We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An unbelieveable place in the middle of nowhere. The location is excellent and the wildlife abundant. The views from the terraces and the restaurant are really good and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    238
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
188
261
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This lodge deserves 3.5 rating as it has good wi-fi, good food, good character and good rooms with small open balconies. The rooms don't have a safe nor a view over the surrounding plains. However, the reception, dining and bar staff are courteous, well trained and speak good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911JohnA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Bay
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Set in the Amboseli National Park, the Serena Lodge had much to offer as long as you don't wish to spend much time in your room. One person would be happy, but two is another problem. The bed is very tight as is the rest of the floor space. There is almost no place to store items and the bathroom is also limited in space. Where we were we didn't even know there was a watering hole and no one bothered to mention it. The food was typical of the African experience which means it was better than ok, but not great! Staff was well trained and very helpful, but definitely slow in the dining room. Gift shop had good prices and a variety one might not expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank par521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Another great lodge on our safari. Our triple room was huge as was the bathroom. We can't comment on the dinner buffet as we had eaten at Carnivore's earlier in the day and had no room for dinner however, breakfast buffet was great. Our room was on the end and this made for a very peaceful night. Bug spray and wipes in the room was a great addition.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having visited Kilaguni, another lodge in the Serena chain, we had high hopes for Amboseli. Our room looked over what appeared to be a small, overgrown garden and was no where near the watering hole. It was quite away from the main building so the WIFi didn't work. The room was adequate but a little tired.
The staff here were certainly not as friendly as those we had experienced in the other places we had stayed and gathered in groups in the restaurant waiting to be asked for help rather than offering it.
There is a watering hole, but it is very well hidden by overgrown bushes and trees.
The food was ok but, once again, not in the same league as Kilaguni.
Maybe Serena management could send Amboseli staff to Kilaguni for some training?

Room Tip: You could Ask for a room overlooking the watering hole but the watering hole is very overgrown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although we had a very short stop here, after a long day on game drive we were very pleased with this lovely spot. The rooms have such character with plenty of space and comfy large bed. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, food was very good as well. Mosquito nets and spray provided. Only small down side was after an early morning game drive and breakfast, we came back to our rooms to find the towels had already been taken. Luckily we had showered the night before and were running short of time anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for two or three nights and felt the property, the park and everything about it was lovely.

Lots of great hotel sponsored activities, dining under the stars, lovely rooms and food to match.

Exotic, friendly, safe, wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
746 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
111 reviews
18.1 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
404 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing