We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Solo Traveller” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mumbul Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mumbul Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Anturan B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Happy Solo Traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Positives:
The Wifi was great.
The room was great. Big and lots of space.
Loved the view onto the neighboring padi fields
Staff was helpful
Enjoyed the availability of dvds.

Negatives:
The restaurant could have had more food to serve. Considering in the tropics that food goes off quickly, the hotel could introduce a system, where if a guest wants to have dinner in the hotel, they inform the staff by 4pm, then the staff could acquire the ingredients and serve a fresh meal with no worries of wastage.
They served orange juice for breakfast. I think watermelon or pineapple juice would be more appropriate considering we're in Bali.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WahidahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback from reviews so we can know how we can improve our place. Thank you for the suggestion for our restaurant. Some of our dishes need to be ordered in advance, such as Ayam Betutu (grill chicken with Balinese spices). We do put together dinner packages for guests, where they can order lunch or dinner in advance, which is ideal for families or groups. We shop almost daily for food for breakfast and the restaurant. We have been in business for over a year now and we do have plans to develop our restaurant further. The menu has already been updated several times and we are always open to any suggestions for new menu ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
48
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The guest house itself was nice, with clean spacious rooms and great breakfast However, the location is a real let down, Anturan has nothing going on at all so you really have to have your own transport to do anything. We had been looking forward to meeting Mike and Ammanda after hearing rave reviews about their service but found Mike, who we saw most of, pretty vague at best. The food in the restaurant was good and prepared fresh which was lovely, but Mike and Ammanda disappeared as soon as we sat down, and there was always staff sitting in the restaurant area smoking or sleeping on the floor - overall the atmosphere felt rather odd!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback on our place and the service we provide, where we are doing well and where we can improve.

Anturan, where our guesthouse is located, is a quiet fishing village on the north coast of Bali. We are surrounded by farmland and ricefields. Tourist development is low key and the people who come here enjoy the quiet and peaceful surroundings.

Since we are near the beach, most of the activities are water based, like snorkeling, swimming, fishing and what Lovina is famous for, dolphin watching. You can also go hiking in the mountains and see rice terraces and beautiful waterfalls. There are many temples to see in the area, including the Buddhist temple in Dencarik. The nearby hot springs are also popular with guests. Some activities are directly accessible in Anturan, while others you do need transport.

Bemos are the local form of public transport and travel up and down the coast. Many tourists rent scooters and drive around themselves. We have a car with our own driver, who can also drive you around. Our tours are reasonably priced and are a great way to visit places less frequented by tourists. We also provide two bicycles which can be used by guests for free.

We provide all of this information in a book which we have personally written and already updated several times. It is available in the restaurant and all of the guest rooms. We have also spent a great deal of time creating our website so guests can have a clear understanding of where our guesthouse is located, the facilities we provide and activities that are available.

We also provide recommendations for nearby restaurants. Lovina doesn't have the nightlife options like the south, but there are a couple of nightclubs in the area and in Kalibukbuk. In Anturan on the beach you will find some places that have live music. Many of the young guys love singing and playing guitar. The people are very friendly and if you spend a few days here you will get to know some of the local characters. Some guests have made friends with people in the area and have visited their homes and have experienced Balinese ceremonies with them.

We, the owners of Mumbul live on site and we are available 24/7 if guests need any kind of assistance. I am sorry that this perhaps wasn't the ideal spot for your holiday, but we love living here and we do our best to ensure our guests enjoy it also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Mumbul Guesthouse and we loved every moment of our stay here. Mike and Ammanda are very welcoming, and were willing to help with any requests we asked for. During our stay, Mike and Ammanda helped organise for us to have massages and go snorkeling at the amazing Menjangan Island. One of the highlights of our trip was a cooking class where we experienced all the sights and smells of the local market and then cooked what we had bought at the guesthouse with our chef.
The bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious and the outdoor bathroom was great.
Thank you to all staff at Mumbul Guesthouse for making this such a memorable trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The guesthouse has only 4 rooms which makes that it is really calm. The swimming pool although not very large is nice to swim in after a day excursion. The owners are very helpfull and we booked with them a.o. the dolphin tour, lovina tour and the transfer to the gili islands.
The only negative point is that the breakfast is poor; it is always the same they are giving although prepared in a different way. If you have a good appetite it is not sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Mie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The feedback is incredibly valuable to us, so we can continue trying to improve our accommodation and service. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. Our aim is to provide a nutritious and appetizing breakfast, while keeping the price of our rooms low. Having said that we are currently planning a new breakfast menu with greater options, to suit a variety of tastes. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Indonesia and we hope to see you again some time at Mumbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our three week stay at Mumbul Guesthouse is one my family will always remember. We had a wonderful time. As soon as we walked through the gates, we felt at home. Mike and Ammanda are gracious hosts, providing us with all our needs. Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the family room which was more than adequate. Our daughters aged 10 and 6 described it as "a palace". The king size bed and two large singles were very comfortable, with crisp clean sheets. The attached outdoor bathroom was also spacious and a fun novelty. The room also has a lounge setting and DVD player, which was relaxing for our girls after a busy day of sight seeing.

The pool is devine. We swam every day, surrounded by the lush green garden.

The friendly staff spoke little English but this was never a problem. It was a great learning experience for our children.

We had many enjoyable meals in the restaurant. The prices were cheap and the food delicous. Their menu also includes some western meals, which can be handy for "fussy little eaters". Mumbul also offer a cooking class which was a highlight of our trip. The class involves going to the local market to buy supplies and returning to cook your choice from the menu. It was one of the best lunches we had and there was more than enough left over for our dinner!

Mike and Ammanda were able to suggest many things to do in Lovina and surrounding areas. We were lucky to see the dolphins, go snorkelling and visit many local restaurants. I recommend some time out for a manicure, pedicure and massage - all which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Our family of four highly recommend Mumbul Guesthouse and are already planning a return trip, maybe next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are large and spacious. I recommend the family room if travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have just stayed at Mumbul Guesthouse for the 3rd time for just over a week. I keep returning because the rooms are large and well maintained, the beds are ever so comfortable that I enjoy a great nights sleep every night, the staff are friendly and keen to please, beautiful peaceful gardens for relaxing and most of all how clean and fresh the rooms and restaurant are kept.

As I often travel alone I am very aware of the need to be safe and secure whilst travelling and would definately recommend staying at Mumbul if you were also a solo traveller.

I had the oppotunity to use their driver to return me to the airport and he was professional and experienced.

The most difficult thing about staying at Mumbul is leaving!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leejaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our Stay at Mumbul was very comfortable and all the Staff were so friendly and helpful. After staying only 3 days here we wish we could have stayed longer. We did the cooking course with Renni and a visit to the local Market for the fresh produce was definately a must. See attached photos. The swimming pool was a welcome retreat after attending the tours of the day. Our drivers from Mumbul were exceptional thru the challenging Bali traffic of motor bikes and cars.
Thankyou Mike and Ammanda for your suggestions of local tours and our nightly chats were most enjoyable learning about the local culture and customs. We enjoyed the company of the family dog Abbey as we missed our family pet at home.
Christine and Brian

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine5776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anturan
1.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lovina Beach Hotel
Lovina Beach Hotel
#13 of 23 in Lovina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mumbul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mumbul Guesthouse

Property: Mumbul Guesthouse
Address: Gang Mumbul, Anturan 81119, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Wisata Mumbul)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Anturan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Anturan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mumbul Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mumbul Guesthouse is located in the fishing village of Anturan on the north coast of Bali. We have just eight rooms all of which have ricefield views. Breakfast is included in the price. We are a short walk to the beach. We have a large pool and offer free wifi internet. Our upstairs rooms offer beautiful views of the sea, ricefields and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mumbul Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbul Guesthouse Bali/Anturan, Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing