We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice oasis in the savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This lodge deserves 3.5 rating as it has good wi-fi, good food, good character and good rooms with small open balconies. The rooms don't have a safe nor a view over the surrounding plains. However, the reception, dining and bar staff are courteous, well trained and speak good English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911JohnA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Set in the Amboseli National Park, the Serena Lodge had much to offer as long as you don't wish to spend much time in your room. One person would be happy, but two is another problem. The bed is very tight as is the rest of the floor space. There is almost no place to store items and the bathroom is also limited in space. Where we were we didn't even know there was a watering hole and no one bothered to mention it. The food was typical of the African experience which means it was better than ok, but not great! Staff was well trained and very helpful, but definitely slow in the dining room. Gift shop had good prices and a variety one might not expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank par521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Another great lodge on our safari. Our triple room was huge as was the bathroom. We can't comment on the dinner buffet as we had eaten at Carnivore's earlier in the day and had no room for dinner however, breakfast buffet was great. Our room was on the end and this made for a very peaceful night. Bug spray and wipes in the room was a great addition.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having visited Kilaguni, another lodge in the Serena chain, we had high hopes for Amboseli. Our room looked over what appeared to be a small, overgrown garden and was no where near the watering hole. It was quite away from the main building so the WIFi didn't work. The room was adequate but a little tired.
The staff here were certainly not as friendly as those we had experienced in the other places we had stayed and gathered in groups in the restaurant waiting to be asked for help rather than offering it.
There is a watering hole, but it is very well hidden by overgrown bushes and trees.
The food was ok but, once again, not in the same league as Kilaguni.
Maybe Serena management could send Amboseli staff to Kilaguni for some training?

Room Tip: You could Ask for a room overlooking the watering hole but the watering hole is very overgrown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although we had a very short stop here, after a long day on game drive we were very pleased with this lovely spot. The rooms have such character with plenty of space and comfy large bed. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, food was very good as well. Mosquito nets and spray provided. Only small down side was after an early morning game drive and breakfast, we came back to our rooms to find the towels had already been taken. Luckily we had showered the night before and were running short of time anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for two or three nights and felt the property, the park and everything about it was lovely.

Lots of great hotel sponsored activities, dining under the stars, lovely rooms and food to match.

Exotic, friendly, safe, wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We just spent 2 nights here at the beginning of a 2 week safari. This was our second visit and we were still blown away with all that is here. Staff is totally attentive, property has everything you could want. The rooms are comfy, clean and spacious. We had room for absolutely everything. The food is more than you can ever eat. Lots of comfortable spaces to hang out all over the places-- all inviting you to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
810 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#4 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
345 reviews
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: £237 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing