We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice place”
Review of Mumbul Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mumbul Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Anturan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite nice place”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A very good place with the carrying staff and owners. Rooms are surprisingly big, place is quite and peaceful overlooking the rice fields. Beach is not close at all, but it is a fisher village anyway, so you need a ride to get to a beach locatoin. Pool is clean and tranquil.
Food is slightly overpriced, but eating out is always an option, and owners will gladly share with you where to eat out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
48
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly, efficient and informative. The room itself was huge with an outdoor bathroom, fridge and TV to play DVD's of which there are a lot to choose from. There are only 4 rooms so it is quiet. It is situated next to a rice field and is beautiful to sit on the porch as the sun goes down and also to have breakfast next to the rice field.

Breakfast was good with choice of around 5 things including full cooked breakfast, pancake, muesli and fruit. Also there is food available all throughout the day. The pool is clean and well-maintained with lounge chairs and gazebo. There is also motorbike hire and two bikes which can be rented for free.

The location is quiet and a little further out from the main tourist part however getting around is easy. We hired a moto and went to Gitgit, Brahma Vihara, Banjar Hot Springs and Buleleng town. The hotel helped us arrange to see the dolphins it was 60,000 pp. Be warned this is a popular tourist activity and there are many boats at the same time. Nearby Mumbul, only 5 minutes walking, is the beach were you can hang at Rasta Warung or similar and have a few drinks and dinner while the sun is setting.

This place is good to go if you are needing to escape the more touristy parts of Bali. Mike and Amanda are always around if anything is needed. We would recommend this place and if we return to Lovina will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for a number of nights whilst diving in and around Lovina.

The room itself was MASSIVE complete with a sofa and TV etc which was fantastic for the price. Rooms was clean, bed was large and comfortable, bathroom was clean and decent and the a/c worked well. Breakfast was acceptable.

Location wise it was a fair way out of central Lovina so you would need to rent a car or motorbike if you wanted to explore the town.

Hosts seemed a little reserved whilst we were there, but other than that everything was good.

Overall, it'd recommend if your looking for a reasonably priced place to stay and have access to a vehicle so that you can explore the area.

Not sure why there are so many comments about the internet; don't most people go on holiday to explore and see the world rather than sit in front of a screen.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent 6 nights here and would have loved to have stayed forever! The view from our room was amazing (overlooking rice paddies) and we enjoyed the sounds of the local wildlife. The fact this guesthouse only has 4 rooms ensures a peaceful, relaxing stay. Room and bathroom was large and clean (with a comfy king sized bed), aircon and hot water worked great. The room did not have a fridge or kettle (you can hire a fridge for a small additional daily charge) however this was not an issue as cold water and coffee/tea could be purchased from the restaurant at cheap prices. Great choice for breakfast (included) and it was the best we’ve had in Bali so far! Although we only ate breakfast here the onsite restaurant also offered a variety of dishes for lunch/dinner at reasonable prices. Internet worked great the whole time we were there! Staff were friendly and could help you arrange anything you needed. Pricing for tours and scooter hire was on par with what you would pay on the street – which was refreshing as most hotels mark up the prices for these services. The information booklet in each room was a great little touch to let you know what was available in Lovina. The guesthouse is located 5 minutes walk to the beach and about a 5 minute scooter ride to central Lovina. Overall we loved this place (and found it exceptional value for money) and will definitely be returning on our next trip.
I can’t help but to add my bit regarding other reviews of this place. Firstly i would like to see any fishpond the size of the pool! The pool was more than adequate for the 4 guesthouses and i think this comment is very unfair. Also regarding the breakfast choices – the owners must of taken a previous reviewers advice because we could not fault the breakfast (and the orange juice was fresh). It is mentioned in the booklet that if you wish for your room to be serviced then to drop the key at front reception and it will be done. Honestly think of the environment – do you really need your sheets and towels changing everyday! And buying your own toilet paper doesn’t exactly break the bank. We found the staff very friendly and found it refreshing that they actually had a nice work environment where they could entertain themselves with TV when they were not busy. Oh and it’s not that hard to open the gate yourself when on a scooter (the staff are not our slaves). As for bugs yes we saw a coach roach (and we hate these things) but this has nothing to do with the cleanliness of the room and can’t really be helped considering the location. For the price we paid we got more than expected and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I had an amazing 2 weeks stay at Mumbul. Ammanda, Mike and the staff are very accommodating. I was supposed to stay for a week but I loved it so much, I extended!
The wifi was the fastest and most efficient out of all 6 places I stayed in whilst in Bali. The rooms are huge and clean as well as reasonably priced. There was always a good choice at breakfast and in general, the food is of a high quality. These guys have a very transparent, open and honest approach - one I didn't find everywhere in Bali. They helped me organise many tours and activities and are will always get you a reasonable price. I would not hesitate to recommend Mumbul Guesthouse. If I decide to go back to Bali, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent 11 nights here and we had a really good time. We did not go for the internet or the welcoming owners. We went for a rest and to have a good look around Lovina and sample their delightful but simple food.

There were a few problems with the room but they were dealt with quickly and I have no complaints about that. Unfortunately the breakfast was very boring and held very little nutrition to it. We did have a couple of words with Michael about that so am hoping that the people after us got some improvement.

Seemed like people only stopped a night or two and then moved on. The strangest thing was that I have no photos of this little place and it was probably I felt like I would be intruding as it was this couples residence. Never mind we had a relaxing time there. Would probably stay closer into the town if we came again. There were some lovely places to eat whilst there.

Room Tip: Not into open bathrooms so stayed in the Papua Room - there were only 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback that we can act on to make our place better for guests. Since you stayed at Mumbul, we have created a new breakfast menu, with a few different selections to suit a variety of tastes and diets. We have guests staying anywhere from one night to months at a time. We get quite a few people who work on the internet, writers and website developers, who seek a peaceful location, but with a good internet connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Really, my rating is 3.5. Guesthouse owners need a holiday, but I wish they had been around during our 3-day stay. We were told they were in Australia for Christmas/New Year's. It's probably hard to find staff who will look after a place as you would yourself. While I found the several men who were "in charge" to be friendly (and very good with opening the gate and giving a smile), they certainly could have done more. As the previous reviewer noted, the internet didn't work at all. Since this is one of the things the website brags about I did ask repeatedly if something could be done, but to no avail. The substitute staff set themselves up at one of the tables in the restaurant, and sat there smoking and watching the TV all day and all evening. We'd have liked to sit there, but it definitely felt like "their space." Even at breakfast time, the TV was blaring an Indonesian show - when none of the guests spoke Indonesian. Breakfast was about average for this class of bungalow. The room was clean when we arrived, but I don't understand why it wasn't cleaned daily. (Not changing sheets - but cleaning the bathroom, sweeping the room, and perhaps fresh towels after two nights.) I don't like the idea of having to ask - it should just be done! The pool is small but clean and pleasant to sit around or splash in. Bring mosquito repellant for early mornings and dusk. Other than the above, Mumbul guesthouse was fine - spacious room, good value (no problem with payment - wonder if the previous reviewer knew the deposit was only 50% of the total cost?), pleasant pool area. A working internet, daily room cleaning, and a welcoming restaurant area with fruit included in breakfast would have earned a 5 from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our place. I am sorry weren't able to meet you during your stay. Apparently there was a big storm while we were away, which broke our internet modem. It probably took longer than usual to get fixed as it happened during the New Year holiday. It has of course been fixed now and is working well. We are very reliant on the internet ourselves so we understand how important it is for our guests. Regarding the issues with our staff I have had a meeting with them and discuss the things you mentioned. We also plan to have daily housekeeping of our rooms, so thank you for this suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anturan
1.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
876 reviews
2.3 mi away
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Lovina Beach
28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mumbul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mumbul Guesthouse

Property: Mumbul Guesthouse
Address: Gang Mumbul, Anturan 81119, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Wisata Mumbul)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Anturan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Anturan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mumbul Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mumbul Guesthouse is located in the fishing village of Anturan on the north coast of Bali. We have just eight rooms all of which have ricefield views. Breakfast is included in the price. We are a short walk to the beach. We have a large pool and offer free wifi internet. Our upstairs rooms offer beautiful views of the sea, ricefields and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mumbul Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbul Guesthouse Bali/Anturan, Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing