We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Pity A Nice Place Bad Service”
Review of Amatoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amatoa Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Reviewed 29 October 2012

What a place..First arrive sensation are horrible, the person who responsible to take care the place are rubbish, no help for picking up our bags, no welcome drinks or greetings when we arrive and also give us trouble when we stay in there. air condition are rubbish so big room with small air condition. Compare to the other hotels the only things that make me feel happy stay in there only the view, but other things from food, services, rooms, pricing were rubbish. and Absolutely RUBBISH..

Room Tip: If you don't ever care about the service, about the room and only one thing you want is the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank EndyThi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hello EndyThi.

I'm sorry that you have a bad experience at the Amatoa Resort. I would just like to let you know that there are a new management since January 2013. We are really puting an effort at the service with new staff and a new manager on site. We are also rebuilding a few things and fixing the things that haven't been working perfectly before like the AC in the bigger rooms.

I really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you to our resort again and show you a new side of Amatoa Resort.

Best regards
Camilla Hansson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have been in Amatoa Resort in Bira for few days, the place is beautifull, very nice sunset. We met very friendly staff. The beaches around the hotels are AMAZING ! with a white sand. Unforgetable place.. its along way from Makasar to be Bira, but when you arrive, you feel to be in Paradise

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight because when you walk outside resort is dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Handhika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We lodged in Amatoa resort last end of September for 3nights, we booked the room through Christ, the dive master and manager of Bira Divers. They have 7 amazing and huge rooms decorated with incredible good and original taste, we lodge the first night in room 2 in a bed "over a boat" and after that, we got alone in the resort, and the staff offer us to change to room 3 which is in front of the swimming pool, we appreciated that. All the rooms are like a huge exotic suite in a tropical 5 start resort. The pool, the views, the relax and calm and the incredible corals and sea in front of the resort are some other advantages of the resort, you can access to the sea through a step stairs and snorkel for a while and coming back to rest in the pool whie you see the sunset and have a beer or coffee into the pool (we made that everyday).

About the mainteinance of the resort, I did not find the resort in bad condition, considering that they have a lot of wood there and the place is in the rainy tropics and some meters from the sea. I found out that the resort is 6 years old, and you realised how the tropical weather can degradate the wood but I knew that they are constantly mending and working with that. We did not find a destroyed place like someone said.

There is indonesian staff there (1 man in charge of maintenaince and 2 or3 women in restaurant and housekeeping) it was enough, they speak basic english but if you need more explanations, you can talk with Chris from Bira Divers who come to the resort to see you. I do not expect to have a receptionist everyday there for a 7roomresort. We went there for beaching and diving but I had an problem with my ear diving in Gili Air and I could not dive in Bira, so we went on a boat trip to the island in front of Bira, which is nice but the people living there should in my opinion clean the beach which have too much rubbish along the sea shore if they want to have more tourist going there. There is a nice beach 3 km from Amatoa, but Bira beach is nice too and it is 5-10min from there. We went the first day to have dinner and lunch in Bira beach hotel but when we discovered "Bambu warung" on the second day, which is on the main road, we ate there every day. We ate there the cheaper and more delicious fish than anywhere. 30.000 to 35.000 rupies for a huge Snapper or other fish fried with Rica-Rica (veryhot) or Soja sauce. You ask to see the fish into the kitchen and you ask for the price, the woman will tell you the price. They are friendly and it is a good place to have a beer at evening after dinner.

We are just planning to come back to Bira to relax in Amatoa and to dive with Bira Divers. We will probably go further to Selayar for 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcanarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights, they arranged pick up at the airport. Journey from makassar was 5-6 hours, only to get out if the capital of Sulawesi took 1 hour. Roads are not so good in Sulawesi, speed by car was around 50km/hour.
Location of resort is fantastic, with wonderful view and amazing susnset.
Furnishing in the room od very nice, we had room Number 5 duch us at the pool and really specious. However rooms could be cleaner, same goes for outside bathroom. Also water in the pool was not the cleanest, but it was still ok. The set up of resort is stunning, with lots of areas for privacy.
People at resort were friendly, English speaking. Even though they didn't have it on menu, upon my request they did pancakes for me every breakfast, and you should try their fried bananas with honey and cheese, awesome!
We had fantastic relaxing time and if you are lucky you can be the only visitor in the resort.
The beach is maybe 10 min walking from resort, we did some snorkeling there and also went to island maybe 30min by boat from there. Generally the beach is not well maintained, this is totally not a touristic hot spot and not developed as what you can find in Bali or Thailand.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzanocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

So pity nobody take care of this amazing place situated on one of the nicest beach of indonesia, but looks like since the place has been built, no one went there to repair problems...i got a room and above my ceiling i could hear rats playing, its bloody too expensive for what u get, no lunch and dinner ready cause is always empty and the fridge they keep it empty too, breakfast with eggs and bananas. No wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hello Marco_Bertini.

I'm sorry that you had to have this bad experience at Amatoa Resort, and I would also like you to know that we are doing just what you are requesting in your review :). Since January 2013 we have a new management on the resort and we are working on all the problems that have been before so that people will have the magical experience the place is able to offer.

Thank you for your oppinion and I hope that we will have tha chance to welcome you again in the future to give you a better experience.

Best regards
Camilla Hansson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This resort is not operational, there are no staff on site, no check-in, no "restaurant" or bar, the pool is not clean it does not work, things are falling apart, like railings, stairs, ceilings etc, and the resort is STILL CHARGING FULL PRICE! We arrived and although the room is reasonably nice and the view outstanding, the rest of the resort is abandoned, we were the only guests. We felt like we were camping out. The website photos do not accurately depict the current condition of the resort. I am sure at one time the resort was worth the price but that is no longer the case. Once the pembantu, who did cook breakfast, left for the day we felt somewhat isolated, we could not contact anyone else besides her to communicate any of our needs, luckily we speak some Bahasa Indonesian. If you stay at this resort after reading this review it is your own damn fault if you are disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PecahPiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hello Dewi B.

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at Amatoa Resort and would just like to tell you that there has been a change in management since January 2013. We are now managing the resort with an english/indonesian speaking manager and we have put down a lot of effort on renovationg the resort so that it will get even better then it originally was.

Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the changes.

Best regards
Camilla Hansson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Amatoa Resort is a very cozy and peaceful place. You can feel an artistic soul there. The Resort is well maintained, rooms are very clean and arranged in a good taste. But... the property is located not 3,5 hours drive from Makassar as their website says. To get there we needed 6,5 hours using the transfer provided by resort. In my opinion it is very unfair that the owner of the resort gives unreliable information about the transfer time to the resort from Makassar. In this dishonest way he tries to encourage customers to stay there. Apart from the very long transfer there is one more disadvantage of this place. It is the diving service offered by the resort. Our main goal to stay at Amatoa Resort was exploring the coral reefs on Bira area, so we decided to book 4 days of diving at the resort. We've been diving in Indonesia for a couple of years in so many islands and we've never encountered such a low safety and quality diving service as here - some details below:
- The divemaster, who was provided by the resort, decided to go diving without taking into account the weather conditions, so we were struggling with 3 meter waves on a little boat for an hour to get to the divesite which was extremely dangerous!
- The boat was far from being a diving boat - it was very slow fishing boat with no place for diving equipment which was rolling in the boat on the big waves. It was far below even the indonesian standards.
- On the boat there was no even drinking water for divers!!!
- The divemaster didn't ask us about our diving experience before taking us for a check dive in the strong current. There was no dive briefing as well!
- We were asked to set up our equipment on very wave'y sea - after that we had to do a backdrop from the boat with no negative entry on 3 meter waves!!! We could have been hit by the boat.
- After we entered into the water the divemaster lost us after 7 minutes - it has never happened to us during many years of diving... (He was guiding only us - a couple) After we did the safety stop, we came up to the surface. Our divemaster came up after 30 minutes more than 500 meters from us...
After that we sent a massage to the owner of the resort, that we can't dive in this condition anymore for safety reasons and next day we left the place. He didn't even ask what was wrong and apologize for the "inconvinience". We were only informed that we can try to dive with other dive center...
It shows his attitude to his customers - nothing else to add...

Room Tip: Nice place to stay but don't dive with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Dugong79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla H, Director of Sales at Amatoa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hello Dugong79.

I just read your review and I am really sorry that you had this experience at our resort. For now I just want to let you know that there is a new management at the resort since January 2013, and I really hope that we will be able to show you a better time if you decide to return to Bira some day.

We also work closely with a new diveshop in Bira and are also starting up a dive camp on the beach of Bira so I can guarante you that the safety of the diving will never be as you had to experience it again.

About the time from Makassar I can't do anything but exuse on the owners behalf, and let you know that the new roadwork is ready by now. Which make the time by car approx 4 hours depending on traffic.

I'm sorry for your bad experience and I really hope we get to show you a better time with the new management running :).

Best regards
Camilla Hansson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bira
0 mi away
Salassa Guest House
1.5 mi away
Bara Beach Bungalows
1.1 mi away
Cosmos Bungalows
Cosmos Bungalows
#1 of 18 in Bira
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bira Youzard Guest House
Bira Youzard Guest House
#3 of 3 in Bulukumba
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bira Panda Beach 2
Bira Panda Beach 2
#6 of 13 in Bira
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nini`s Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatoa Resort

Address: Jalan Pasir Putih 6, Bira, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Bira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Price Range: £80 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amatoa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatoa Resort is built on the most southern cliff top of South Sulawesi. You can directly jump into the amazingly clear sea full of beautiful tropical fishes. Day trips to the famous boat builders and to small islands with white sandy beaches will be organized. Great diving and snorkeling opportunities. Easy access through the International Airport of Ujung Pandang/Makassar or by cruise ship from Bali. Enjoy luxury hotels on east indonesia and an unforgettable holiday in Amatoa Resort's unique, elegant, tropical style, oceanfront bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amatoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatoa Resort Bira, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing