreng, stirfry veg, sausage, bacon, eggs, hashbrown, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea coffee.)

We got a free upgrade to a family apartment basically, as the hotel was undergoing some renovations while we were here. So we got the $200+ room, which was at back of resort, near beach, near pool. Room is HUGE. Separate adult room with king bed, bath tub, shower. Sliding door to close off room. Separated kids room with two double beds with sliding door to close off (we don't know what else as kids room was locked off for us). Kitchen with gas stove, toasters, kettle, fridge and all utensils you need (even chopping board and fry pan). Cable TV In lounge and adult room. Art work on walls. Sofa. Air con that works. Good insulation. Ceiling fans to boot. Our room actually felt cold despite the blistering heat and humidity outside. Private "front yard", ie a small porch walled off by shrubbery, with cushioned deck chairs, outdoor 4-seater table, and a thoughtful towel rack.

Wifi was reasonably fast. We could actually watch streaming TV show from home (with a bit of buffering).

All up, we were very pleased, but we did get an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Property: The Lovina
Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, 81151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing