We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Cultural Experience”
Review of Maasai Simba Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maasai Simba Camp
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were a group of 14 of family members and friends who had the good fortune to stay at the Maasai Simba Camp as our last stop on a 2 week tour of Rwanda,Tanzania and Kenya. The driving force behind this effort is a Maasai named Kakuta Ole Maimai, who went to Evergreen College in Olympia, WA, on a scholarship, did graduate work in Vermont, met and married an American woman and started a foundation, the Maasai Association, to help build schools and a health center in their area of Kenya, which is not far from Amboseli National Park and Mt.Kilimanjaro (which is in Tanzania). The camp itself consists of sturdy huts, a few with en-suite bathrooms (the others share a very nice common facility), and a central meeting facility where delicious meals are served. We were treated to a Maasai wedding. Our group leader and his wife were the ones being married. It is a bit jarring to see a Maasai warrior talking on his cell phone, but that is an example of the meeting of cultures at the Maasai Simba camp. Stay there if you can arrange it. It is an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigjim32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were in a group and while on safari they put up all our tents. It was nice to come back after a long day and not have to worry about that. They put on a great meal for us and made a huge campfire to sit around in the evening.
I dropped a point on my review only because they had cold showers - but hey in Africa that is pretty well the norm.
At night we woke up to hear animals chewing the grass around our tents - we believe they were zebras.

Room Tip: Tenting so the room is only as clean as you keep it - LOL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A group of friends and I recently returned from a week long stay at Maasai Simba camp. It was one of the best vacation experiences of my life.
Our guide was named Kakuta and he is a Maasai warrior that was educated in the US. He’s a great guide and has a wonderful and unique perspective on Maasai life and how the rapidly changing world is impacting it.
The best part of the trip was the interaction with the Maasai people. We went on photo safaris with Massai warriors as our guides and animal spotters. They were able to spot animals hidden in the bush or far, far off on the horizon. The warriors also led us on morning walks on the savannah to get an up close experience with the land and some of the local animals. We visited residents in their traditional Maasai huts made of mud and cow dung. It was incredible to see families living in these tiny dwellings. We were also able to spend some time with a group of Maasai women to ask them questions about their culture and lives from a woman’s perspective.
The accommodations at the camp were rustic but actually much nicer than I had expected. There were flush toilets and showers with hot water (heated by a wood burning fire). The meals they prepared for us were excellent and I actually gained a little weight while I was there. Their cook prepared a variety of delicious meals for us which used local ingredients and combined western and local dishes.
This is not the experience for someone needing a five star hotel. However, if you’re interested in learning about the Maasai culture and getting a glimpse into their daily lives I would highly recommend a stay at the Maasai Simba Camp.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gettingoutoftherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Our group spent 5 days living at Maasai Simba Camp. We loved it! It was a great way to see first hand how the people of this Maasai village live on a day to day basis. Staying at Simba Camp allowed us to have some of the comforts of home like running water, bathrooms, great food, etc. while still being able to see and learn about the tradional way of life. Our guides were great! They took very good care of us while we were in Simba Camp and also for four additional days of safaris in Maasai Mara and Amboseli. This was a great way to experience Kenya without just being a "tourist".

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank atelierfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli National Park hotels
30.3 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
772 reviews
28.5 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
118 reviews
27.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
821 reviews
0 mi away
WE4Kenya Guesthouses
WE4Kenya Guesthouses
#5 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maasai Simba Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maasai Simba Camp

Address: Merrueshi Ranch, Amboseli National Park 90121, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: £126 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maasai Simba Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maasai Simba Camp is in the heart of the Maasai country. The camp is 100% owned and managed by the Maasai tribe. The camp is built by hand, authentic with a rustic charm unlike any other average safari camp or lodge in Kenya. The camp has been designed to give guests the feel that it is part of the Maasai homestead. The camp offers 10 cottages and 2 Hemingway style tents - each with its own private veranda. Each tent is beautifully furnished with all the usual amenities; it's simple and elegant at the same time. The camp offers clients the most authentic cultural and safari experience in Kenya. Activities include daily walking safari lead by the Maasai warriors, excursion to Amboseli National Park, meeting with Maasai elders and the women cooperative. Your stay at the camp brings tangible benefits to the Maasai community. The camp operates a local school, health center, and clean water project for the village. This is one of the most remarkable-and unique-journeys you'll ever take to Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Maasai Simba Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing