We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring Samal Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. The place is so nice and very clean. The waiters/staffs are all attentive, friendly and accommodating.

We arrived before lunch and wasn't really expecting that they will allow us to check-in early (I read that check-in is strictly at 2pm). The lady attendant got all our things and proceeded to the cabana assigned to us. We can't help but admire the place...our room is so nice, very spacious.
Only complaint of my son is the TV cable, reception is not that good.

Food is delicious. No need to bring in food because their food is affordable. Price of breakfast ranges from Php150-170 only, it includes garlic rice and egg. Lunch ala carte price ranges Php150-250. Mango shake Php60.00only. Try their special halohalo which costs Php120.00 (it's yummy). Mineral water is P26.oo.

When I read the comments here, I pictured the owner as the bad guy, masungit but I was wrong. He welcomed us when we got there and he even saw the big mineral water that we brought. My aunt even offered to just pay for corkage and leave our pasalubongs like langka yema, durian candy (coz that's what we read here that he's rude and all) but he politely said, "no need, it's okay."

During our stay, I even asked the manang waitress (my bad i didn't ask her name) who attended to us if the owner is really rude and if the owner knows that other people are bashing him, saying negative comments about him. She said, that the owner is aware but he just shrugs it off. What is important is he is very nice to his employees...he treats them well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Chema's by the Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to relax, and that is exactly what we did. The staff was very helpfull and friendly and they arranged everything for us. The food was good and after a sidetrip to Paradise Island resort, we knew we had made the right choice. FYI the easiest way to get there is to take a taxi to the Waterfront hotel and let them call Chemas to pick you up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A really great find. It is exactly what we saw in the website pictures. The landscape was natural and nice. Our cabana had a very quaint design, with a spacious room and a large veranda. The bathroom, towels, and sheets were clean and nice-smelling. The pool (though a bit cold) and surrounding lounge areas were very picturesque. The beach area was small and the water was not that good, but it was nice to bum around at the beach beds and sand.

The number of rooms is limited so you're sure that the place don't get too packed even on a fully-booked weekend. We almost had the pool and beach to ourselves during that time. The resort was very quiet and relaxing, it seems that the only noise is coming from the next resort.

I've read lots of negative comments about the staff and the owner so I was hesitant to try it. But as soon as we arrived, the staff were very friendly and nice to us. The only negative thing that I could say is that the food was very expensive -- given the small serving size and relatively okay taste.

But overall, we were pleasantly surprised by this resort and we thought that we got more than what we paid for. Will definitely recommend to friends :)

Room Tip: There's one nice cottage at the beachfront :)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chemas by the sea is the way to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Laid back just the way we wanted. Beautiful landscaping, gorgeous scenery , good and fresh food all the time, good service, clean room and very accommodating owners, first class service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rcasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. Perfect sunset wedding ,lovely room and friendly staff . Contrary to other reviews ,hubby and I found owner friendly(whose name now escapes me as we stayed there over 5 yrs ago). Steps are quite steep and can be dangerous for young kids .

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank yolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Chema's By The Sea was recommended to me by a good friend as an alternative to Pearl Farm as the latter resort is being renovated. Chana's is a short boat ride from the Waterfront Insular dock and is quite lovely though relatively small. If you intend to spend quiet time or relaxation, this is the place to go. There's not a lot of activities to do, just hang out by the beach or pool area. Food is quite inexpensive. I've seen some post about how strict the owner is. He could be esp to rowdy guest since some could really be annoyed by the noise and it's a quaint and small resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelchicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

After reading the negative reviews,one might think that this is a terrible place.but being there makes you think otherwise.

The place is very clean and very peaceful.the only distractions that you will experience is from the other guests.

Chema's by the sea is a home.it is not just a resort.the "no food allowed policy" is understandable because this is the owner's home first,resort second.

People who complain about the corkage and policy do not understand that concept.i bet that after they consume the beer and snacks,they will just leave it as is just like on a public resort without any respect for the place.tsk,tsk...

The owner is very hospitable.like the cool Tito you visit every vacation.we had fun having a beer with him talking about anything.

The room we had with my girlfriend was the one directly facing the sea.it is very beautiful,it has cable tv and aircondition,and its the one that has the strongest wifi signal!(but you are on vacation so why need internet?).hot and cold water is available plus rain shower!very relaxing!

Even the pet dog is very hospitable and so cute!you see him walking around the place like a chubby pug resort manager.

The staffs are very accommodating.my girlfriend had her birthday there and the staff bought a cake for her.

The food was delicious!250 pesos sinigang that is good for 3-4 people.and the tuna steak,oh the tuna steak.my mouth is watering again.

There is only one area for improvement.the room we had have leaky roof in the bathroom and in one of the closet.but take note that we had heavy rain during our stay.and a roof leak can be fixed easily.

But even that small glitch does not take away the fact that we had the best time!

Highly recommended if ever you need some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go_Bag_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
7.5 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Samal Island
857 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chema's by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chema's by the Sea Resort

Address: Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chema's by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chema's by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chema`s By The Sea Hotel Samal Island
Chema's By The Sea Resort Samal Island, Davao, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing