We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must culinary experience in Lovina”
Review of Warung Jegeg

Warung Jegeg
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Informal dining of delicious BALINESE INDONESIAN and WESTERN FOOD at any time of the day, from 8am to 10pm. We provide takeout and delivery as well. Our speciality is a BALINESE COOKING CLASS with WAYAN!
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
“A must culinary experience in Lovina”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Found this great little restaurant called a warung thanks to tripadvisor. After a first meal, we returned ordering a steamed duck for next day. Great culinary experience, very nice chef and owner of restaurant that communicates very well in english. I strongly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinetGosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    74
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Came back again and again.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The owner is super nice. Her food is amazing. Prices are good too.
We came for dinner, came back two times after that. Really one of the best places to eat in Lovina. Try the Soto Ayam! Overall small warning though, if you don't like spicy food, let her know when you order. If you don't say anything (of even say medium spice) things might get REALLY spicy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leosjokvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Bali food and smile”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

You get the real Balinese food, pricing and smiles, compared to all the touristy restaurants in Lovina's downtown. The restaurant is located a few minutes walk away from downtown, on the main road, close to the Library. It may not be easy to find but it is worth it!

Wayan is a great cook, and if you start talking to her, you will discover her story makes her a true entrepreneur! I have heard other tourists say her cooking class is fabulous: she makes breakfast for you, she takes you to the market for shopping, and your lunch is what you cook with her in the morning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Del D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wayan runs a wonderful, intimate experience here. My wife and I, she an expert and myself as an interested amateur, went here for the most informative 4 hours I have ever had as a learning cook. Wayan was patient and understanding, and I learnt a huge amount about planning, preparation, and ingredients, to the point that I am trying to cook 4 times a week now. She is fantastic and I am very motivated after this day. We strongly recommend that you get in touch with her. There was too mud to eat after the lesson, even thought he ingredients, lesson etc cost less than a meal at a local restaurant! Thanks Wayan!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Barnes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience with even better food! (Cooking class)”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We did the cooking class today at Jegeg's. It was our best experience here in Lovina. Really nice lady (speaks good English) who took us to the Local market in the morning (quite an experience on itself). After that, we enjoyed some Balinese cake and coffee. We prepared four dishes which all tasted great! Also, great value for your money.

Jegeg's is located near the centre of lovina (walking distance) on the main route to Singaraja. Almost next to Malibu dive centre and next to the library.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesCees2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warung Jegeg also viewed

 
Lovina Beach, Bali
 

Been to Warung Jegeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing