We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location right in the heart of Amboseli Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Amboseli Serena is a large game lodge right in the heart of Amboseli Park. We had great views of Mt. Kilimanjaro and saw huge herds of elephant just minutes outside the lodge. Our room was decorated in an animal theme and was very comfortable. As others have mentioned, there are curious little Vervet monkeys all around which I personally found entertaining. The meals are buffet style and there is always a station that will prepare fresh eggs in the morning and stir fry or pasta at lunch and dinner. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Overall a great place to stay if you are visiting Amboseli.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Amboseli Serena Lodge lies in the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro besides a copse of giant Acacia trees and a gently flowing natural spring. All around the Amboseli Serena Lodge roam the big game that has made East Africa legendary - lions, buffalos, elephants, cheetahs, giraffes, baboons, gazelles and wildebeests.We took our five clients with our company (continental Tours and Travel Co. ltd) and stay here for two nights.Their food is execellent and their service too.Their rooms were superb and our guests really enjoyed their stay.They say seen is believing, book your night here and you will never regreat.

Room Tip: Just ask good room with best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed at Serena Amboseli for 2 nights in May 2013. The property is 40 years old and the age does show. Overall quite well maintained but since it is right in the Park, there are a lot of Mosquitoes, Geckos (Lizards) and insects. Serena does provide good nets, repellents etc. Another problem is the Simian menace. Lots of Monkeys to deal with. Please don't feed them. It makes them aggressive and they trouble other people. Facilities are there for conferences and seminars too.
Food is decent. Game drives are good. Lots of elephants and we also saw a Lion Kill. The grass was shorter than Masai Mara and hence visibility good. Do go on the Observation Hill for a breath taking view of the park and of course Mt. Kilimanjaro. Its a snow covered mountain on the equator and the snow is fast receding and will disappear by 2025 or so hence make this trip fast. Splash pool is decent. Staff is friendly .
The close by Masai village is quite authentic and less touristy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniketraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was not sure whether to give an average or very good rating, so this is definitely on the high side of average. Service was good, despite it being a large lodge (capacity for almost 200 people) they manage to split the dining rooms so that you do not feel overcrowded.

BUT food is pretty awful. If you are not in love with Indian food, you can halve your options even further, since every other dish is masala or curried something-or-other. Don't get me wrong, I like Indian food, but I could do with a bit more variety. Breakfast was good - lots of fresh juices - but lunch and dinner were same-same. We only stayed 2 nights and by the second day, I really felt that I was eating the same thing over, so if you are on a longer stay, worse luck.

Sound also carries ... we could hear people stomping around outside our room, the music from what sounded like a party on our first night, voices from next door ... so if you come to listen to the peace and quiet of the African bush, you are probably in the wrong lodge.

Game-wise, the Mara is better, but Amboseli is closer to Nairobi (albeit along the disastrous Mombasa single-lane, traffic-choked road which the government refuses to upgrade to any decent standard). And of course you have spectacular views of Kilimanjaro.

Amboseli is a bit of a dust bowl, and while its lovely to see the eles, they have also caused a lot of damage in terms of pushing over the trees, so you won't find many giraffe or other animals which shy away from open, dusty savannah.

Oh, and as for the Maasai village, definitely go there, do the tour, and speak to people - but DO NOT BUY ANYTHING!!! The village is truly fascinating, the guides are friendly, and the entrance of $30 per person is definitely worth it, but as for the market, they are just taking the piss!! We selected some trinkets out of courtesy which would have cost no more than $20 max anywhere else (lets face it, the Maasai stuff is everywhere, I doubt they actually make any of it in the village - you can even buy it cheaper at the entry gate to the park) - and they asked us for $200!!!! Not $50 or $80 but $200! I felt this was almost disrespectful, given that we had paid the entry fee and were now put under pressure to buy goods which were clearly so vastly over-inflated in price.

I have been in Kenya long enough to know the prices, and was simply shocked - and I am sure that some tourists feel embarrassed or under pressure, and end up paying way over the odds. I basically walked away, but it left a bad taste in the mouth, and to avoid that, I would suggest politely but firmly avoiding the market altogether, and buying your trinkets elsewhere...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Love the themed rooms at Amboseli Serena. Great place to stay while visiting Amboseli. Food was good with a a good selection (including some local specialities). Staff friendly. Location wise quite within the park so drive out of the gate and your are in the park.

Pros
Location
Accommodation
Staff

Cons
Mosquitos Menace (especially at night)

Room Tip: Ensure you carry a insect repellent. Mosquitos can be a bit of a problem in the open areas (outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulPratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very nice rooms with beds with mosquito nets. Meals were very good here as well. There are a lot of monkeys in the area which might be quite annoying sometimes. I didn't mind though. Very nice experience indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LariEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

JAMBO, JAMBO!
From mosquito net / animal themed bedrooms to Maasai Tribesman restaurant greeter! A great welcome to Kenya. The Lodge is well set out with rooms stretching out from the central reception/bar/restaurant. Our room was shaded behind some trees, but from other rooms & from the pool/bar area you look out over the savannah to forever!

The restaurant was well attended & the meals whilst simple were very well cooked & presented. The hot al carte service was well balanced with buffet style extras. The breakfasts were too good, I love a great breakfast & took full advantage whilst I was there. The chef quickly learned how much chili I liked in my morning omelette & had it ready after the 2nd morning.

The setting was spot on, right in the centre of the park. The park maybe the best of the ones we visited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the savannah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
386 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
820 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
118 reviews
30.3 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 2 in Amboseli National Park
47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: £221 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing