We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Bali”
Review of Rumah Cantik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaliasem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rumah Cantik
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed 2 weeks at this wonderful hotel, situated in the village of Kaliasem in the Lovina area. At the end of a small lane among chickens, pigs and the villagers you will find this pearl of a hotel behind a tall wall and a gate that reveals a true tropical paradise once opened. The hotel is owned by a warm and hospitable balinese/danish couple(Jette and Made) who are extremely serviceminded and more than happy to assist you in planning activities in the area. The staff is the most friendly and helpful that I have ever met. Together they make the atmosphere so warm and homely. The hotel itself is something special - the tropical garden with the pool and pavillions embraces you in a way so that you wish you could stay forever! The breakfast served at your private terasse/balcony or in the pavillion in the garden is out of this world!!! And make sure you try the balinese dinner - absolutely delicious!!! Nice rooms, a beautiful garden and delicious meals does not make a perfect holiday - the people does!! I assure you that the people in this lovely hotel really will make your holiday!! :-) I recommend Rumah Cantik to everybody I know (and don't know ;-)) and I know for sure that I will be back.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Rumah Cantik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed in Lovina after lovely experiences in Sanur and Ubud, and we found Lovina to be dirty with limited things to do. We have travelled quite a lot in developing countries and lived in India, and even we found the beach quite dirty and unswimmable and the town was tired and most places really run down. The Rumah Cantik itself has some charms - very nice staff and delicious breakfast. The room was OK although lacking ammenities other hotels have at the price we paid (refrigerator, television, internet). The boat captain the hotel arranged for our dolphin trip was wonderful.

Room Tip: The hotel only has 4 rooms and each seemed quite similar.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We would love to keep this hotel a secret and not tell everyone how amazing our stay was at Rumah Cantik but this would be unfair to our gracious hosts who made our stay the outstanding experience of our trip to Bali. We stayed here for 7 nights at the start of our trip and we would have been content to stay here for the rest of our holiday. The hotel has large airy rooms, which are spotlessly clean, a lovely pool area and very attentive staff....no request was too much trouble. The location was wonderful for us as our room overlooked a rice field where we saw the locals harvesting the crop. We wandered past the pigs, chickens. geese and the local warung to walk to the beach/town. Jette was the ultimate hostess who made us feel we were at a very lovely homestay rather than at an hotel.

We spolit ourselves with massages,at the spa recommended by Jette, who also arranged a sight seeing day trip as well as dolphin watching for us. My friend and her daughter stayed with us for 3 days and my friend also thoroughily recommended the masseuse who provided in-house massage at Rumah Cantik.

A big thankyou to Jette, Made and their staff who made our introduction to Bali such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the upstairs room as we had a view to the ricefields from our verandah.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Rumah Cantik is a wonderful B&B in N Bali. Jette was spectacular with making arrangements for us to do and see the places and things we were interested in. She recommended great restaurants in the Lovina area.
Jette arranged a driver (great man) who took us to many places and explained the customs of Bali.
The staff at Rumah Cantik are lovely, friendly ladies from the area who were beyond helpful. It was delightful to talk with them each day.
The rooms were very nice – the location is convenient.
Want an adventure?! Go on the jungle trek – hike to see waterfalls, rice paddies, a temple and instrument factory with a delightful guide who showed us places “off the beaten path”.
Rumah Cantik was recommended to us by friends who stayed there on their honeymoon. We are passing along the recommendation – a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappyMillstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our stay at Rumah Cantik was the most pleasant ever when on holiday. The location is between the locals and is a short walk to the beach, only 200 meters. The hotel (guesthouse) consists of only 4 large rooms, situated in 2 villa's. The pictures perfectly show how wonderfull the rooms, the tropical garden and the pool are.
But only a beautiful hotel does not make a stay perfect, the owners (Jette and Made) and their staff did this. They really know how to treat their guests!!! Nothing is too much for them, you can ask them anything. Breakfast and diner really is a small culinair party.
Jette knows the right people to do some excursions or have some relaxation (hiking, snorkling, scooter rent, massages etc.) and she arranges everything. You really have to do nothing yourselfs.

Originally we booked for 3 nights, but we could extend our stay with another 3 nights fortunatly. We will definitly go back if we are going to make another trip to Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Rumah Cantik is a boutique hotel in the north of Bali. The bedrooms are ultra-luxurious and the garden with its hammocks, swimming pool, shell art, lawns, exotic plants, areas for sitting and chatting, quite unique. The owner, Jetta, is charming and welcoming and everything that one could desire, so one feels that one is a friend rather than a guest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The second visit to Rumah Cantik with the family of 10 people were absolutly fantastic. Jette (The owner) and me made a little birthday surprise for my wife. The four rooms (All rooms) pool and garden were our paradise for 6 days. The days past to fast. Jette and the staff are doing everything to please you, and this is not "Fake", they really mean it. All of us are sending warm greetings to Bali.......We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaliasem
0.8 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Angsoka
Hotel Angsoka
#6 of 12 in Singaraja
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Cantik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Cantik

Address: JL A.A Pandji Tisna, Gg. Cempaka, Kaliasem 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Kaliasem
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kaliasem
Price Range: £55 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set between a small Balinese village and rice fields. A place where you feel at home. A quiet and peaceful place. The hotel is surrounded by a tropical flower-filled garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Cantik Hotel Kaliasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing