We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy week special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chema's by the Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holy week special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Clean and nice rooms. Friendly staff. Nice beach and pool. Relaxing experience. The restaurant closes at 9pm so you may want to order everything you need before that since they do not allow guests to bring any food or drink.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank janawijism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
38
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a very clean and well kept resort. Some rooms, mostly for couples are quite nice but the room we got was too dim.. the pool which is mostly shaded during the day was a bit cold.. the food was just okay... the staff courteous...this a nice resort i'd visit again during the day but i would't stay overnight again..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. The place is so nice and very clean. The waiters/staffs are all attentive, friendly and accommodating.

We arrived before lunch and wasn't really expecting that they will allow us to check-in early (I read that check-in is strictly at 2pm). The lady attendant got all our things and proceeded to the cabana assigned to us. We can't help but admire the place...our room is so nice, very spacious.
Only complaint of my son is the TV cable, reception is not that good.

Food is delicious. No need to bring in food because their food is affordable. Price of breakfast ranges from Php150-170 only, it includes garlic rice and egg. Lunch ala carte price ranges Php150-250. Mango shake Php60.00only. Try their special halohalo which costs Php120.00 (it's yummy). Mineral water is P26.oo.

When I read the comments here, I pictured the owner as the bad guy, masungit but I was wrong. He welcomed us when we got there and he even saw the big mineral water that we brought. My aunt even offered to just pay for corkage and leave our pasalubongs like langka yema, durian candy (coz that's what we read here that he's rude and all) but he politely said, "no need, it's okay."

During our stay, I even asked the manang waitress (my bad i didn't ask her name) who attended to us if the owner is really rude and if the owner knows that other people are bashing him, saying negative comments about him. She said, that the owner is aware but he just shrugs it off. What is important is he is very nice to his employees...he treats them well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purrmerend
Level Contributor
442 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to relax, and that is exactly what we did. The staff was very helpfull and friendly and they arranged everything for us. The food was good and after a sidetrip to Paradise Island resort, we knew we had made the right choice. FYI the easiest way to get there is to take a taxi to the Waterfront hotel and let them call Chemas to pick you up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A really great find. It is exactly what we saw in the website pictures. The landscape was natural and nice. Our cabana had a very quaint design, with a spacious room and a large veranda. The bathroom, towels, and sheets were clean and nice-smelling. The pool (though a bit cold) and surrounding lounge areas were very picturesque. The beach area was small and the water was not that good, but it was nice to bum around at the beach beds and sand.

The number of rooms is limited so you're sure that the place don't get too packed even on a fully-booked weekend. We almost had the pool and beach to ourselves during that time. The resort was very quiet and relaxing, it seems that the only noise is coming from the next resort.

I've read lots of negative comments about the staff and the owner so I was hesitant to try it. But as soon as we arrived, the staff were very friendly and nice to us. The only negative thing that I could say is that the food was very expensive -- given the small serving size and relatively okay taste.

But overall, we were pleasantly surprised by this resort and we thought that we got more than what we paid for. Will definitely recommend to friends :)

Room Tip: There's one nice cottage at the beachfront :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sulfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chemas by the sea is the way to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Laid back just the way we wanted. Beautiful landscaping, gorgeous scenery , good and fresh food all the time, good service, clean room and very accommodating owners, first class service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. Perfect sunset wedding ,lovely room and friendly staff . Contrary to other reviews ,hubby and I found owner friendly(whose name now escapes me as we stayed there over 5 yrs ago). Steps are quite steep and can be dangerous for young kids .

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
7.4 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chema's by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chema's by the Sea Resort

Property: Chema's by the Sea Resort
Address: Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chema's by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Chema's by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chema`s By The Sea Hotel Samal Island
Chema's By The Sea Resort Samal Island, Davao, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing