We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shkedi's Camplodge - A place to be !!”
Review of Shkedi's Camplodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shkedi's Camplodge
Reviewed 10 March 2014

In my opinion the desert in the area around Shkedi's Camplodge is beautiful. If you like the desert, a place to meet other people, good conversations with Gili about Israel, a lot of fun in the desert (i.e. a Jeep-tour) and swimming in the dead see then you should definitely visit Shkedi's Camplodge. Actually it is a must if you stay in Israel. Gili and Ron are very friendly and helpful whatever you need. There I had one of the best days during my Israel trip.

Thomas

Room Tip: The Honeymoon bus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank th T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Has a perfect vibe and all the amenities you need. The camp was cozy and the rooms were clean and warm.

The staff was laid back and extremely helpful.

The best place we stayed in Israel.

.............

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great Lodge facilities, central meeting point, special hosts and peaceful music as a perfect background. I really enjoyed sitting with all the travelers from all around the world and talk about anything. I'm definitely going to come back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efratlaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From the photos on Tripadvisor, I was expecting this to be in the middle of nowhere, rather like a nomad camp, with nothing around it for miles and miles. And it is to some extent, but it's within a moshav in the middle of nowhere. However, the "campsite" is so masterfully camouflaged that while, from the outside, it looks like nothing, from the inside it looks like you really are in a nomadic camp site and not in a small town.

Whoever designed the layout, the lounge and bar area, and the outside fences and their camouflage is a genius. When you step in, you feel as though you have come into a desert oasis community. People gather around a centrally located fire, kids play in the surrounding sand, and there is no roof but the stars. The mood is set by a mellow selection of music, played from unassuming PA-speakers at just the right volume where its not disturbing or detracting, but rather like someone playing guitar somewhere within the campsite.

The people who work the place are friendly, helpful and kind. When, at the end of our trip, our group of three considered what we would have liked to see or do more of, one of the first things to come to mind was just chilling at Shkedi's in the evening, getting to know the staff and the guests. Shkedi's had that magical feeling of home away from home, a home we'd love to return to even after coming home!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed only one night and wished we could stay more.
Whole camp lodge has really nice energy and atmosphere, people are are friendly, helpful and relaxed. Everything is organized perfectly, clean and tidy.You get to enjoy the nature and Israel away from urban city crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirnatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The owner Gil was very helpful, and drove me to the bus stop (free of charge). The camplodge we stayed in was new (all built over the summer), all wood with a wooden floor and a roof with a skylight. The kitchen is well equipped and there is hot water 24/7 for making tea & coffee. We were given a shelf to store our food and the staff (Ron) offered to share his food with us (including watermelon and fresh goat cheese and produce to make salad). The showers were strong and had hot water and the bathroom area was very clean. The staff were wonderful - it was great speaking to Ron over a couple beers by the fire. Shkedi is more than just a bed to stay - it's the ultimate chill out experience. If you have a car - you can use this as a base for visiting the dead sea attractions, and return in the evening to have a chat around the fireside on everything :)

Only tip is if you want to barbecue meat - best stock up in a bigger town before you arrive. They local mini mart has a lot of local Thai Ingredients but no fresh meat. Unfortunately I did not have a chance to do a 4x4 tour of visit one of the moshev.

Room Tip: We stayed in camp lodge number 4. The recently built camp lodge / cabins are very clean and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It is an ideal place for people who love nature and enjoy the naturally environment. We felt absolutely freely like at home thanks to Gil and others. It is impossible to describe in words. Certainly we want to go back there and get to know more about of that village.
For us it was the best place to stop and spend the night in Israel.

Room Tip: Sleeping in the joint space was very ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Vaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neot HaKikar
18 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
861 reviews
18.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,380 reviews
16.4 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
18 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,626 reviews
18 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shkedi's Camplodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shkedi's Camplodge

Address: Neot HaKikar 86905, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Neot HaKikar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Neot HaKikar
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shkedi's Camplodge 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shkedi’s CampLodge is located south of the Dead Sea, and is ideal for hosting backpackers, families and small groups. We offer private air-conditioned wooden cabins and large stylish bungalows (dorms & private). You are bound to have a unique experience in a place that cherishes and compliments nature and the beautiful atmosphere of the desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shkedi's Camplodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shkedi's Camplodge Dead Sea, Israel - Neot HaKikar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing