We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recomment this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salassa

Salassa
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I highly recomment this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I can highly recomment Salassa Guest House and Restaurant in Pantai Bira, South Sulawesi. It is a very cozy and hospitable guesthouse and restaurant. The food prepared with love and fresh ingredients is very exquisite. The portions are large and reasonably priced. The owner and cook Chanty is very keen to please their guests and always ready for a nice chat. The rooms are clean and cozy. The price performance ratio is well spoken aloud. I felt very comfortable here and can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anirahtak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bali chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Everything we had was delicious - especially the Bali chicken dish, there is a bit of a wait but everything is made fresh so it's worth it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Red_Sonja_SVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“By far the best restaurant in Indonesia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Shanty who is the co-owner and cook of this small ,but fantastic restaurant has a message with chalk on a small black board on one of the walls. The Message says: We prepare our food with Love. And Love needs Time.Please be Patient.You are worth it.
And the food is absolutely mouth watering delicious.
And the service is not slow ,either.
But in this small place you may enjoy the best of Indonesia

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By far best restaurant in Pantai Bira”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

During our four day stay in Bira we went there every night for dinner and once for lunch, this is by far the best restaurant in this town. Everything is freshly cooked to order, great local fish with delicious Indonesian-/Sulawesi-style sauces. As an appetizer, try the guacamole served with homemade kroepok - full of garlic and very delicious. The only (little) downside is that they need quite some time after you've ordered, but you're on holiday anyway, so this does not really bother.
The couple that runs the place create a nice and very welcoming atmosphere and do, unlike many other people in the Indonesian tourist industry, speak very good English. All facts considered, the place to go to in Bira; no wonder the place is crowded every night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is the best restuarant in Bira. Frendly and very warm owners. They serve delicious fresh fish food. Take also guacamole is perfect appetizer.
The price is normal a liitlebit high range but worth.
Higly recomended from our familly

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salassa also viewed

 
Bira, South Sulawesi

Been to Salassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing