We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Davao trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chemas by the sea is the way to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Laid back just the way we wanted. Beautiful landscaping, gorgeous scenery , good and fresh food all the time, good service, clean room and very accommodating owners, first class service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rcasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. Perfect sunset wedding ,lovely room and friendly staff . Contrary to other reviews ,hubby and I found owner friendly(whose name now escapes me as we stayed there over 5 yrs ago). Steps are quite steep and can be dangerous for young kids .

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank yolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Chema's By The Sea was recommended to me by a good friend as an alternative to Pearl Farm as the latter resort is being renovated. Chana's is a short boat ride from the Waterfront Insular dock and is quite lovely though relatively small. If you intend to spend quiet time or relaxation, this is the place to go. There's not a lot of activities to do, just hang out by the beach or pool area. Food is quite inexpensive. I've seen some post about how strict the owner is. He could be esp to rowdy guest since some could really be annoyed by the noise and it's a quaint and small resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelchicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

After reading the negative reviews,one might think that this is a terrible place.but being there makes you think otherwise.

The place is very clean and very peaceful.the only distractions that you will experience is from the other guests.

Chema's by the sea is a home.it is not just a resort.the "no food allowed policy" is understandable because this is the owner's home first,resort second.

People who complain about the corkage and policy do not understand that concept.i bet that after they consume the beer and snacks,they will just leave it as is just like on a public resort without any respect for the place.tsk,tsk...

The owner is very hospitable.like the cool Tito you visit every vacation.we had fun having a beer with him talking about anything.

The room we had with my girlfriend was the one directly facing the sea.it is very beautiful,it has cable tv and aircondition,and its the one that has the strongest wifi signal!(but you are on vacation so why need internet?).hot and cold water is available plus rain shower!very relaxing!

Even the pet dog is very hospitable and so cute!you see him walking around the place like a chubby pug resort manager.

The staffs are very accommodating.my girlfriend had her birthday there and the staff bought a cake for her.

The food was delicious!250 pesos sinigang that is good for 3-4 people.and the tuna steak,oh the tuna steak.my mouth is watering again.

There is only one area for improvement.the room we had have leaky roof in the bathroom and in one of the closet.but take note that we had heavy rain during our stay.and a roof leak can be fixed easily.

But even that small glitch does not take away the fact that we had the best time!

Highly recommended if ever you need some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go_Bag_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this resort with family. We were inquiring on making an upgrade but what we get is a very frowning face and rude owner thinking we can't afford extra cost for an upgrade. This is an overpriced resort with a pool that is just sea water. Stay away from this resort. Very rude owner, doesn't know the word hospitality.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank nengsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

One of the most relaxing resort for me, I really liked chemas due to how peaceful it is, this place is amazing especially for those who wants complete relaxation, and the transportation to this resort is easy too, just need to contact the resort and they will pick you up, on our first stay on this resort we had a small problem , we had a fight with the owner due to bringing of some food in the resort. and we did not stay overnight as well so just enjoy the beach and it's infinity pool.

On our second visit, which I was treated by a friend,we did not bring anything and we order food on the resort's restaurant and the food was great and it is not that pricey too, it was a bliss staying on this resort. I totally enjoyed my stay on the second time, and we stayed one night as well, the resort is very peaceful.

Oops as a tip, go to this resort if your up to relaxation and dating. But if you are in a group i think this resort is not a good choice. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The beautiful traveller's photos of the resort convinced me to book here, in spite of the some negative comments I read, that is why I was guardedly optimistic when we arrived at the resort. The welcome at the resort's jetty was not overly effusive, I was expecting a cold welcome drink and a warm greeting from the resort's staff, but was mildly disappointed that all I got was a half hearted smile and a lukewarm greeting.

The gardens, beach area and accommodations were as beautiful as they are pictured on this site and it was certainly nice to have the added bonus of having a personal butler attend to our needs for the duration of our 3-day stay.

I booked an island tour on my own on our second day, and Samal Island did not disappoint! The island offers many sights that will leave you in awe. We were taken to the Monfort Bat Sanctuary, had a succulent native lunch at a local resto and proceeded to Hagimit Falls and finally to the Maxima Resort where we enjoyed the long slide into the Davao Gulf! It was a beautiful way of spending our second day in the Island.

I was concerned about the mixed reviews about the resort's food but contrary to the negative posts on this site, we actually found the food to be good, although portions could have been bigger for the prices we paid. We had the option of dining outside our Cabana for four overlooking the gardens or in the resort's restaurant. Either way was good depending on one's mood.

The most important part to remember about booking here is that it is most ideal for anyone whose idea of a vacation is peace and quiet, as the resort is inaccessible to the neighboring resorts unlike the open beach atmosphere present in Boracay. There is no nightlife to speak of and the only activities available is to swim at the small but very well maintained beach, lounge outside your Cabana and marvel at the well manicured gardens, curl up and read your favorite book or swim at the free form salt water swimming pool overlooking the Gulf. The option of dining in town can only be had if you hop on a motorcycle for rent in the rear of the resort.

Over-all, it was a good relaxing stay for this family of four who are not really after the rowdy fun to be had at other popular beaches like Boracay or Puerto Galera.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miketri722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
0.7 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
7.5 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Samal Island
882 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
2.4 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chema's by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chema's by the Sea Resort

Address: Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chema's by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chema's by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chema`s By The Sea Hotel Samal Island
Chema's By The Sea Resort Samal Island, Davao, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing