We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Stay”
Review of AA Lodge Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AA Lodge Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to Stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

AA lodge is an Amazing place to stay with both rooms and tented options and since we were looking for a good bush feel we figured its would not be clever to leave the city life to go stay stay in a four walled room so we got the chance to stay in their tents.

The Tents are very clean, good bathrooms all tiled up and spacious with hot showers, nice fluffy towels too.

The night sounds are awesome and the lodge enjoys plenty of bird life to wake you up early in the morning so as to have a good glance at Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Meals are good, treatment is right so try no other place.

We were taken here by Kichakani Sunset safaris

Room Tip: If you want something different from you city life, insist on their tents, they are simple but have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    37
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
22
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The property is new and they are yet to get their critical mass of customers - but I think that makes them work harder!

The drive to the AA lodge is extremely dusty (as is true for most of the safari circuit, we realised later!), but the welcome is warm with traditional music & cool fresh drink! The property is divided into two areas. As you walk from the reception, on one side are the tented camps and on the other the cottages. We were booked in two cottages, as we were travelling with family. The room sizes are massive! The cottage has a tiny verandah in the front with chairs & a table. We had a very large bed & a small bed for our 4 year old, yet there was place to dance around in the room. The room itself is a bit sparse & could do with a few art pieces, but its very clean & well appointed. There are tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom is a long corridor like room, but has hot showers & a hair drier. They have mosquito nets for all beds, though we didnt face mosquito problems at all.

All meals were inclusive, they have a central dining room. The meals are buffet style & there is a few options to choose from. But we weren't really impressed with the food. They do seem to have traded quality with quantity - however, after a long day out in the bush, all you need is hot food & that is available here. After dinner they do have a Masai dance around a bon-fire, which is nice & cosy.

Our cottages were at the absolute end of the property, so we had uninterrupted views of the bush, the Kilimanjaro, but the night sky was absolutely stunning giving us clear views of the Milky way. Lights go out at 22:30 hours here, but its lovely to sit out in the verandah at night.

The early morning views of the sunrise was beautiful. There is a swimming pool as well as a spa here, but we didnt use either, so cant comment about that.

But if you are visiting Amboseli national park, I would recommend a stay here - its close by & its comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages at the very end, but carry a torch for the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This place should aims at Chinese mass tourism market (they must have more than 120 beds). Tents and cottages have been cramped together leaving very little privacy. The design is outdated and feels industrial. This is the supposed to be the land of 'wide open spaces' - not so at Amboseli AA Lodge. Many tents have no view of the mountain, all you see is the tent in front of you and its solar water heater. When in Amboseli stay elsewhere. This place is all about quantity and not quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson M, Sales Executive at AA Lodge Amboseli, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for the review, AA LODGE AMBOSELI is the newest 'Jewel' in Amboseli National Park committed to offering A-Class hospitality experiences to its esteemed guest from all walks of life. We only have a total of 60 rooms with a capacity of 120 guests-This means creation of jobs to the local maasai community and adding up to the needed room capacity to accommodate huge number of visitors to Amboseli National Park.
We have tents,lodge and superior rooms all with private balconys- a few dont have a clear view of Mt Kilimanjaro but we advice our guest to always let us know in advance their room special requirements though in a clear sky day, our guest can view Mt kilimanjaro from alll the public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've been in hospitality for 36 years and currently in the midst of opening a business in Kenya, Kiboko Yao Safaris and Tours,.Unfortunately we stayed here for only a day though we would've loved to have stayed longer. There is nothing here to fault! Believe me being in hospitality you look for faults. Everything from the time we arrived and were greeted by the staff with a traditional greeting song and a complimentary drink till the time we left everything was exceptional.The food, the rooms, the scenery etc were all superb.I cant believe they are new which is a tribute to the management and the owners,
We were so impressed that we will be bringing our guests to this and all other AA Lodge facilities throughout Kenya when they open up. Thank and enjoy this wonderful place - Jim Karadimas

Room Tip: bring a good camera as the views from here are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machakos, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for just one night, but the staff was excellent and catered to our every need. The meals are free with the lodging and the food is truly excellent. They provided us with a free guide for a fame drive when their vehicle broke down so we had to use our own. When we had car problems ourselves, about 5 of their staff immediately came to our assistance and had us up and running in only about 10 minutes. The facilities are beautiful. There were not many people staying here when we were there and we have no idea why. Perhaps it has not yet gained a reputation since it is a newer place or maybe it is not popular because it is located just outside the park, but it ought to receive more business than it does right now!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I lack words to describe the beauty of this amazing place!!From their strategic location,they have excellent facilities.Their accommodation comes in a style of an art,spotlessly polished and the elegant beds perfectly spread.Their dining experience is another thing i can't go without mentioning,they got this mouth watering delicacies prepared by their professional chefs who also go a step further to ensure that u get more memorable dinning experience by organizing bush breakfast/dinner.Amazing!!
I bet this is the best place to relax and unwind from the hustles and bustles of life!!Their beauty spa comes with a variety of treatments and the masseuse who is specialized in aroma therapy just knows exactly how to handle your fatigue .The pool is refreshing and the cocktails served at the bonfire place are the bomb!!
The experience you get here turns your moments in to memories!!!It's a home away from home!!!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms for more luxury experience,you can view the snow caped mountain at the comfort of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I had a walk to these place in Amboseli and i luck words,the place is so amazing,beautiful and environmental friendly, talk of a safari at the National park you will wonder since you will start seeing Animals just you are few meters from the lodge.
I will leave to miss the Jewel of Africa.Timothy thanks for the walk we had, looking forward to join you soon!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanai_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
2.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
822 reviews
9.7 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
732 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 2 in Amboseli National Park
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
47 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kilima Safari Camp
Kilima Safari Camp
#13 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AA Lodge Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AA Lodge Amboseli

Property: AA Lodge Amboseli
Address: Po Box 111, Amboseli National Park 00209, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AA Lodge Amboseli 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA LODGE AMBOSELI is strategically located 4km outside Amboseli National Park main gate (Kimana Gate). Conveniently within the Emali-Loitoktok highway, it is 240 km from Nairobi, 90 km from Namanga and 16 km from Amboseli airstrip.The lodge is set in 60 acres of land and commands a strategic location due to its proximity to the park, the authentic culture of the local Maasai Community and the panoramic views of the snow caped Mt. Kilimanjaro, the world’s highest free standing mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your AA Lodge Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing