We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of AA Lodge Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AA Lodge Amboseli
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lunch and dinner options were extremely limited (choice between two items for each course), especially for vegetarians, and the posted menu seemed pointless as it changed at a whim. Buffet breakfast was the best meal of the day. The packed lunch provided for the safaris was laughable--we were given completely inedible (grass green) bananas and the chef disregarded allergy restrictions after specific requests. The lodge played extremely loud music late into the night. We stayed in one of the safari tents, which had a very cheap and "slapdash" feel. Also, the wiring between the light switches and room lights was a bit of a Rubik's cube in terms of the right combination of switches to hit to have light. The room and reception staff were excellent, however. I would recommend avoiding this place and honestly doubt it will be open a year from now.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aubiefan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson M, Director of Sales at AA Lodge Amboseli, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your Experience .Its regretable that it ended up to be a negative one but the management of the lodge has taken this reveiw very seriously and immediate actions has been taken to ensure our guests are guaranteed A-Class hospitality experiences and ultimate memories after their stay.

Already, the lodge has recruited one of the best chefs with good knowledge of international cuisine who will ensure our guests get quality meals and food variety in every meal.For the music, AA LODGE AMBOSELI is the best destination for holiday, conferencing, product launch, team building and we try as much as possible to satisfy each an every client. For this, we have designated some rooms far from the conference hall to be used for our guest who dont like any disturbance at night especially when we have a group with a small party.

AA LODGES prides itself in having the best rooms with choices; classic tents, classic cottages as well as superior rooms. Its always adviceable to give us your best choice since the rooms have different facilities.

AA LODGES is growing very fast as a new chain of hotel in Kenya and we look forward to offering the best services and ultimate experiences after learning and getting feedbacks from our guests on what need to be done to guarantee Quality service.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    36
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
22
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This large lodge is located just outside of Amboseli National Park, maybe 4 kilometres from one the entrances. If the weather is nice you can see the Kilimanjaro. The lodge has both tents and rooms, and both of them are large. What makes this lodge absolutely outstanding is its staff - the best I had in Kenya. I felt welcomed and treated almost like a friend. The managing director, the F&B manager, the waiter trainees and just everybody else were all so friendly.

Room Tip: When you arrive ask the staff to show you all room/tent categories before you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson M, Director of Sales at AA Lodge Amboseli, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
It was great hosting you and we look forward to seeing you, your friends or family members in the near future whenever You/they plan travelling to Kenya.We have now grown and we have a new hotel in Masai Mara open for operations by July 2014.

Our staffs are well trained and proffessionals in their area of specialization guaranteeing Total Quality Assurance. Most of them are learned local Maasai proffessionals known for their hospitality.
Thanks and Karibu again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visiting Amboseli National Park, we stayed for one night in AA Lodge about 1 km from the park gate. Everything spacious and luxury, our big Safari tent had a huge bed and a laminat floor. Nice bar, also WLAN. The kitchen crew did an excellent job, we got the best food we had on our trip, The staff performed a welcome song. As a Topping, the Kilimanjaro view is included.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I went to AA Lodge late last year (2013) with 5 of my friends. This hotel is nothing like we expected. We had a mentality of spending our night in a tented accommodation with no nice facilities and experience. To our surprise, we were welcomed with a high class service, nice looking & established structures. The swimming pool was magnificent with an enticing layout.

The rooms had no difference with Lodges in Naivasha or Hotels in Nairobi.

Meals are served on Buffet and their foods are tasty, fresh and addictive.

Staff here are very helpful and concerned.

The lodge is 1 or 2 KM from Kimana gate, making it perfect for the early morning and late evening game drives.

However, the grass on the compound seemed dried up. There requires some polish up on the compound.

I would go here again and again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for luxury kindly spend your night in superior rooms or cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliudMatigari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

AA lodge is a fantstic place esp for families with young kids, i travelled with three kids under 12 and they really enjoyed, the food is great, staff over friendly and the cottaged are beatifully designed for great ambience and comfort.Did i forget to mention the masaai dance at night.! kids literally dragged me out of dinner every night to go dance with the masaai's.

Room Tip: cottages are very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We made a last-minute booking through a travel agency in Nairobi, but found when we arrived that the only guests that weekend besides us were three other tourists from the same agency. We were allowed to pick whether we wanted a cottage or a tent, and chose a tent. They took us to one with a view of Kilimanjaro. The room looked a bit dusty, and the bed was a bit small once it had the mosquito net open (and the net was absolutely necessary), but the water was warm, we slept well, and our belongings were kept safe in the safe box. The food was really good, and there were nice options at each meal, including for vegetarians. The owner came to chat with us when we arrived, and told us how new the place is, and that it only really fills up when Chinese tour groups come through. It is really really massive, but all very beautiful. The chef also came to speak with us, and the staff were all friendly and chatty. It was slightly odd to be so alone in this big place, and there seem to be far more staff than necessary, but the location is as close as possible to the park. Some of our best elephant sightings were actually between leaving the hotel and reaching the entry to the park.

Room Tip: I didn't see the tents, but I think if you ask for a room with particular attributes (like a Kil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of October in 2013. We arrived late to the Lodge (20:00) but the staff were waiting for us in front of the entrance and they played music. That was very nice. After getting to our bungalows we realized that we were the only guests. (2 couples) The Lodge was completely empty. That's why we enjoyed the being alone and they treated us like a Queen. In our second night the cook had cooked what I told him and that was delicious. (Indian food) The rooms are very big, sitting around the pool was nice. They need to improve many things, there are no big trees but on a clear day you can see Klimanjaro. It is outside of the National Park, that's why it is cheaper then the others.
I was in Amboseli 4 years ago and at that time I stayed in Ol Tukai Lodge. It is one of the best Lodge's in Amboseli.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
1.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
9.7 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#6 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
28.5 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 1 in Amboseli National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AA Lodge Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AA Lodge Amboseli

Property: AA Lodge Amboseli
Address: Po Box 111, Amboseli National Park 00209, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AA Lodge Amboseli 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA LODGE AMBOSELI is strategically located 4km outside Amboseli National Park main gate (Kimana Gate). Conveniently within the Emali-Loitoktok highway, it is 240 km from Nairobi, 90 km from Namanga and 16 km from Amboseli airstrip.The lodge is set in 60 acres of land and commands a strategic location due to its proximity to the park, the authentic culture of the local Maasai Community and the panoramic views of the snow caped Mt. Kilimanjaro, the world’s highest free standing mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your AA Lodge Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing