We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is not a "resort" anymore!”
Review of Amatoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amatoa Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This resort is not a "resort" anymore!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This resort is not operational, there are no staff on site, no check-in, no "restaurant" or bar, the pool is not clean it does not work, things are falling apart, like railings, stairs, ceilings etc, and the resort is STILL CHARGING FULL PRICE! We arrived and although the room is reasonably nice and the view outstanding, the rest of the resort is abandoned, we were the only guests. We felt like we were camping out. The website photos do not accurately depict the current condition of the resort. I am sure at one time the resort was worth the price but that is no longer the case. Once the pembantu, who did cook breakfast, left for the day we felt somewhat isolated, we could not contact anyone else besides her to communicate any of our needs, luckily we speak some Bahasa Indonesian. If you stay at this resort after reading this review it is your own damn fault if you are disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PecahPiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hello Dewi B.

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at Amatoa Resort and would just like to tell you that there has been a change in management since January 2013. We are now managing the resort with an english/indonesian speaking manager and we have put down a lot of effort on renovationg the resort so that it will get even better then it originally was.

Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the changes.

Best regards
Camilla Hansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
33
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Amatoa Resort is a very cozy and peaceful place. You can feel an artistic soul there. The Resort is well maintained, rooms are very clean and arranged in a good taste. But... the property is located not 3,5 hours drive from Makassar as their website says. To get there we needed 6,5 hours using the transfer provided by resort. In my opinion it is very unfair that the owner of the resort gives unreliable information about the transfer time to the resort from Makassar. In this dishonest way he tries to encourage customers to stay there. Apart from the very long transfer there is one more disadvantage of this place. It is the diving service offered by the resort. Our main goal to stay at Amatoa Resort was exploring the coral reefs on Bira area, so we decided to book 4 days of diving at the resort. We've been diving in Indonesia for a couple of years in so many islands and we've never encountered such a low safety and quality diving service as here - some details below:
- The divemaster, who was provided by the resort, decided to go diving without taking into account the weather conditions, so we were struggling with 3 meter waves on a little boat for an hour to get to the divesite which was extremely dangerous!
- The boat was far from being a diving boat - it was very slow fishing boat with no place for diving equipment which was rolling in the boat on the big waves. It was far below even the indonesian standards.
- On the boat there was no even drinking water for divers!!!
- The divemaster didn't ask us about our diving experience before taking us for a check dive in the strong current. There was no dive briefing as well!
- We were asked to set up our equipment on very wave'y sea - after that we had to do a backdrop from the boat with no negative entry on 3 meter waves!!! We could have been hit by the boat.
- After we entered into the water the divemaster lost us after 7 minutes - it has never happened to us during many years of diving... (He was guiding only us - a couple) After we did the safety stop, we came up to the surface. Our divemaster came up after 30 minutes more than 500 meters from us...
After that we sent a massage to the owner of the resort, that we can't dive in this condition anymore for safety reasons and next day we left the place. He didn't even ask what was wrong and apologize for the "inconvinience". We were only informed that we can try to dive with other dive center...
It shows his attitude to his customers - nothing else to add...

Room Tip: Nice place to stay but don't dive with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Dugong79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hello Dugong79.

I just read your review and I am really sorry that you had this experience at our resort. For now I just want to let you know that there is a new management at the resort since January 2013, and I really hope that we will be able to show you a better time if you decide to return to Bira some day.

We also work closely with a new diveshop in Bira and are also starting up a dive camp on the beach of Bira so I can guarante you that the safety of the diving will never be as you had to experience it again.

About the time from Makassar I can't do anything but exuse on the owners behalf, and let you know that the new roadwork is ready by now. Which make the time by car approx 4 hours depending on traffic.

I'm sorry for your bad experience and I really hope we get to show you a better time with the new management running :).

Best regards
Camilla Hansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bira hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

despite the distance that must be taken to reach this place far enough, which is about five hours from the city, but it all paid off with what you get here. paradise on earth. This place really pamper yourself, especially your eyes. All I do is just relax and snorkel in the sea where there are many coral reefs and marine fish which are very beautiful. everything I need to vacation all have in this place. stunning scenery and the room are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raniiputii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

despite the distance that must be taken to reach this place far enough, which is about five hours from the city, but it all paid off with what you get here. paradise on earth. This place really pamper yourself, especially your eyes. All I do is just relax and snorkel in the sea where there are many coral reefs and marine fish which are very beautiful. everything I need to vacation all have in this place. stunning scenery and the room are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raniiputii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bira hotels
1.2 mi away
Cosmos Bungalows
Cosmos Bungalows
#1 of 13 in Bira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bara Beach Bungalows
1.5 mi away
BaraCoco Bungalows
BaraCoco Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Bira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nini`s Beach Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Balatoa
Balatoa
#2 of 8 in Bira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patma Bira Hotel
Patma Bira Hotel
#3 of 8 in Bira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatoa Resort

Property: Amatoa Resort
Address: Jalan Pasir Putih 6, Bira, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Bira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amatoa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatoa Resort is built on the most southern cliff top of South Sulawesi. You can directly jump into the amazingly clear sea full of beautiful tropical fishes. Day trips to the famous boat builders and to small islands with white sandy beaches will be organized. Great diving and snorkeling opportunities. Easy access through the International Airport of Ujung Pandang/Makassar or by cruise ship from Bali. Enjoy luxury hotels on east indonesia and an unforgettable holiday in Amatoa Resort's unique, elegant, tropical style, oceanfront bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Amatoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatoa Resort Bira, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing