We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of Puri Bagus Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Bagus Lovina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The staff are so rude at this hotel it makes you want to leave straight away. We arrived as part of a honeymoon tour - supposedly staying in all 5* hotels. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in this place is a complete joke.

The food is over priced, staff rude and ignorant and location mediocre. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorinneStew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Puri Bagus Lovina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here as part of a honeymoon, and had the best room in the house apparently - a bungalow right on the end of the resort, with its own private pool and kitchen/dining room. It was a very spacious room, but was a little tired, and the air con didn't really work that well. Bathroom was open to the air, with an outdoor shower, which was quite fun, although not good for avoiding the mossies!
The hotel has a nice setting, right on the beach, with an infinity pool overlooking the sea. From here you can also view the sunset. The coral is very damaged here, and is full of sea urchins so snorkling not the best.
The hotel food (although very overpriced for Bali itself) actually provided cheaper than average for all the hotels we stayed in. Breakfast was OK, although a few too many flies for my liking. And smoking is totally acceptable across the restaurant, quite unpleasant for non-smokers.
From the moment you arrive in Lovina there will be pressure to go on a Dolphin watching trip. We were sceptical, but actually turned out to be rather nice. For about £10 each we took a local fishing boat out to the dolphin areas at sunrise. We saw many dolphin, although don't expect to be the only one there - there were at least 100 other boats with the same idea! Puri Bagus offers this trip direct from the hotel's beach, although its a longer trip to see the dolphin.

Room Tip: The room right on the far side of the resort offers the quietest location.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

On arrival, we thought the place looked a bit shabby around the edges, but how wrong could we be. Although the rooms (in private bungalows) need a lick of paint they are immaculately clean and comfortable. Taking an outdoor shower under the stars was an amazing experience and there was the option of an indoor shower if you didn't want a lizard to join you! The quiet location is wonderful and the views of the sea and sunset from the large day beds are fantastic. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxed. There are 2 restaurants in walking distance if you don't want to go far - the one nearest the hotel serves perfectly good staple food, but doesn't seem to get much businesss, the other one "Bambu" is smarter and has a cookery school and served the best curry I had in Bali

Room Tip: Get a front row bungalow if you can and don't worry about being close to the pool and restaurant...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

we spent 5 days at this beautifully located hotel right by the sea. The staff is very friendly and the bungalows are clean, large and comfortable with a perfect hint of Bali spirit. The hotel has the right hint of complete relaxation and peace away from the daily stress.
The prices for food and drinks are however way overpriced compared to Bali standard. And as the hotel is located 5 km outside Lovina you are forced to take the overpriced shuttle to town if you want to dine outside the hotel. We therefore ended up spending way too much for food and drinks.
If this is not a problem for you, then I highly recommend this beautiful setting!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had an excellent stay.
Our villa was lovely, quiet and a beautiful spot to watch the sunset.
We enjoyed the company of the other guests but did find the groups on tours a bit childish and many seemed to think they were at club med and many behaved as if the world owed them a favour.
If they stopped for a moment and focused on the beautiful surrounds, lovely staff and bliss of the location I think it would be more enjoyable for them.

We have booked for another week of relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The resort is great. Nice location at the beach, nice pool, good breakfast. Especially a great place for families travelling with young children.
When we arrived the resort was overbooked, so we had to stay in another resort in the near vicinity for the first night. Later we found out that the two resorts were owned by the same owner and during our five day stay we also noticed that the overbooking happened to about 10 other guests. The other resort is cheaper and it seems like they accept more bookings than they can cope with in order to make sure Puri Bagus is always fully occupied. The result was a lot of dissapointed guests. And in combination with the expensive bar and restaurant it gives something to think about.
Tip: At 200 meters from the resort is a great (cheap!) local restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a ocean view suite. Very big room with an in and outside shower! Nice to have.

Staff very friendly and helpful! Wifi at the pool! Cheap and good laundry service.

One big remark is that the beach is not private! A lot of ennoying locals who are "guides" are bothering you!!! If the hotel had one security person for this the problem will be solved!! No they just let them come on the property of the hotel what is not enjoyable at all!

Good hotel for a couple of nights to discover north Bali!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexi_Vangerven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemaron
3.9 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#7 of 23 in Lovina Beach
244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
4.5 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#12 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bagus Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bagus Lovina

Address: Jl. Raya Seririt - Singaraja, Lovina, Pemaron 81151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Pemaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Price Range: £89 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Bagus Lovina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private beachfront and traditional Balinese thatched roof architecture, Puri Bagus Lovina offers 40 spacious villas including two suites with private pool and dining room. This beautiful resort provided plenty of space between each villa for stunning tropical gardens to enhance your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Bagus Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bagus Lovina Hotel Pemaron
Puri Bagus Hotel Lovina
Puri Bagus Resort Lovina
Puri Bagus Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing