We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK guesthouse in terrible location”
Review of Mumbul Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mumbul Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Anturan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Beware - this is not in Lovina and although the rooms are OK, the gardens are quite nice, the pool is nice and the breakfast is very good, there are some serious negatives that people should know about: the pillows were very old and two of them (albeit the ‘decorative’ ones) really needed to be thrown out – they were so old they had become very dark in colour. In the kids room, there were six cockroaches found – I know that from time to time cockroaches cannot be avoided, but the fact is that we haven’t seen any on this trip to Bali (in four other places) but six in this room – so it suggests some sort of problem. The staff in the garden area were not friendly – they didn’t smile or say hello, even when they had to deal with us. My wife told me that they didn’t even look at her. They were also relaxing in the ‘pergola’ and around the guest’s area, which made my wife very uncomfortable about even going to the pool, as she felt like she was being watched. We don’t mind it when people are around – in fact in other locations around Bali, where the staff have been much more friendly, we like it. However, when staff are not friendly it can then become a privacy issue. It is not 1.5 or 2 km from Lovina - from my measurements, it seems to be over 3km from central Lovina (and therefore about 3.5 km to the beach on the road). It may be 2km as the crow flies, but unfortunately, we don’t fly! There is a suggestion on the site that it is a short walk to the local beach, but this beach is hardly one that can be enjoyed, as it is full of rubbish – we’ve seen some dirty areas around Bali and we understand this, but this area was by far the worst. They have a driver who can take you into Lovina and bring you back when you call for a cost of 100,000 rp. But a one-way 5 minute taxi trip costs around 10,000 rp and with a driver shouldn't cost more than 20,000 rp. One of our biggest concerns is that their driver took us to friend who tried to sell us tickets to snorkelling tour for 45 euros (about $70 AUD) - we eventually purchased them for 250000 rp (about $23 AUD). We left after one day in spite of paying the full rate up front and there was muted apologies. There has been no response to an email that I wrote 6 days ago asking for a partial refund. I don't like leaving negative reviews, but people need to be aware of these factors.

Room Tip: The Huge room is much better than cosy room - not only bigger but a bit cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying at our place. It seems that you were looking to stay in a more commercial area. Mumbul is surrounded by rice fields and farmland. All of our rooms look out onto the ricefield. I believe this is part of the attraction of staying at our place.

If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, then the location can be ideal, but if you are looking for somewhere with easy access to many restaurants and bars, then perhaps our place is not the best choice. We are located in the fishing village of Anturan, which is still considered part of Lovina. Kalibukbuk is regarded as the 'central' area of Lovina, which I believe is the area you wanted to stay.

There are bemos (public buses) that run up and down the main road between Lovina and Singaraja. They are a great way to get a taste of the local culture. We also have bicycles for guests to use for free and have a scooter rental service. As you pointed out, we have a driver and car to transport guests. I would like to point out that the 100,000 rupiah charge (about $10) is for a return trip. Our driver also waits for the guests to do their shopping or have dinner in a designated spot, so I do believe that this price is reasonable and I am sorry that perhaps we didn't explain this clearly enough.

There are also some nice places to eat out at within walking distance to our place. There are some good local warungs that are cheap and very good, but aimed more towards locals rather than tourists. We provide this information to guests, so they know where to go. There is now also an ATM in the gasoline station right near our place.

Balinese are welcoming and friendly by nature and I believe our staff are no exception. I apologize that you did not feel this way. I believe we have a good team, but of course we try to improve our service with further training and guidance. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. I have not received an email from you since you stayed at our place. With regards to the other problems you pointed out, we are doing everything we can to fix them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I earn my money traveling and I have been so lucky to find places like Mumbul that are a home away from home for me. The owners Mike and Amanda are lovely people and will help you with anything you need.
Been there, done it twice - AND will be back :)

Room Tip: All rooms are huge, some have a outdoor bathroom (no ceiling) which I liked a lot but might not be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed nearly 2 weeks in the Mumbul guesthouse and had a pleasant time. We used it as our "base" to explore the north of bali. The room we had was like a small house, with air condition, a big bed, TV + DVD player, free WIFI and a separate bath room. We also had a small deck in front of the house with a nice view on a rice field. The pool is very nice and clean. They also had some stuff that you can use for aqua gym. The staff is very friendly and always helpful, though they don´t speak much english (and I don´t speak much indonesian) but it always worked out some way. They also helped me to buy a local sim card for my mobile phone and get it working. The breakfast is really really good for Bali standards, as you can choose between 4 different dishes and they are all tasty. The very young chef cooked also great balinese dishes in the evening and snacks in between (try the Spring Rolls). The rooms could be cleaned a bit better and a table or shelf in the bathroom would be great. Also we shared the room with a quite big gecko, which is good on the one hand as he killed all the insects but on the other hand he also left his daily scat on our floor. The guesthouse is in the small village Anturan and is surrounded by nature and farming, so don´t be confused if you hear (and see) some pigs, cocks, dogs or cats. We also rent a motorbike there for a fairly cheap price which took us through the north and to central Lovina (Kalibukbuk) which is about 2.5km away from the guesthouse. The guesthouse also provided mountainbikes for free, which is great as I really can´t recommend taking a walk to central Lovina. You can easily go to Singaraja, the 2nd largest city on Bali. With the motorbike it´s a 20 minutes drive. Or you can go to Permuteran in the north west, it´s a 40 minutes drive from Mumbul. The owners have dog which is really friendly. They also offer tours which you can book directly at the reception. We did the Lovina day tour which was nice as there was no rush and we could choose the destinations on our own. If the driver would have spoken just a bit more english, then it would have been perfect. We really can´t recommend the beach in Anturan as it is really dirty and full of waste, but you´ll have the chance to enjoy a fresh juice on the beach while a small pig walks around you. If we visit the north of Bali again, we´ll come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A very good place with the carrying staff and owners. Rooms are surprisingly big, place is quite and peaceful overlooking the rice fields. Beach is not close at all, but it is a fisher village anyway, so you need a ride to get to a beach locatoin. Pool is clean and tranquil.
Food is slightly overpriced, but eating out is always an option, and owners will gladly share with you where to eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly, efficient and informative. The room itself was huge with an outdoor bathroom, fridge and TV to play DVD's of which there are a lot to choose from. There are only 4 rooms so it is quiet. It is situated next to a rice field and is beautiful to sit on the porch as the sun goes down and also to have breakfast next to the rice field.

Breakfast was good with choice of around 5 things including full cooked breakfast, pancake, muesli and fruit. Also there is food available all throughout the day. The pool is clean and well-maintained with lounge chairs and gazebo. There is also motorbike hire and two bikes which can be rented for free.

The location is quiet and a little further out from the main tourist part however getting around is easy. We hired a moto and went to Gitgit, Brahma Vihara, Banjar Hot Springs and Buleleng town. The hotel helped us arrange to see the dolphins it was 60,000 pp. Be warned this is a popular tourist activity and there are many boats at the same time. Nearby Mumbul, only 5 minutes walking, is the beach were you can hang at Rasta Warung or similar and have a few drinks and dinner while the sun is setting.

This place is good to go if you are needing to escape the more touristy parts of Bali. Mike and Amanda are always around if anything is needed. We would recommend this place and if we return to Lovina will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for a number of nights whilst diving in and around Lovina.

The room itself was MASSIVE complete with a sofa and TV etc which was fantastic for the price. Rooms was clean, bed was large and comfortable, bathroom was clean and decent and the a/c worked well. Breakfast was acceptable.

Location wise it was a fair way out of central Lovina so you would need to rent a car or motorbike if you wanted to explore the town.

Hosts seemed a little reserved whilst we were there, but other than that everything was good.

Overall, it'd recommend if your looking for a reasonably priced place to stay and have access to a vehicle so that you can explore the area.

Not sure why there are so many comments about the internet; don't most people go on holiday to explore and see the world rather than sit in front of a screen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent 6 nights here and would have loved to have stayed forever! The view from our room was amazing (overlooking rice paddies) and we enjoyed the sounds of the local wildlife. The fact this guesthouse only has 4 rooms ensures a peaceful, relaxing stay. Room and bathroom was large and clean (with a comfy king sized bed), aircon and hot water worked great. The room did not have a fridge or kettle (you can hire a fridge for a small additional daily charge) however this was not an issue as cold water and coffee/tea could be purchased from the restaurant at cheap prices. Great choice for breakfast (included) and it was the best we’ve had in Bali so far! Although we only ate breakfast here the onsite restaurant also offered a variety of dishes for lunch/dinner at reasonable prices. Internet worked great the whole time we were there! Staff were friendly and could help you arrange anything you needed. Pricing for tours and scooter hire was on par with what you would pay on the street – which was refreshing as most hotels mark up the prices for these services. The information booklet in each room was a great little touch to let you know what was available in Lovina. The guesthouse is located 5 minutes walk to the beach and about a 5 minute scooter ride to central Lovina. Overall we loved this place (and found it exceptional value for money) and will definitely be returning on our next trip.
I can’t help but to add my bit regarding other reviews of this place. Firstly i would like to see any fishpond the size of the pool! The pool was more than adequate for the 4 guesthouses and i think this comment is very unfair. Also regarding the breakfast choices – the owners must of taken a previous reviewers advice because we could not fault the breakfast (and the orange juice was fresh). It is mentioned in the booklet that if you wish for your room to be serviced then to drop the key at front reception and it will be done. Honestly think of the environment – do you really need your sheets and towels changing everyday! And buying your own toilet paper doesn’t exactly break the bank. We found the staff very friendly and found it refreshing that they actually had a nice work environment where they could entertain themselves with TV when they were not busy. Oh and it’s not that hard to open the gate yourself when on a scooter (the staff are not our slaves). As for bugs yes we saw a coach roach (and we hate these things) but this has nothing to do with the cleanliness of the room and can’t really be helped considering the location. For the price we paid we got more than expected and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anturan
1.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lovina Beach
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
246 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Hamsa Bali Resort
The Hamsa Bali Resort
#13 of 24 in Lovina Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Villa Lumbalumba Lovina Bali
2.3 mi away
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
#2 of 41 in Lovina Beach
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gede Homestay
Gede Homestay
#2 of 6 in Anturan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mumbul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mumbul Guesthouse

Address: Gang Mumbul, Anturan 81119, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Wisata Mumbul)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Anturan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Anturan
Price Range: £12 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mumbul Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mumbul Guesthouse is located in the fishing village of Anturan on the north coast of Bali. We have just eight rooms all of which have ricefield views. Breakfast is included in the price. We are a short walk to the beach. We have a large pool and offer free wifi internet. Our upstairs rooms offer beautiful views of the sea, ricefields and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mumbul Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbul Guesthouse Bali/Anturan, Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing