We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Flock Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flock Hill Lodge
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the east to the west of South Island via Highway 73, Flock Hill Lodge made the perfect pit stop. A gem in the middle of nowhere indeed.

We stayed in a self-contained cottage number 5 which comes with 2 rooms with queen size bed and 1 room with 3 single beds, there is also another single bed in the living hall. Nice living hall with fireplace, a spacious yard with picnic table, good size bathroom, a separate toilet and a well-equipped kitchen. Overall cottage 5 is very spacious, clean and homely.

Not aware of any shops nearby saved for the lodge's own restaurant. If you plan on cooking yourself, best stock up at the larger town before you hit on Highway 73. We bought our groceries at Darfield.

Flock Hill is a working station. A stroll around in the evening is quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Flock Hill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We happened upon this incredible place by a stroke of good fortune. It was the best place we stayed on our entire trip to the South Island. John and Wendy go out of their way to ensure your stay exceeds all expectations! They cook amazing food, prepare anything you request, the rooms are full apartments!! It's on a gorgeous farm w/ scenic trails and horses, sheep, and even a pet pig! It's family friendly, as well as a beautiful romantic getaway! It also would be a killer place for a wedding or any other big celebration! I'd love to come back and stay longer next time!! Wendy, if you read this, thank you for everything you did for our daughter! She had so much fun!! You are so special.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped here for morning tea 4 years ago and it was so inviting that we decided to stay here instead of Christchurch as we were heading to Kaikoura. The lodge itself is very comfortable with a sitting and dining area. We were disappointed to hear that they were no longer providing morning tea for travellers but understand that they are in a rebuilding phase. The room itself was excellent with both a sitting room and bedroom with full kitchen facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable although the do a covers look a bit tied and droll (colour wise). We chose venison pie for dinner and were totally not disappointed. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating and recommended a famous pie shop (some 30 minutes away) for dinner the next night which we were able to heat up in the oven (delicious also). A great place to stay for horse riding, biking and during the winter with the ski fields around for members of the clubs. This is a working farm but you are able to walk through the field to the various sites around.

Room Tip: You can stay in own suite or there is also backpackers accommodation.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First, I love these red houses. They are very cute, situate in a huge farmland. The owner keeps horses, dogs and sheep in the farm too. Horses were very nice.
Second, the owner John and his wife were friendly, nice and decent couple. John helped us with our luggage and wendy cooked us a delicious meal. We loved them.^^ My friend asked to recommend the lamb. She said it was really good. ^^
Third, we were able to see the Milky Way at night. It's stunning!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

So, after some wonderful stays (see out other reviews) on our three week tour of NZ, one our second to last night, we turned up at Flock Hill Lodge. I'm sorry to be leaving such a poor review.

1. On arrival, we walked into the bar area, to be greeted by a gentleman behind the bar. We told him we'd booked a room. He seemed confused, grunted, and went to get his wife. Not the greatest of starts. In fairness, his wife seemed lovely. She walked us over to our room, on the far side of the complex. She chatted all the way.

2. As we walked over, my wife asked if there were lots of sandflies here. She'd suffered from numerous bites in the prior two weeks. The owner said (paraphrase) - "Loads - you'll get bitten alive". Fine. Absolutely no-one's fault - you deal with it when you're on/near the west coast. But why on earth, when we got the flat, were there so many windows left open (and consequently, so many flies already in the flat)? Needless to say, my wife got bitten several times during our stay, without venturing outside once (we only stayed one night).

3. The flat was run down (no problem, it was quite cheap), but also dirty. Bathroom was clean. Sheets on the bed were clean. But underneath EVERY window were collections of dead flies. That's not acceptable. The flat also smelt bad (presumably why the windows were left open). We got used to the smell after an hour or so inside, but after going out to look at the stars (pretty much no light pollution - fantastic), the smell was very noticeable.

On the plus side:

1. The grounds are beautiful.
2. The resident pig and horses are great - would be especially good for kids.
3. The lady who owns the place recommended a short walk, with a great view of the valley - beautiful scenery.
4. It is very quiet, and the location is beautiful.
5. The flat was spacious.

Unfortunately, the flies and the smell are mostly responsible for the poor review. Despite the beautiful surroundings, I can't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room with no dead flies, and without a bad smell. If you can get that, you'll ha...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobciral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I recently got married at Flock Hill Lodge. Everything was perfect! Comfortable cabins, amazing food, friendly and helpful staff. The staff ran a perfect operation. They were very professional and made our planning easier and the day run smoothly. The location was perfect for an outdoor ceremony and for beautiful wedding photos with the Alps in the background. We couldn't have chosen a better place!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Marie-Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

In a beautiful location worth stunning views to the the Alpine areas. Excellent customer service, very friendly and Helpful. Offered choices of menus and other options if wanted. Stunning views from restaurant.Very quiet and relaxed. Surrounded by a working farm adds to the ambience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
15.7 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
16.5 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
257 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
16.1 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Springfield
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flock Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flock Hill Lodge

Address: Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flock Hill Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing