We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amboseli Serena Safari lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amboseli Serena Safari lodge”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here in January this year and loved it the people are lovely the service is excellant nothing to complain about. Used JT (Julius Tact) Safaris (Julius Nzumbi) for the second time (came three years ago) and as alway he was amazing nothing is too much trouble for him and had an amazing driver called joseph. Would recommend this lodge, rooms clean, variety of food would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    241
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
188
263
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Warm towels and a welcome drink are great after a drive on dusty roads to this lodge. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly and location is great with the occasional elephant passing by only 20m away from the terrace. The pool is cool and the food is decent. A good place to enjoy the Amboseli plains

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Iv just come from amboseli and I must say I had the most fullfilling experience.am a beach person so when my hubby suprised me with a birthday getaway in mara.I was abit annoyed but I got suprised how good it was.I loved it so much.
The employees are knowledgeable and very helpful.the food was good and meat tasted so nice.its so relaxing and I even wanted to stay longer.pool is clean and very quite.
the view is spectacular.
The rooms are very very clean..and the beds are very comfy
Its a perfect getaway for couples.we ended up even renewing our vows.I ll definitely go back again.I enjoyed every bit

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank belzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge in Amboseli, Kenya. Accommodation was of a good quality and food and Service also very good. They are consistently of good quality and the staff are friendly and well trained.

We went out on Safari in vehicles 4WD Safari Vehicles .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here one night on our way to Tsavo and then on to Mombasa.
On arrival we were greeted with cold drinks and a cool towel which was very welcome after a long drive from Nairobi.
Our room was the very last one on the right from the reception area. It was very nicely decorated with paintings of animals, and a balcony overlooking the garden, it felt like we were in our own little oasis. The bathroom was clean with plenty of supplies, even had mosquito wipes, in case you did not bring your own.
The Lodge itself was nicely decorated, with great views all around. The garden and grounds were well looked after, with a very nice swimming pool, unfortunately did not had time to use it. In the morning we watched the monkeys playing around on the way to the reception area. Great start to the day.
Lunch and Dinner was delicious with lots of choices. We had a great breakfast after our morning safari next day. You could choose hot, cold and everything in between with plenty of exotic fruits.
The staff was friendly and helpful. In the evening our bed was turned down and cocooned in mosquito nest. All in all, an excellent place to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights after two nights at Kilanguni Serena. As previous reviewer stated, not quite as good but great stay all the same.

Enjoyable drives through the park with views of hippos near the swamps. Observation Hill well worth the visit with fantastic panorama views of the park and Mt Kilimanjaro

Food excellent with plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meal. Complimentary tea and coffee are available in the lounge all day which is a nice touch. Rooms fairly small and quite dark but perfectly OK and all are located on the ground floor. Staff generally friendly and helpful

Nicely landscaped pool area with plenty of wildlife (monkeys particularly). Option to do nature walk in morning.

Visited Maasai village near to lodge which was interesting and worth seeing. We were asked to make a donation upon arrival by the village leader of 2000 KS each (approx £13). You are also invited to purchase hand made items for sale before leaving. ( I resisted!)

On checking out, were taken to the nearby air strip for a flight to Diani Beach for a week on the coast.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to lounge area have views over park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSLittleAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Serena Lodges & Resorts in Kenya. Stayed at the Nairobi Serena Hotel before beginning a Safari to Amboseli and Masai Mara National Park. Fantastic lodges with wonderful views, excellent service and food. I would highly recommend the Serena Lodges on a Safari - they are slightly more expensive then other standard lodges, but makes a safari holiday even more memorable when you receive excellent service and delicious meals together with 4WD Safari vehicles on game drives - (when you fly-in to the Serena Lodges.). Our planning was made easier by Safaris Online in the UK, who were great at recommending Serena Lodges and their expert advice on whether to drive to the Parks or fly-in. Definitely prefer the fly-in options. I would recommend Safaris Online to anyone planning a Kenya or Tanzania Safari. Serena Lodges are also available in Serengeti, Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro - with their luxury tent, Mbuzi Mawe in Serengeti a must for our next trip.

Room Tip: At Nairobi Serena - I recommend the upper floors whilst at other Serena Lodges, all views are wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonsamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
759 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
321 reviews
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
112 reviews
18.1 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing